Research Guides: Perry Health Sciences Campus Library: Early College

Online Research Databases

What is an Online Research Database?

Online research databases are collections of academic journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, and much more! They're great for research papers and projects.

Library Information Handout

Wake Early College of Helath and Sciences

Wake Early College of Health and Sciences prepares students to pursue careers in the health sciences field by providing them with educational and work-based learning opportunities.

Direct Database Links

Search these databases by subject--

ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Health & Medical Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration.
Visible Body (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.

See all databases . . . (opens in new window)
Go to a complete list of Wake Tech's databases.

Laptops & Hotspots

If you need either a laptop or hotspot, please contact Mrs. Lachance at mlachance@wcpss.net.

Ask Us

Ebook Databases

EBSCOhost eBook Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the ebook.
ProQuest Ebook Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Over 35,000 ebooks available to read and download.
R2 Digital Library (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library is a web-based database application that aggregates health sciences book content from leading publishers in a single platform.

Health Career Databases

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Career database that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. Includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.
LearningExpress Library/PrepSTEP (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Suite of highly-acclaimed eLearning solutions which provide interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books, flashcards and articles for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, career development and more.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States