Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Purchase Request Form
The library welcomes your recommendations for purchase consideration.
Please note that filling out this form does not guarantee that the title requested will be purchased. Factors considered in the selection of materials include the collection policy, the cost of the title, and the availability of funds. We do not purchase textbooks for courses being taught.
Library Purchase Request Form (opens in new window)
This search box will search all six Wake Tech Community College libraries. If you wish to search only one library, select "Search other NC Community College libraries" and then select your home library.
Research databases are online, organized collections of information. A database can contain a number of information sources including scholarly journals, encyclopedias, magazines, newspapers, videos, and images. Some databases cover a specific subject while others cover a wide variety of subjects.
Below is a list of the Wake Tech databases that contain health and medical information.
CINAHL Complete (opens in new window)
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Consumer Health Database (opens in new window)
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care, and dentistry.
Health & Medical Collection (opens in new window)
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Health Management Database (opens in new window)
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
Lexicomp Facts and Comparisons (opens in new window)
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive drug information library.
Lexicomp Online (opens in new window)
Lexicomp Online provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (opens in new window)
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body
In addition to a large collection of books, the Health Sciences Library has access to thousands of ebooks. Below are some of the ebook collections:
ABC-CLIO E-book Collection (opens in new window)
History & literature ebooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Credo Reference (opens in new window)
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.
Ebook Central (opens in new window)
Over 35,000 ebooks available to read and download.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (opens in new window)
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the ebook.
Gale Ebooks (opens in new window)
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
R2 Digital Library (opens in new window)
The R2 Digital Library is a web-based database application that aggregates health sciences book content from leading publishers in a single platform.
Stat!Ref (opens in new window)
Provides access to medical, nursing, dental, and allied health texts.