Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

Emergency Preparedness, Preservation, & Recovery: Collections AND Building Layout

This is an internal guide covering the library disaster plan and emergency procedures.

Maps

Library collections:

General collection, reference collection, reserve collection, NC Collection, oversized books, audiobooks, and DVD collection

Special Collections:

  • North Carolina Collection
  • President's Leadership Collection
  • Faculty/ Staff Authors Collection

Special considerations regarding physical structure

  1. No stairs inside library. They are external. 
  2. The entire building is called Library Education Building, but the library itself is only located on the first floor. 
  3. This library has a block of workrooms and offices in the center, surrounded by study areas. There is one set of automatic glass doors and there are two emergency exits: one in the "quiet study" area and one in the back corner of the stacks. 
  4. The fire alarm at Main does not currently link to Campus Police. We have to call them when the fire alarm goes off. 
  5. Main Campus does not have clear building signage from the road, so clear directions should be given to emergency personnel from off campus.

Library collections:

General collection, reference collection, reserve collection, NC Collection, oversized books, audiobooks, and DVD collection

Protection and salvage priority would be: 1. Reserves; 2. Reference; 3. General; 4. DVD/Audio; 5. NC Collection; 6. Oversized

Special Collections:

Northern Wake also houses the Dr. Scott SciFi collection and a Paperback Exchange collection; these are considered leisure collections and, unfortunately, would not be considered high priority in the event of a disaster. They would be treated differently when replacing in the event of total loss.

Archives:

The College Archives are located at Northern Wake Campus Library.  See the College Archives tab for more information. 

Special considerations regarding physical structure

  1. The library entrance is on the 2nd floor.
  2. The bulk of the physical collections (books/DVDs/audiobooks) are on the 3rd floor.
  3. Reserves are on the 2nd floor.
  4. There is one external exit on the 1st floor (lower level)
  5. There is one elevator inside the library
  6. The elevator outside the library cannot be used to enter the library and does not go down to the first floor.
  7. There is one staircase immediately to the right as you enter the library that only goes between the 2nd and 1st floor.
  8. There is a stairwell across from the library workroom near the loading dock on the second floor that opens on all 4 levels of the building.

 

FloorPlanner 3rd Floor DiagramDiagram of Wake North Library 3rd Floor

FloorPlanner 2nd Floor Diagram

Diagram of Wake North 2nd floor entry level

FloorPlanner 1st Floor DiagramDiagram of Wake North 1st floor, learning commons and computer lab

Library collections:

General collection, reference collection, reserve collection, NC Collection, oversized books, audiobooks, and DVD collection

Protection and salvage priority would be: 1. Reserves; 2. Reference; 4. DVD/Audio; 3. General; 5. NC Collection; 6. Oversized

Special Collections:

 

Special considerations regarding physical structure

  1. Computer lab down the hall
  2. ...

Library collections:

General collection, reference collection, reserve collection, NC Collection, oversized books, audiobooks, and DVD collection

Protection and salvage priority would be: 1. Reserves; 2. Reference; 4. DVD/Audio; 3. General; 5. NC Collection; 6. Oversized

Specialty Collections:

...

Special considerations regarding physical structure

  1. Computer lab attached to library, main entry to lab outside library.
  2. ...

FloorPlanner Map of PSEC

PSEC Map

Library collections:

General collection, reference collection, reserve collection, audiobooks, and DVD collection

Protection and salvage priority would be: 1. Reserves 2. Reference 3. DVD/Audio 4. General

Special considerations regarding physical structure

  1. The campus leases space at 3434 Kildaire Farm Road. There are numerous private businesses on the second and third floor of the building. The Western Campus Library (WCL) is located on the second floor.  
  2. Occupants must walk through the WTCC Business & Industry department to reach the WCL entrance. There is no entrance door from a hallway into the WCL. There is one emergency exit with one fire extinguisher.
  3. There are two rooms labeled 200. One is designated for the Business & Industry Reception desk and one is designated for the WCL. As of July 2016, WTCC Facilities has denied request to issue a different room number for the library.
  4. There is no clear sight path to see from one end of the library to another and you cannot see anyone entering into the library. 
  5. The are no WTCC Police Officers at this campus. One security officer is used for morning shift and one for evening shift. WTCC and Cary Police have dual oversight of 3434 Kildaire Farm Road. In the event of an emergency, WTCC employees must call WTCC Police at 919-866-5911. Other occupants of the building will call Cary Police. Non-emergency requests will be directed to security at 919-599-0468.
  6. 3434 Kildaire Farm Road, where the campus resides, is managed by The Simpson Organization (TSO) headquartered in Atlanta, GA. The facilities manager for this TSO site is Crystal Hall, CPM, RPA. All calls pertaining to this property must go through TSO (not WTCC Facilities) at 919-291-6187.
  7. In the image below, spaces not marked in gray or dark yellow do not belong to the library. 

FloorPlanner Image of Western Wake Library

Archives collections:

The WTCC College Archives collects materials of permanent historical and/or cultural value including official records, correspondence, papers, and publications generated by and for the administration, academic departments, faculty, staff, special programs, and student organizations. Through its collections, the archives promotes an awareness of the diverse history and culture of WTCC and our role in the community.

The College Archives are housed on the third floor at the Northern Wake Campus Library. Efforts are in progress to digitize as much of the document collection as possible.  Records excluded from digitization may include records deemed sensitive and/or confidential. Digital records are stored on the Archives Computer, an external storage device (flashdrive), on the college servers, and cloud network(s) when permissible.  

Archives Protection and Salvage Priority:

  1. Items kept per records and retention schedule (Presidents' papers, committee papers, annual reports and college reviews) 
  2. News Folios 
  3. Artifacts Collection (artifacts donated to Wake Tech by alumni)
  4. Photograph collections
  5. History of Wake Tech research materials 
  6. All other parts of the collection

‚ÄčSpecial considerations regarding physical structure

  1. The College Archives are located on the 3rd floor of the Northern Wake Campus Library.
  2. The Archives are stored in a room with one wall made of glass tinted to prevent unnecessary exposure to light.
  3. To reach the Archives under normal circumstances you must enter the library at the 2nd floor and then use the library elevator or stairwell.  There is another entrance to the library on the third floor that is kept locked from the outside.  All Northern Wake Campus Library staff members have a copy of the A8 key to use this door in the event of an emergency.