Theater Appreciation Research Guide

Discover the world of Theater with lesson plans, videos, interactive activities, and more. Theater styles, the history of theater, and theater in world cultures are a few of the additional topics explored in Theater.

IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today

The University Library System (ULS) at the University of Pittsburgh has acquired the archive of the late playwright and Pittsburgh native son August Wilson, best known for his unprecedented American Century Cycle —ten plays that convey the Black experience in each decade of the 20th century.

Theatrecrafts.com has been online since 1997 and is a developing resource for students, theatre technicians, designers and practitioners.

Clips from National Theatre Live’s ground-breaking project to broadcast the best of British theatre to cinemas in the UK and internationally.

A massive resource containing numerous texts from Ancient Greek and Roman drama, as well as more recent Western theatrical traditions.

One of the largest performing arts collections in the world and the oldest theatre collection in the world of international significance. Be sure to read the "Searching the Harvard Theatre Collection" section for tips on how to find what you need.

This collection illustrates diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included playscripts, theater playbills, motion pictures, sound recordings and photographs and items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini.

The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a U.S.-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical and contemporary. Members of the American Society for Theatre Research say the Society is a space to share scholarship and a home for networking within the profession.

The Educational Theatre Association is an international nonprofit that serves as the professional association for theatre educators.

The Performing Arts Alliance is the national policy advocate, leadership forum, and learning network for America’s nonprofit performing arts organizations, artists, and allies.

The National Alliance for Musical Theatre, founded in 1985, is a not-for-profit organization serving the musical theatre community. Our 155 organizational members and 60 individual members, located throughout 33 states and abroad, are some of the leading producers of musical theatre in the world. They include theatres, presenting organizations, higher education programs and individual producers.