Print & Audiovisual Collections (Wake Tech East Campus Library): Reference

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.

Oxford's Atlas of the World is the most authoritative atlas on the market. Full of crisp, clear cartography of urban areas and natural landscapes around the globe, the Atlas contains maps of cities and regions at carefully selected scales that give a striking view of the Earth's surface. The volume opens with a detailed survey of world statistics, a six-page feature examining global inequality with information on income, health, education, and cooperative efforts towards convergence, and an immersive collection of satellite images of Earth, including stunning new photographs specially sourced and processed for this atlas. The Atlas continues with a Gazetteer of Nations, comprehensively updated to provide a concise overview of the geography, politics, economy, and history of every country in the world. The extensive thematic World Geography section is beautifully illustrated with charts, maps, and graphs on diverse topics of geographic significance, including climate change, conflict and cooperation, employment and trade, tourism and travel, global health, migration. New data covers current topics such as educational funding and food security. The hundreds of city and world maps that form the body of the Atlas have been thoroughly updated for this 31st edition.

This book examines how women candidates, voters, and office holders shape U.S. political processes and institutions, lending their perspectives to gradually evolve American life and values.

The Presidency A to Z is an invaluable tool for understanding the presidency, both historically and today and for appraising how it and the executive branch have responded to the challenges facing the nation. It provides readers with quick information and in-depth background on the presidency through a comprehensive encyclopedia of over 300 easy-to-read entries.

Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core facts common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them.

Combining scholarly authority with a new awareness of today's communication demands, Roget's 21st Century Thesaurus is the simple, reliable way to find the perfect word for your needs. It features an easy-to-use dictionary format plus a revolutionary Concept Index that arranges words by idea, thus enhancing the user's process of association and leading to scores of additional selections.

Roget's International Thesaurus®, fifth edition, is the definitive thesaurus for the 21st century. While retaining Dr. Peter Mark Roget's fundamental and brilliant category concept which groups all synonyms, antonyms and related words together for quick and easy comparison without all the needless repetition and cross referencing of alphabetical thesauruses, this new fifth edition is: the most up-to-date -- with 1073 categories including 31 entirely new ones concerning such topics as the body, fitness and exercise, substance abuse, all kinds of sports, books, motion pictures and computer science definitive -- based on extensive word association research into how words are actually used, resulting in the most current reflection of the language today and including the latest phrases, slang and commonly used foreign terms.

This best-selling trade paperback resource covers the core curricula for grades 3 through 6. More than 37,000 kid-friendly definitions that are concise and clearly written Over 122,000 synonyms, antonyms, and related words to help enrich vocabulary World atlas by the editors of Encyclopædia Britannica with 48 full-color pages covering all the countries of the world Created in cooperation with the editors of Merriam-Webster, America's leading provider of language information.

The ultimate family reference choice for the new millennium. Setting a new standard in American dictionaries, the authoritative text of Oxford University Press is combined with the clear design and compelling images of DK Publishing to make this the most accurate and accessible illustrated dictionary available today. With over 180,000 concise definitions and entries.

Joseph T. Shipley's tome Dictionary of Early English provides an indispensable and unparalleled reference tool on the study of early English. With a preface by Mark Van Doren and an extensive headword list, this dictionary brings to light the terms, concepts, and vocabulary of ancient English. Joseph T. Shipley has written and edited several books, dictionaries, and anthologies including The Origins of English Words, Modern French Poetry, An Anthology, and Dictionary of World Literature.

This is the only encyclopedia and social history of swearing and foul language in the English-speaking world. It covers the various social dynamics that generate swearing, foul language, and insults in the entire range of the English language. While the emphasis is on American and British English, the different major global varieties, such as Australian, Canadian, South African, and Caribbean English are also covered. A-Z entries cover the full range of swearing and foul language in English, including fascinating details on the history and origins of each term and the social context in which it found expression. Categories include blasphemy, obscenity, profanity, the categorization of women and races, and modal varieties, such as the ritual insults of Renaissance "flyting" and modern "sounding" or "playing the dozens." Entries cover the historical dimension of the language, from Anglo-Saxon heroic oaths and the surprising power of medieval profanity, to the strict censorship of the Renaissance and the vibrant, modern language of the streets. Social factors, such as stereotyping, xenophobia, and the dynamics of ethnic slurs, as well as age and gender differences in swearing are also addressed, along with the major taboo words and the complex and changing nature of religious, sexual, and racial taboos.

First published in 1855, Bartlett's Familiar Quotations has been completely updated and revised for the seventeenth edition by Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer Justin Kaplan. This 17th edition, under Kaplan's splendid direction, contains over 20,000 quotations, representing 2,500 authors. New comers include Bill Clinton, Hillary Clinton, Tony Kushner, Tammy Wynette, Margaret Atwood, Mary Oliver, Maya Angelou, Frank O'Hara, Martin Amis, Kingsley Amis, Mother Teresa, Jacques Cousteau, Rudolph Giuliani, Alfred Hitchcock, L. M. Montgomery, Eric Ambler, Jerry Seinfeld, J.K. Rowling, Katharine Graham, and Emma Goldman.

Oxford Dictionary of Quotations by Subject is a collection of over 7,000 quotations arranged thematically for easy look-up. Covering nearly 600 subjects, this book features a wealth of topics relevant to modern society, from Beauty, Baseball, and Belief to Patriotism, The Past, and Power. Themes new to this edition include Babies, Birthdays, Nine-Eleven, Retirement, Thanks, and Toasts. Quotations have been taken from a vast range of people around the world from ancient times to the present day, including philosophers, journalists, saints, comedians, poets, monarchs, singers, politicians, scientists, writers, journalists, actors, and sportsmen. Brief author descriptions are given with every quotation, and an index makes it easy to search by author. New to this edition are an increased number of contemporary and motivational quotations to inspire all readers and an improved layout to make reading, browsing, and searching this delightful book easier and more pleasurable than ever.

This updated collection offers a vivid picture of the world in the 21st century, against a backdrop of the landmark events leading up to it. From Catherine Tate and The Simpsons to Mother Teresa and Winston Churchill, the Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations charts the ebbs and flows of popular culture as well as marking the key voices and watersheds for our time. An authoritative look-up reference, and an enjoyable source for browsing: the perfect gift.

The Facts On File Companion to American Poetry is a new and indispensable encyclopedic guide to American poetry with more than 1,200 entries, ranging in length from 500 to 1,500 words. Intended for high school and college students, this invaluable resource explores the various writers, works, themes, and movements of this intriguing literary genre. Volume 1 contains entirely new material, including new entries on poems, and extensive, new coverage on poets before 1900. Volume 2 is a revised and updated edition.

Milestone Documents in American History is a new series combining full-text primary source documents with engaging, readable analysis. Plus free online access to the full content of this great reference set is available.

This encyclopedia is an overview of the history of science in America from colonial times to the present. Organized alphabetically within scientific discipline, the set is divided into fourteen sections that include overview essays tracing the historical development of the specific discipline in a cultural and social context; A-to-Z entries on people, institutions, events, developments, and significant concepts; documents highlighting the development of the discipline; and a chronology detailing the historic milestones. Extensive cross-references, a topic finder, bibliographic citations, and biographical and subject indexes in each volume round out this work.

Containing over 6,500 entries and with expanded coverage of multimedia, computer applications, networking, and personal computer science, the Oxford Dictionary of Computer Science is a comprehensive reference work encompassing all aspects of the subject and is as valuable for home and office users as it is indispensable for students of computer science. Terms are defined in a jargon-free and concise manner with helpful examples where relevant. The dictionary contains approximately 150 new entries including cloud computing, cross-site scripting, iPad, semantic attack, smartphone, and virtual learning environment. Recommended web links for many entries, accessible via the Dictionary of Computer Science companion website, provide valuable further information and the appendices include useful resources such as generic domain names, file extensions, and the Greek alphabet. This dictionary is suitable for anyone who uses computers, and is ideal for students of computer science and the related fields of IT, maths, physics, media communications, electronic engineering, and natural sciences.

The definitive guide to the development, form, function, and disorders of the human body. The most detailed popular reference book on human anatomy available, the Complete Human Body is now in its third edition, revised with the latest medical knowledge. Although used by students and healthcare professionals, it is accessible enough for anyone to dip into and enjoy. Guided by Professor Alice Roberts, renowned academic, author, and broadcaster, and groundbreaking 3-D computer-generated illustrations, you will understand the human body as never before, explore human anatomy in incredible detail and clarity, and discover how the body works, how it changes from infancy to old age, and what can go wrong and why.

Now in its fourth edition, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine remains the best guide to visual diagnosis of acute medical problems encountered in emergency practice. Packed with more than 1500 images, 500 new to this edition, it is the most comprehensive source of high quality emergency medicine images available, and enhanced with clear clinical information on medical emergencies. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, this atlas is your "look quick, act fast" reference designed to help assess, diagnose, and treat patients efficiently. It covers basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. The book's format is ideally suited to visual learning. One to four images per topic show you exactly what to look for. Accompanying the images is succinct "need-to-know" information for each clinical problem, including management options and clinical pearls. All treatment and diagnostic testing information and guidelines are fully updated. NEW to this edition is the inclusion of more than 50 video clips that highlight key visual topics in emergency medicine.

Nearly every aspect of daily life in the Mediterranean world and Europe during the florescence of the Greek and Roman cultures is relevant to the topics of engineering and technology. This volume highlights both the accomplishments of the ancient societies and the remaining research problems, and stimulates further progress in the history of ancient technology. The subject matter of the book is the technological framework of the Greek and Roman cultures from ca. 800 B.C. through ca. A.D. 500 in the circum-Mediterranean world and Northern Europe. Each chapter discusses a technology or family of technologies from an analytical rather than descriptive point of view, providing a critical summation of our present knowledge of the Greek and Roman accomplishments in the technology concerned and the evolution of their technical capabilities over the chronological period. Each presentation reviews the issues and recent contributions, and defines the capacities and accomplishments of the technology in the context of the society that used it, the available "technological shelf," and the resources consumed. These studies introduce and synthesize the results of excavation or specialized studies.

Now in its seventh edition, Basic Engineering Mathematics is an established textbook that has helped thousands of students to succeed in their exams. Mathematical theories are explained in a straightforward manner, being supported by practical engineering examples and applications in order to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for introductory level engineering courses. This title is supported by a companion website with resources for both students and lecturers, including lists of essential formulae, multiple choice tests, and full solutions for all 1,600 further questions.

Since the first edition published more than 100 years ago, Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular engineering resource of all time. Universally considered the principal reference in the manufacturing and mechanical industries, the Handbook is the ultimate collection of essential, critical information needed by engineers, designers, drafters, metalworkers, toolmakers, machinists, educators, students, and serious home hobbyists. From engineering and design departments, machine and metalworking shops, and a wide range of manufacturing and industrial facilities, to countless classrooms and workshops around the globe, this 32nd Edition of the Machinery's Handbook is the must-have technical reference.

Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get, accurate data and calculations along with clear explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices. All-new sections including Applied Mechanics, Engineering Ethics, Digital Control Systems, Sensor and Actuators, Vehicle Electrification and Hybridization, and Nondestructive Testing.

The Internet needs no introduction, and its significance today can hardly be exaggerated. Today, more people are more connected technologically to one another than at any other time in human existence. For a large share of the world's people, the Internet, text messaging, and various other forms of digital social media such as Facebook have become thoroughly woven into the routines and rhythms of daily life. The Internet has transformed how we seek information, communicate, entertain ourselves, find partners, and, increasingly, it shapes our notions of identity and community. The SAGE Encyclopedia of the Internet addresses the many related topics pertaining to cyberspace, email, the World Wide Web, and social media. Entries will range from popular topics such as Alibaba and YouTube to important current controversies. The goal of the encyclopedia is to provide the most comprehensive collection of authoritative entries on the Internet available, written in a style accessible to academic and non-academic audiences alike.

Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models.