Print & Audiovisual Collections (Wake Tech East Campus Library): May 2025

Emphasizing an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture, Science, Technology, and Society contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide. Each article is accompanied by a selected bibliography. Other features include extensive cross referencing throughout, a directory of contributors, and an extensive topical index.

Winner of the 2002 Pulitzer Prize for Drama A darkly comic fable of brotherly love and family identity is Suzan-Lori Parks latest riff on the way we are defined by history. The play tells the story of Lincoln and Booth, two brothers whose names were given to them as a joke, foretelling a lifetime of sibling rivalry and resentment. Haunted by the past, the brothers are forced to confront the shattering reality of their future. Suzan-Lori Parks is the author of numerous plays, including In the Blood and Venus. She is currently head of the A.S.K. Theater Projects Writing for Performance Program at the California Institute of the Arts in Valencia.

I had been passing alone, on horseback, through a singularly dreary tract of country; and at length found myself, as the shades of the evening drew on, within view of the melancholy House of Usher. At the request of his good friend Roderick Usher, a visitor travels to the House of Usher where Roderick and his sister Madeline live. From the time the traveler first steps foot onto the Usher property, a mysterious and foreboding presence fills the air. Almost as if the house itself is alive. Born in 1809, Edgar Allan Poe was an American writer and poet best known for his tales of mystery and macabre. His short stories have long been entrenched in American pop culture, and he is regarded as one of the greatest inspirations to the modern horror and mystery genres. His fictional C. Auguste Dupin stories, all included in this collection, are widely considered the first modern detective story, and these stories would become a foundational influence to Arthur Conan Doyle's famous detective Sherlock Holmes. Poe's notable works include The Fall of the House of Usher (1839), The Tell-Tale Heart (1843), The Black Cat (1843), and The Raven (1845), among many others.

The ideal resource for states needing to transition practicing EMT-Intermediates to the new AEMT level, this text bridges the gap between the knowledge and skills based on the 1985 National Standard Curriculum and those in the 2009 National EMS Education Standards. This book offers focused discussions on critical knowledge areas and new skills. Each chapter opens with a summary of what EMTs should already know about the topic as well as a brief overview of the content that is new or addressed in greater depth in the National EMS Education Standards. Case studies at the end of each chapter help students test their critical-thinking skills and gauge comprehension. This concise program can be used for continuing education or bridge courses to the National EMS Education Standards.

A step-by-step guide for emergency responders, covering biological, chemical, incendiary, explosive and nuclear attacks, with in-depth information on biological and chemical agents written by experts in the field.

The two-volume Emergency Medical Services: Clinical Practice and Systems Oversight delivers a thorough foundation upon which to succeed as an EMS medical director and prepare for the NAEMSP National EMS Medical Directors Course and Practicum. Focusing on EMS in the 'real world', the book offers specific management tools that will be useful in the reader's own local EMS system and provides contextual understanding of how EMS functions within the broader emergency care system at a state, local, and national level. The two volumes offer the core knowledge trainees will need to successfully complete their training and begin their career as EMS physicians, regardless of the EMS systems in use in their areas. A companion website rounds out the book's offerings with audio and video clips of EMS best practice in action.

EMS Safety trains EMS practitioners to be active participants in their own safety. Participants are taught to identify and remove the hazards that can appear during daily tasks, from offensive drivers to violent encounters to chronic stress. Participants are given practical strategies that they can apply in the field, from situational awareness to defensive driving to verbal deflection. Finally, participants are taught how to strengthen their resiliency skills in order to combat both chronic and critical incident stress. World-class content joins instructionally sound design in a user-friendly online interface to give instructors and participants a truly interactive and engaging learning experience with an eBook.

For any fire and EMS curricula and stress management programmes. Enriched with personal case studies, this authoritative text provides EMTs and paramedics with practical advice and self-help techniques for coping with stress and achieving a balance in their professional and personal lives.

Appropriate for stand-alone training programs as a reference book for current EMS training officers or as a self-study tool for new EMS training officers, this text addresses the EMS field training officer - the person who has been promoted to participate in training/evaluating employees or who is the training coordinator for the EMS provider.

A 50-year history of a prehospital healthcare provider in Cary, North Carolina - originally Cary Area Rescue Squad and now Cary Area Emergency Medical Services.

This pocket-sized guide contains: new on-the-go mass market size; two terms per page with answers on the back; a review of acronyms one might encounter on the job; mnemonics to remember assessment procedures; a review of basic anatomy and physiology; info on the vital medications EMS professionals must know; and baseline values for medical readings.

In the newly revised Fifth Edition of ABC of Major Trauma, an eminent team of leading trauma specialists delivers a comprehensive, up-to-date, referenced overview of the emergency treatment of patients suffering from major trauma. Covering all aspects of the management of injured patients during the initial, crucial hours after injury, the scope of the book has developed to include imaging appendices for many chapters. The editors have included resources that discuss general considerations for typical trauma cases, as well as the numerous atypical patients including children, the elderly and those who are pregnant. Hyperlinks are now also included throughout the book which enable the reader to refer to continuously updated guidelines. The book also offers: A thorough introduction to the development and organisation of trauma services, including pre-hospital care and major incidents. A guide to the modern trauma team personnel while describing the technical and non-technical skills required for the ABCDE of trauma resuscitation, imaging and the subsequent transfer of the patient. Perfect for all those involved in the care of the trauma patient, including nurses, physician associates, hospital doctors, paramedics and pre-hospital teams, the ABC of Major Trauma is a one-stop referenced guide to the care of such patients from the site of injury to maximal recovery.

Now in its fourth edition, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine remains the best guide to visual diagnosis of acute medical problems encountered in emergency practice. Packed with more than 1500 images, 500 new to this edition, it is the most comprehensive source of high quality emergency medicine images available, and enhanced with clear clinical information on medical emergencies. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your "look quick, act fast" reference designed to help assess, diagnose, and treat patients efficiently. It covers basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions.

Help students think like EMTs with the gold standard for EMT training For over 30 years, Emergency Care has provided generations of EMT students with the practical information they need to succeed in the classroom and in the field. Updated with the latest research and developments in emergency medical services, this edition meets the 2010 American Heart Association guidelines for CPR and ECC. Using the National EMS Education Standards as a foundation, Emergency Care goes beyond the Standards to provide the most current, accurate reflection of EMS practice today. The text integrates scientific principles in an easy-to-understand way, with a host of critical-thinking features that help students learn to think like EMTs.

Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice, Fifth Edition, offers EMS students and professionals a foundational guide and reference to paramedicine. Developed to stay ahead of current trends and practices, all five volumes are based on the National EMS Education Standards and the accompanying Paramedic Instructional Guidelines. Volume 1, Introduction to Advanced Prehospital Care, covers the principles of advanced prehospital care and EMS operations. Chapters detail the various aspects of paramedic practice as well as an introduction to workforce safety and wellness, EMS research, the EMS role in public health, legal and ethical considerations, and EMS system communications and documentation. The final chapters of this volume cover lifespan development, pathophysiology, emergency pharmacology, intravenous access and medication administration, and airway management and ventilation.
**Two copies available**

Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice, Fifth Edition, offers EMS students and professionals a foundational guide and reference to paramedicine. Developed to stay ahead of current trends and practices, all five volumes are based on the National EMS Education Standards and the accompanying Paramedic Instructional Guidelines. Volume 2, Patient Assessment, addresses the various steps and facets of patient assessment. The first two chapters discuss scene size-up and primary assessment. The next three chapters present the techniques of conducting a comprehensive secondary assessment, along with history and physical exam, and discuss communication techniques for doing so. The sixth chapter presents an overview of patient monitoring technologies. The final chapter discusses ways to apply the techniques learned in this volume to real patient situations.
**Two copies available**

Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice, Fifth Edition, offers EMS students and professionals a foundational guide and reference to paramedicine. Developed to stay ahead of current trends and practices, all five volumes are based on the National EMS Education Standards and the accompanying Paramedic Instructional Guidelines. Volume 3, Medical Emergencies, covers medical emergencies and includes updated material that is consistent with the 2015 American Heart Association Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care. New information is included on Ebola, Zika, and Chikunyaga virus disease, as well as updated toxic syndromes and drugs of abuse tables, and a new section on cardiac arrest in pregnancy.

Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice, Fifth Edition, offers EMS students and professionals a foundational guide and reference to paramedicine. Developed to stay ahead of current trends and practices, all five volumes are based on the National EMS Education Standards and the accompanying Paramedic Instructional Guidelines. Volume 4, Trauma Emergencies, covers the anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology of trauma as well as the various types of trauma based on the body systems involved. The Fifth Edition includes an increased emphasis on trauma prevention, the most recent research on mechanism of injury, hemorrhage, and shock, and information about the military-type gunshot wounds that are now occurring more often in the civilian sector.

Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice, Fifth Edition, offers EMS students and professionals a foundational guide and reference to paramedicine. Developed to stay ahead of current trends and practices, all five volumes are based on the National EMS Education Standards and the accompanying Paramedic Instructional Guidelines. Volume 5, Special Considerations/Operations, provides paramedic students with information they need about special populations and paramedic operations. The first eight chapters discuss medical emergencies involving special patient populations: gynecology, obstetrics, neonatology, pediatrics, geriatrics, abused/neglected/assaulted patients, patients with special challenges, and patients who require chronic care. The next eight chapters examine special circumstances that the paramedic may face at any time, including multiple-casualty incidents, rescue operations, hazardous materials, crime scenes, rural practice, and terrorist incidents.

Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets, Eighth Edition, is a fully updated, two-volume edition that covers every competency statement of the National EMS Education Standards for paramedics with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures student comprehension and encourages critical thinking.

The book every paramedic needs to enhance their career and job performance, Paramedic Survival Guide offers both novice and experienced paramedics a unique blend of case studies, testimonials, and advice from veterans to help them succeed on their jobs and advance their careers. The book also offers advice on how to pick the correct EMT job, the recruitment and interview process, and various career paths and options open to paramedics.

Based on in-the-trenches insights from a seasoned EMT instructor, this streamlined, skill-building study guide helps you think through pre-hospital medicine while covering every must-know topic on the exam. Each chapter begins with a clinical scenario followed by a bulleted overview of key topics and is summarized by retention-enhancing Q&As at the end of every chapter. Also included are valuable exam preparation tips, the do's and don'ts of answering multiple-choice questions, plenty of clinical pearls, and photographs to help you identify critical instruments and equipment. Now thoroughly updated and revised, the third edition of McGraw-Hill EMT-Basic Exam Review comes with an online question bank that allows you to choose your questions by topic and pinpoint your strengths and weaknesses, which is an ideal way to prepare for the exam. McGraw-Hill EMT-Basic Exam Review is packed with everything you need to boost your confidence--and your score. High-yield outline format covers content comprehensively and concisely and is bolstered by Q&A, clinical scenarios, and easy-to-remember bulleted content Up-to-date coverage of recent changes in the core curriculum Includes an online question bank with over 150 practice questions.

Composed of brief chapters focusing on clinical features, diagnosis and differential, and emergency management and disposition, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual is designed to help you provide skillful and timely patient care. Packing a remarkable amount of information in a compact presentation, this expanded and revised edition is enhanced by: A full color design with an increased number of photos and line drawings. Numerous tables, making information easy to access.

For courses in Prehospital Emergency Care. The most complete resource for EMT training Comprehensive in scope and student-friendly, Prehospital Emergency Care conveys the "WHY" behind the signs and symptoms students observe and the services they provide. Through a solid foundation of pathophysiology, students will learn to quickly identify immediate life threats and deliver excellent emergency care. The 11th edition continues to meet and exceed the National EMS Education Standards. It has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest and best practices for emergency medical services in the US, including conforming to the latest American Heart Association guidelines. Spine motion restriction, naloxone administration, sepsis, stroke screening tools, human trafficking, active shooter, domestic violence, and clinical decision-making with regard to oxygen administration are just a few of the updates readers will discover in this hallmark text.

Based on the new National EMS Education Standards for Advanced Emergency Medical Technician, the third edition of Advanced Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured offers complete coverage of every competency statement with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures student comprehension and encourages critical thinking. New cognitive and didactic material is presented, along with new skills and features, to create an innovative AEMT training solution.

Specifically for those who provide care in emergency settings, the all-new second edition of this invaluable resource has been thoroughly updated and revised. With more than 10,000 new entries, it provides definitions of virtually every emergency response term you need to know -- plus clear explanations of techniques you use every day.

Prehospital Trauma Life Support transformed the assessment and management of trauma patients in the field. The course has improved the quality of trauma patient care and has saved lives. This edition continues the mission to promote excellence in trauma patient management involved in delivery of prehospital care.

Over three decades ago, PHTLS: Prehospital Trauma Life Support transformed the assessment and management of trauma patients in the field. Throughout the years and across the globe, the PHTLS course has improved the quality of trauma patient care and has saved lives. The ninth edition of this trusted and reliable resource continues the PHTLS mission to promote excellence in trauma patient management by all providers involved in the delivery of prehospital care through global education. This legendary program was first developed by the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) in the early 1980s in cooperation with the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma (ACS-COT). Its medical content is continuously revised and updated to reflect current, evidence-based knowledge and practice. PHTLS promotes critical thinking as the foundation for providing quality care. It is based on the belief that EMS practitioners make the best decisions on behalf of their patients when given a solid foundation of knowledge and key principles to fuel their critical-thinking skills.A Clear Approach to Assessing a Trauma PatientIn the field, seconds count. PHTLS: Prehospital Trauma Life Support, Ninth Edition teaches and reinforces the principles of rapidly assessing a trauma patient using an orderly approach, immediately treating life-threatening problems as they are identified, and minimizing any delays in initiating transport to an appropriate destination. The PHTLS Course Manual reinforces the content presented in the PHTLS course. This concise, accessible 10-lesson resource covers and expands upon the content presented in the lesson presentations.Dynamic Technology SolutionsWorld-class content joins instructionally sound design with a user-friendly online interfaceto give instructors and students a truly interactive and engaging learning experience with:* eBook of the PHTLS Textbook, the encyclopedia of trauma which details the science behind the best practices of trauma assessment and management

Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates.

Advanced First Aid, CPR, and AED, Eighth Edition course materials are ideal for use within college-level courses designed to train individuals in first aid, CPR, and AED. This manual features current content on topics from CPR skills to opioid emergencies to COVID considerations and precautions. To simplify training, the text focuses on the most vital lifesaving skills, so participants have clarity on how to respond to common emergencies like cardiac arrest, choking, life-threatening bleeding, anaphylactic shock, and strokes.

Make your best ED decisions--fast--with the aid of Rosen & Barkin's 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult. Containing the most essential information on over 600 clinical problems, this text was written by renowned practicing clinicians dedicated to providing a definitive guide to diagnosis and treatment in the emergency room. This succinct text synthesizes the vast diagnostic and treatment information as it pertains to emergency medicine, making it the perfect handbook for students, residents, nurses, and emergency medical personnel working in the trenches. Stay up-to-date and backed by the best research available in medicine today by making 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult an indispensable part of your clinical practice.

More than three hundred extraordinary emergency medicine cases familiarize you with a wide variety of infrequently seen patient presentations Over the course of his thirty-five year career practicing academic emergency medicine in an urban teaching institution providing Level 1 trauma care, author Douglas Brunette, MD has amassed an amazing collection of emergency medicine cases along with accompanying photographs. Most of these cases pose infrequently seen, if not rare, clinical challenges. Some are truly "once in a lifetime" in the career of an emergency medicine physician. All provide a unique learning opportunity. Each of the 344 cases begins with an image (or set of images) and then continues with concise, templated details. These case histories and images have been carefully selected to be of value to readers ranging from medical students to the most experienced physicians.

The most popular pocket reference in emergency nursing - now in a new edition! The Emergency & Critical Care Pocket Guide has been an essential resource for physicians, paramedics, and nurses for over a decade. The Pocket Guide consolidates critical information found in desk references into a convenient 3"x5" pocket-size format that is handy enough to take with you anywhere. The Revised Eighth Edition features:* Updated to align with the 2015 CPR and ECC Guidelines* Updated information on poisons and emergency medications* New ECG rhythm strips* Common drugs sections* Updated pediatric medications* Revised Spanish section* Straightforward medical emergency treatments

Based on in-the-trenches insights from seasoned EMT instructor Peter A. DiPrima, Jr., this concise, skill-building learning tool helps you think through pre-hospital medicine while covering every must-know topic on the exam--from pharmacology to hazardous materials awareness. Each chapter begins with a clinical scenario followed by a bulleted overview of key topics and is summarized by chapter-ending Q&As. Also included are valuable exam preparation tips, the do's and don'ts of answering multiple-choice questions, and much more. Turn to any page, and you'll see that the Third Edition of McGraw-Hill EMT-Paramedic Exam Review has everything you need to boost your confidence--and your score.

The revised and updated EMT Flash Review has all the essential words and phrases needed to succeed on the job--in simple and compact format. Inside, EMTs will find more than 600 terms consistent with National Registry Standards. Every term is clearly labeled by certification level to streamline and facilitate study. And, in addition to important terminology, this on-the-go guide includes tips on using mnemonics to enhance memory. There's a lot to remember in this high-stress and high-stakes profession. EMT Flash Review provides the information you need all in one place.

Test-taking strategies and steps to succeed as an EMT No two EMT exam experiences are exactly alike, as questions are tailored to the test-taker and range in topics from handling medical emergencies and patient assessment, to medical ethics, ambulance operations, and pediatrics. EMT Exam For Dummies takes the intimidation out of the test, offering everything you need to prepare for--and pass--the exam. Along with the book, there is also an online companion website that features two additional practice tests that you do your best on test day.

Kaplan's National Registry Paramedic Prep provides essential content and focused review to help you master the national paramedic exam. This second edition features comprehensive content review, board-style practice questions, and test-taking tips to help you face the exam with confidence. Content is weighted to match the NRP so you can focus your study where it counts the most Concise review of the material tested on the exam, including physiology, pharmacology, respiratory emergencies, cardiac emergencies, shock, trauma, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, the psychomotor exam, and more Full-color figures and tables to aid in understanding and retention.

Compact Clinical Guide to Mechanical Ventilation fills a void in addressing high-level patient care and management specific to critical care nurses. Designed for use by practicing nurses, nursing students, and nursing educators, it provides a detailed, step-by-step approach to developing expertise in this challenging area of practice. The guide is grounded in evidence-based research and explains complex concepts in a user-friendly format along with useful tips for daily practice. It has been written based on the authors' many years of teaching students at all levels of critical care as well as their experience in mentoring novice and experienced nurses in the critical care arena. Emphasizing the nurse's role in mechanical ventilation, the book offers many features that facilitate in-depth learning. These include bulleted points to simplify complex ideas, learning objectives, key points summarized for speedy reference, learning activities, a case study in each chapter with questions for reflection, clinical "pearls," references for additional study, and a glossary. A digital companion includes cue cards summarizing challenging practice concepts and how-to procedural videos.

In this riveting book, Dr. Sanjay Gupta--neurosurgeon, chief medical correspondent for CNN, and bestselling author--chronicles the almost unbelievable science that has made seemingly miraculous recoveries possible--from experiments with therapeutic hypothermia to save comatose stroke or heart attack victims to lifesaving operations in utero to the study of animal hibernation to help wounded soldiers on far-off battlefields.

This practical guide is written from the perspective of authors who have nearly 100 years' experience as clinicians, educators, researchers, and authors. Unlike other references on the topic, this resource is about mechanical ventilation rather than mechanical ventilators. It is written to provide a solid understanding of the general principles and essential foundational knowledge of mechanical ventilation as required by respiratory therapists and critical care physicians. To make it clinically relevant, Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation includes disease-specific chapters related to mechanical ventilation in these conditions. The Fourth Edition has been carefully updated throughout. New content includes coverage of mechanical ventilation of the obese patient and advanced monitoring procedures. Concepts such as driving pressure are included, and the content has been checked against the most recently published clinical practice guidelines.

Professional Rescuer CPR, Third Edition provides individuals who have a job-related duty to respond to emergencies with the knowledge and skills to recognize and provide care in respiratory and cardia

Wilderness EMS is designed for EMS providers and leaders who deliver medical care in the wilderness, and those practicing wilderness medicine as part of a formal team. The textbook is a comprehensive, expertly-written reference ideal for this fast-changing and multidisciplinary specialty. This first-of-its-kind text provides specialized instruction and best practices for wilderness EMS practitioners and students - crucial information for the success of today's rescue missions. A strong foundation in evidence-based medicine, clinical experience, and field applicability makes it especially useful for any EMS provider in a wilderness environment.

Vehicle Rescue and Extrication is crucial for fire, rescue, EMS and law enforcement personnel. It details the very latest in dealing with the challenges of vehicle rescue and extrication in today's environment. New information on vehicle technology and changes in vehicle fire fighting procedures are covered, as well as the most recent advances in extrication equipment. Case scenarios are used to offer readers a real-world example of crash scenes they're likely to encounter. The comprehensive scope of information ensures that students have everything they need in one easy-to-read text. Over 400 illustrations enhance the written text and better relay vital concepts. Utilizes case scenarios and algorithms to encourage problem solving and real-world application. Features a glossary of over 2,500 terms to secure students' understanding of the material. Chapter objectives and summaries point out key information found in each chapter. An active fire rescue professional, the author provides the very latest information so users feel confident that the material is accurate and cutting edge. Almost 400 illustrations from the first edition have been replaced with photographs that better represent real-world scenarios.

Medical Response to Terrorism provides all the information emergency departments and personnel need to prepare for and respond to terrorist events. The first section covers all agents potentially used in terrorist attacks--chemical, biologic, toxicologic, nuclear, and explosive--in a systematic format that includes background, triage, decontamination, signs and symptoms, medical management, personnel protection, and guidelines for notifying public health networks. Algorithms show when to suspect and how to recognize exposure and detail signs and symptoms and management protocols. The second section focuses on all-hazards preparedness for hospitals, communities, emergency medical services, and the media, and includes an important chapter on simulation of disasters.

If you are looking for a fun, fast review that boils emergency airway and respiratory management to its most essential, must-know points, your search ends here! This is a complete yet concise overview of the basics of performing this critical procedure. This guide gives you the knowledge to help your patients as a student and as an EMT or paramedic once you start your career. You will learn how to perform an assessment of a patient's airway, manage his or her ventilation, utilize RSI, use best practices for special patient populations, and more.
**Two copies available**

Distinguished French immunologist and physician Patrice Debré offers an extensive, balanced, and detailed account of Louis Pasteur's life, struggles, and contributions. Drawing heavily on Pasteur's own scientific notebooks and writings, Debré presents a complete critical account of his discoveries and the controversies they raised with other scientists and occasionally with his closest associates.

In The Private Science of Louis Pasteur, Gerald Geison has written a controversial biography that finally penetrates the secrecy that has surrounded much of this legendary scientist's laboratory work. Geison uses Pasteur's laboratory notebooks, made available only recently, and his published papers to present a rich and full account of some of the most famous episodes in the history of science and their darker sides--for example, Pasteur's rush to develop the rabies vaccine and the human risks his haste entailed. The discrepancies between the public record and the "private science" of Louis Pasteur tell us as much about the man as they do about the highly competitive and political world he learned to master. In giving Pasteur the close scrutiny his fame and achievements deserve, Geison's book offers compelling reading for anyone interested in the social and ethical dimensions of science.