Print & Audiovisual Collections (Wake Tech East Campus Library): November 2024

Ancient Philosophy by Julia Annas provides a concise and engaging overview of ancient Greco-Roman philosophy, highlighting its dynamic discussions and diverse themes. Moving away from the traditional focus on individual philosophers, Annas captures the liveliness and variety of ancient thought. This updated edition includes new illustrations and expanded further reading, making the text more accessible and comprehensive for general readers. It also explores the connections between ancient philosophy and other traditions, offering a deeper understanding of its relevance to contemporary thought.

Ibn Sīnā (Avicenna) : a very short introduction by Peter Adamson introduces Ibn Sina, a pivotal philosopher in the Islamic world, known in the West as Avicenna. It explores his life, works, and historical context, focusing on his contributions to logic, the human soul, medicine, and metaphysics. Key topics include his "flying man" thought experiment and proof of God's existence. The book also examines his relationship with Islamic rational theology and his legacy in both the Islamic world and Latin Christendom, highlighting responses from figures like al-Ghazali and al-Suhrawardi

Hume by James A. Harris is a book provides a comprehensive analysis of David Hume’s philosophy, focusing on his contributions to epistemology, ethics, and human understanding. Harris explores Hume's ideas on skepticism, naturalism, and the limits of reason, offering insights into his historical and intellectual context. Ideal for readers interested in 18th-century philosophy, it examines how Hume's work challenged traditional religious and moral beliefs. The text serves as a valuable resource for understanding Hume's enduring influence on modern philosophy and critical thinking. Accessible yet detailed, it is suited for both students and scholars of philosophy.

Kant by Roger Scruton explores the complex philosophy of Immanuel Kant. It delves into the background of Kant's work, particularly focusing on his seminal work, "Critique of Pure Reason." Scruton explains why Kant is considered one of the most influential modern philosophers and discusses key concepts such as the categorical imperative, transcendental deduction, and the logic of illusion. The book aims to make Kant's challenging ideas more accessible and highlights his enduring impact on philosophy.

A Degree in a Book: Philosophy by Peter Gibson is a perfect introduction for students and laypeople alike. With mind maps for each chapter, definition boxes, easily digestible features on the history of philosophy and suggestions for further reading, it provides you with everything you need to understand the fundamental issues. Learning philosophy has never been easier. Including ideas from Aristotle and Zeno to Descartes and Wittgenstein, it covers the whole range of western thought.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition

This essential resource provides guidance on scholarly writing, research reporting, and citation formatting in APA Style. The manual includes updated content on ethical research practices, bias-free language, and clear communication strategies. With detailed examples and templates for academic papers, it supports students and professionals in achieving excellence in research and writing. This edition emphasizes digital sources, data visualization, and inclusive practices, making it a vital tool for modern academic and professional contexts.

Psychology by Alan Porter covers every major subject of psychology and every methodology. Including helpful diagrams, summary sections, ideas for further reading and questions to consider, you will soon be able to understand the differences between Freud and Jung, its relationship to neuroscience and physiology, and how psychology is used in our everyday lives.

Jung by Anthony Stevens provides a clear and accessible introduction to the ideas of Carl Gustav Jung. It explains key concepts of Jungian psychology, including the collective unconscious, archetypes, complexes, and the process of individuation. Stevens also addresses Jung's theories on psychological types, dreams, and therapy, as well as his controversial views on topics like anti-Semitism. The book offers a concise overview of Jung's contributions to psychology and his lasting impact on the field.

The World Behind the World by Dr. Erik Hoel explores the science of consciousness, reconciling the extrinsic world of physics with the intrinsic world of thoughts and feelings. Drawing on pioneering research, including Francis Crick's work, Hoel examines how the brain creates our conscious experiences. The book addresses topics like brain-black hole similarities, AI consciousness, free will, and the metaphysical implications of consciousness, offering groundbreaking insights into human existence.

"Find Your Why" is a practical guide that builds on the concepts from Simon Sinek’s Start With Why. It provides a step-by-step process for individuals and organizations to discover their purpose, helping them achieve fulfillment at work and inspire others. The book includes exercises, illustrations, and action steps to navigate common challenges, such as aligning your WHY with your work, dealing with competing WHYs, and achieving agreement within a team. Whether you're new to the workforce or leading a company, this guide helps cultivate long-term success and fulfillment through understanding your WHY.

Creativity by Vlad Petre Glǎveanu explores the history, theory, and practice of creativity from a psychological perspective. Tracing its development from early human expression in cave paintings to modern-day innovation, Glǎveanu examines the creative process and why we create. He offers a sociocultural analysis, considering the social, material, and historical contexts that shape creativity. The book also looks to the future, reflecting on technological advancements and societal evolution, while addressing creativity’s value beyond economic growth and personal well-being.

Imagination : a very short introduction by Jennifer Gosetti-Ferencei explores imagination as a crucial cognitive power and a key aspect of human flourishing. It examines philosophical, evolutionary, and literary perspectives, showing how imagination shapes human cognition and enriches our experience of the world. The author discusses the ambivalence surrounding imagination, viewed as both dangerous and divine, and its essential role in all thinking. Drawing on various disciplines, the book highlights imagination's importance in everyday life, the arts, scientific discovery, and invention, using examples from cave paintings to modern art, and from technological inventions to jazz improvisation.

Child Psychology by Usha C. Goswami offers an authoritative and accessible guide to modern child psychology, from infancy to early adolescence. It explores key topics such as attachment and bonding, cognitive development, language acquisition, and moral reasoning. Goswami examines how children's learning is shaped by their environments, including home, school, peers, and society. The book emphasizes the role of friendships and sibling relationships in psychological development. It introduces major theories in child psychology and provides insights into optimizing development during childhood and adolescence, making it an essential resource for understanding the complexities of child development.

Buddhist Ethics by Damien Keown explores how Buddhism addresses contemporary moral issues. With over 520 million followers, Buddhism has grown in influence, especially in the West, where it is seen as an alternative or complement to other religious beliefs. Historically, ethics has not been as central in traditional Buddhist thought as in the West. Keown examines key moral questions regarding our environment, treatment of animals, abortion, sexuality and gender, violence, and war. The new edition also addresses ethical dilemmas arising from advancements in science and biomedical technologies, such as neuroscience, AI, transhumanism, and gene editing.

Evil by Luke Russell (Very Short Introductions) explores the nature of evil, examining how we use the term to describe heinous acts like terrorism, serial killings, or atrocities such as the Holocaust. Russell discusses philosophical perspectives, questioning whether evil is a real concept or merely a myth. He investigates whether evil is always horrific or can be banal, and if evildoers are psychologically different from the rest of us. The book also delves into debates on psychopathy, empathy, and the moral implications of labeling actions as 'evil,' offering a thought-provoking look at contemporary secular morality.

In The Four Agreements, bestselling author don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love.

Faith by Roger Trigg explores the concept of faith beyond personal belief, emphasizing its connection to reason and its role in public discourse. In this Very Short Introduction, Trigg argues that faith, particularly in the context of Christianity, requires rational support and should not be marginalized or privatized. It involves a commitment to action and significantly influences social life. Faith shapes how individuals behave and plays a crucial role in the public sphere, maintaining respect for diverse views in a democratic society. This book presents a historical perspective on faith's impact on human life and society.

Inner Engineering by Sadhguru
Sadhguru, a mystic, yogi, and philanthropist, introduces Western readers to the classical science of yoga. This profound work explores yoga as a sophisticated system of self-empowerment, beyond just physical practices like hatha yoga. Through yoga, individuals can optimize their body and mind to create inner peace and joy. In this transformative book, Sadhguru shares his personal journey of awakening, from his love for nature to a life-changing moment of enlightenment. He emphasizes self-transformation as the key to overcoming humanity's ills and offers tools for achieving lasting happiness and fulfillment.

Confucianism by Daniel K. Gardner offers an insightful exploration of the philosophical tradition of Confucius, which has deeply influenced Chinese society for over two millennia. Gardner examines key Confucian concepts, focusing on the nature of a good person and good government, while highlighting the tradition's impact on Chinese politics, ethics, and social relations. The book also traces the decline of Confucianism in the modern era and its resurgence in contemporary China. This volume offers valuable perspectives on Confucianism’s enduring relevance and its relationship with Chinese history, culture, and governance.

Atheism by Julian Baggini challenges the common misconceptions about atheism, presenting it not as a rejection of values and purpose, but as a naturalistic worldview where meaning and morality arise in a finite, natural world. This Very Short Introduction explores how Western atheism is rooted in a tradition where theism is the norm. The second edition includes a new chapter on the rise of 'New Atheism' in the early 21st century, with influential works from authors like Richard Dawkins and Sam Harris. Baggini also examines atheism in East Asia, recent European history, and the global position of atheists today.

The Oxford Handbook of Islamic Theology by Sabine Schmidtke is a comprehensive handbook explores Islamic theology, examining the evolution of theological thought within Islam from its early development to contemporary interpretations. Edited by Sabine Schmidtke, the book features contributions from leading scholars, addressing topics such as the Qur'an's role in theology, philosophical influences, sectarian differences, and modern challenges. It serves as an essential resource for understanding Islamic theology's historical and intellectual complexity, providing insights into its diversity and adaptability over time.

Kabbalah by Joseph Dan provides a concise and accurate overview of Kabbalah, the Jewish mystical tradition. It explores the history and character of various Kabbalistic systems, addressing common misconceptions about its connections to magic, astronomy, alchemy, and numerology. The book also examines the relationship between Kabbalah and Christianity, shedding light on how Kabbalistic ideas have influenced and been influenced by other religious traditions.

Islamic History by Adam J. Silverstein explores the major developments in Islamic civilization, examining political, social, and cultural aspects from the early Islamic period through to the modern era. The book highlights the formation of Islamic empires, religious movements, and the interactions between Islam and other world powers. It provides a comprehensive analysis of the evolution of Islam, focusing on key figures, events, and ideas that have shaped the course of history. Silverstein's work is an essential resource for understanding the complexities and contributions of Islamic societies to global history.

Islam by Malise Ruthven provides an insightful and comprehensive overview of the religion, tracing its origins, historical development, and global impact. Ruthven explores key themes such as the life of the Prophet Muhammad, the central beliefs of Islam, and the diversity within Muslim communities. The book also addresses contemporary issues facing the Islamic world, including political and social challenges. Ideal for those seeking an accessible yet in-depth introduction to Islam, this work offers both historical context and critical analysis of its modern-day relevance.

Buddha by Michael Carrithers is a comprehensive introduction to the life and teachings of the Buddha. Carrithers navigates the often conflicting information from Buddhist texts, providing insight into the social and political context of India during the Buddha's time. He traces the evolution of the Buddha's thought and examines the rapid spread of Buddhism. The book is well-paced and accessible, offering valuable perspectives for those studying Buddhism, comparative religion, and anyone interested in the profound philosophy of one of history's greatest religious thinkers.

Buddhism by Damien Keown, part of the Very Short Introduction series, provides a superb overview of the Buddha's teachings and their integration into daily life. Keown explores key concepts such as "karma" and "nirvana," offering clear explanations of their meanings. The book also delves into the development of Buddhist thought over the centuries and its contemporary relevance. The second edition includes new perspectives on Buddhist evolution in Asia, the material culture of Buddhism, and updated insights into ethics, war, peace, and the impact of ethnicity, class, and gender in Buddhism.

Christianity by Linda Woodhead offers a dynamic overview of Christianity's cultural and institutional evolution over two millennia. This Very Short Introduction explores the competition between different Christian denominations, the churches' use of power, and their ongoing struggles with modernity. The updated edition includes insights into the global spread of Christianity, particularly its growth in the Southern hemisphere, while addressing its decline in the West. Woodhead provides a candid and fresh perspective on Christianity's past, present, and its significant role in today's shifting cultural and geographical landscapes.

Primary Sources in World History by James Farr and Patrick J. Hearden (Volume 1) is a two-volume collection of primary documents covering 5,000 years of global societies. The volume highlights the unequal distribution of wealth and power within societies and between polities, from city-states to empires. The selected documents demonstrate how people, across different eras and regions, have employed similar strategies to achieve political and economic goals. By showcasing both commonalities and differences, the book challenges claims of Western intellectual, cultural, or moral superiority, offering a more inclusive view of global history.

How have the Jews survived? For millennia, they have defied odds by overcoming the travails of exile, persecution, and recurring plans for their annihilation. Many have attempted to explain this singular success as a result of divine intervention. In this engaging book, David N. Myers charts the long journey of the Jews through history. At the same time, it points to two unlikely-and decidedly this-worldly--factors to explain the survival of the Jews: antisemitism and assimilation. Usually regarded as grave dangers, these two factors have continually interacted with one other to enable the persistence of the Jews. At every turn in their history, not just in the modern age, Jews have adapted to new environments, cultures, languages, and social norms.

Korea by Michael J. Seth provides a concise overview of Korea's history, culture, and society. It covers key historical events, from ancient times to the present, and examines Korea's unique cultural identity. The book also explores Korea's economic development, political landscape, and the impact of its division into North and South Korea. Seth highlights Korea's global influence and its role in contemporary international relations.

Ancient Egypt by Ian Shaw, part of the Very Short Introductions series, offers a brilliant and sharp exploration of ancient Egyptian history and culture. Shaw delves into key topics such as Egyptian kingship, writing systems, and the development of Egyptology. He addresses contemporary issues of ethnicity, race, gender, and sexual relations, as well as the latest insights on death, funerary rites, and mummification. The book also critiques the phenomenon of Egyptomania in popular media and explores the impact of the Arab Spring on Egyptian museums and cultural heritage, providing a modern perspective on ancient Egypt.

Colonial America by Alan Taylor provides a new perspective on early American history by examining the interplay between Europe, Africa, and the Americas. Moving beyond traditional narratives, Taylor explores the global expansion of European exploration and commerce, highlighting the competition between the English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and Russians in shaping colonial America. The book emphasizes the central role of slavery, the importance of native peoples, and the intermingling of cultures, plants, animals, and ideas. This Very Short Introduction offers a concise and engaging overview of recent scholarship on colonial history.

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy by Freda McManus provides a comprehensive overview of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT). It explains the core model of cognition and behaviour that underpins CBT and its role in addressing psychological distress. The book covers the development of CBT, its applications for common mental health issues like anxiety and depression, and the processes of assessment and formulation. It also explores recent advancements, including third-wave approaches, and discusses future challenges, such as the dissemination of CBT protocols and adapting CBT for new patient groups. The book emphasizes the reciprocal influence of thoughts, feelings, and behaviours.

American Intellectual History by Jennifer Ratner-Rosenhagen explores the development of American thought from its European roots to the present. The book examines how ideas shaped the United States, enriched by Enlightenment philosophy, liberty, religion, and republicanism. It highlights key thinkers such as Thomas Jefferson, Ralph Waldo Emerson, W.E.B. DuBois, and Betty Friedan, exploring their influence on American history. Ratner-Rosenhagen covers a wide range of disciplines, including philosophy, religion, political thought, and cultural criticism, showing how ideas have driven movements like transcendentalism, Social Darwinism, and postmodernism, while also sparking debates on freedom, belonging, and morality.

American History by Paul S. Boyer offers a concise yet comprehensive history of the United States, covering topics from early Native American settlers to Barack Obama’s presidency. It delves into pivotal events such as the Revolution, Civil War, world wars, 9/11, and the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. Boyer explores major themes like immigration, urbanization, slavery, and America’s global influence, while highlighting diversity and the roles of race, ethnicity, gender, and class. This accessible overview presents both achievements and failures, along with cultural milestones, offering a rich account of American history in a single read.

Asian American History by Madeline Y. Hsu delves into the complex history of Asian Americans, chronicling their journey from stigmatized "coolies" in the 1850s to being labeled "model minorities" today. Early immigrants, particularly Chinese, faced harsh discrimination through restrictive laws, employment barriers, and civil rights limitations. Prejudices reached a peak during Japanese American internment in World War II. Hsu argues that Asian Americans' later success is not due to inherent cultural traits, but rather immigration policies that favored skilled individuals. These policies shaped public perceptions, reinforcing stereotypes and enabling political critiques of other immigrant groups.

African American History by Jonathan Scott Holloway explores the complexities of what it means to be American through the lens of the African American experience. Beginning with the arrival of enslaved Africans in 1619, the book examines the establishment of racialized chattel slavery, its abolition, and the ongoing struggle for civil rights. Highlighting figures like Anna Julia Cooper and movements like Black Lives Matter, Holloway illuminates the fight for equality and the contradictions within America's founding ideals. This concise introduction offers profound insights into citizenship, freedom, and the enduring impact of racial injustice in the United States.

Geophysical and Climate Hazards by Bill McGuire examines the causes and consequences of geophysical and climate hazards through the lens of global heating and climate destabilization. It discusses how human activities have altered the natural hazard landscape, leading to more extreme weather events like storms, floods, and wildfires. The book also covers traditional geophysical hazards such as earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanic eruptions, and explores their links to climate change. McGuire emphasizes the need to understand these hazards to mitigate their impacts and build resilience in a rapidly changing world.

A concise and fascinating guide to the areas covered by a first degree in anthropology.

The Secret Science of Sports: The Math, Physics, and Mechanical Engineering Behind Every Grand Slam, Triple Axel, and Penalty Kick by Jennifer Swanson helps kids understand science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) through sports. It explains how concepts like Newton's Law of Motion, gravity, and algebra apply to sports like baseball, basketball, football, and soccer. The book breaks down complex STEM ideas into kid-friendly language, using examples from various sports to illustrate key principles. With engaging illustrations, it covers topics such as calculating a batter's average, the design of sports equipment, and the biology of athletic performance, making STEM fun and accessible for kids ages 8 to 12.

Economics : everything you need to know to master the subject - in one book! by Elaine Schwartz offers a concise and fascinating guide to the areas covered by a first degree in economics. Fully illustrated with fascinating photographs and images. Handy timelines, information boxes, feature spreads and margin annotations will aid the reader in understanding terms and concepts easily and quickly. The A Degree in a Book series has sold over 200,000 copies worldwide and has been published in 11 different languages.

Poverty, by America by Matthew Desmond offers a provocative examination of why poverty persists in the U.S., despite being the richest country on Earth. Desmond argues that poverty endures because affluent Americans, knowingly or unknowingly, benefit from it. Through research, history, and original reporting, he shows how the wealthy exploit the poor, driving down wages and inflating housing costs. Desmond calls for a collective effort to end poverty, advocating for a new politics of shared prosperity and freedom. Elegantly written and fiercely argued, the book challenges readers to think critically and act as "poverty abolitionists."

Start with Why by Simon Sinek Discover the book that inspired a movement and one of the most-watched TED Talks of all time. Simon Sinek's *Start with Why* challenges readers to explore the purpose behind their actions and organizations. Using examples like Martin Luther King Jr., Steve Jobs, and the Wright Brothers, Sinek illustrates how understanding your "WHY" leads to innovation, influence, and loyalty. Central to the book is the concept of The Golden Circle, a framework for leadership and inspiration. This thought-provoking bestseller continues to resonate, encouraging individuals and organizations to act with purpose and clarity.

Leaders Eat Last by Simon Sinek explores how great leaders create environments fostering trust, collaboration, and fulfillment. Based on Sinek's insights, including his viral "Millennials in the Workplace" video, this New York Times bestseller examines why some teams thrive while others fail. Inspired by a Marine Corps general's principle, "Officers eat last," Sinek highlights the importance of leaders prioritizing their team's well-being. Featuring compelling stories from the military, business, and government, the book emphasizes building a "Circle of Safety" to encourage cooperation and resilience in the face of external challenges. Now available in paperback with expanded content.

Flow Engineering is a practical guide for product teams to align, innovate, and optimize workflows using value stream mapping. Authors Steve Pereira and Andrew Davis provide actionable techniques rooted in Value Stream Mapping, cybernetics, and the Toyota Production System. The book features five key maps to surface dependencies, resolve priorities, and build clarity, enabling teams to unlock innovation and improve performance. With step-by-step instructions for fast-paced workshops, it equips organizations to optimize workflows like customer onboarding and product development. Applicable across industries, Flow Engineering delivers a roadmap to achieve value, clarity, and flow tailored to your organization’s needs.

American Business History by Walter A. Friedman explores the evolution of American business, emphasizing its transformation into a "business civilization" by the early 20th century, exemplified by iconic enterprises like Henry Ford's factories. Friedman examines the scale, culture, and leadership of American business, tracing changes in management strategies, corporate growth, and public perceptions from the American Revolution to the present. The book reflects on the profound economic and societal impact of business throughout American history.

Basic Engineering Mathematics by John Bird simplifies mathematical theories with practical engineering examples. Now in its seventh edition, this textbook helps students succeed in exams by relating theory to practice. It covers a wide range of topics, making it ideal for introductory engineering courses. Supported by a companion website with essential formulae, multiple choice tests, and full solutions for over 1,600 questions, Basic Engineering Mathematics is a comprehensive resource for both students and lecturers.

An MBA in a Book by Xander Cansell offers a concise and engaging overview of MBA principles, making complex business concepts accessible and easy to understand. It features illustrations, timelines, information boxes, and annotations to help readers grasp terms and ideas quickly. Part of the successful "Degree in a Book" series, which has sold over 118,000 copies globally and is available in 10 languages, this guide is designed to provide a comprehensive understanding of the key areas covered in a master's in Business.

The groundbreaking, indispensable guide to rewarding work and a fulfilling life--more than ten million copies sold! For more than fifty years, What Color Is Your Parachute? has transformed the way people think about job hunting. Whether searching for that first position, recovering from a layoff, or dreaming of a career change, What Color Is Your Parachute? has shown millions of readers how to network effectively, compose impressive resumes and cover letters, interview with confidence, and negotiate the best possible salary--while discovering how to make their livelihood part of authentic living.

Customer Service, 8th Edition by Robert W. Lucas is a comprehensive guide explores essential customer service skills for professionals. It covers verbal communication, active listening, conflict resolution, and customer relationship management. Practical scenarios and exercises help readers develop strategies to meet and exceed customer expectations. The 8th edition includes updates on technology's role in service interactions and modern business trends. Ideal for students and professionals seeking to improve service quality and client satisfaction.

The Oxford Handbook of Causation by Adrian Wilkinson is a comprehensive handbook explores the philosophical concept of causation, covering its history, major theories, and applications in fields like science, law, and metaphysics. Written by leading scholars, it provides a detailed examination of causal relationships, causal inference, and the role of causation in human understanding. Aimed at advanced students and researchers, it bridges abstract theory with practical case studies.

The Coaching Habit by Michael Bungay Stanier offers practical strategies to make coaching a regular, informal part of your workday, empowering managers to unlock their team’s potential. The book introduces seven essential coaching questions, such as the Kickstart, Awe, Lazy, and Focus Questions, designed to save time, enhance conversations, and create impactful habits. Combining neuroscience, behavioral economics, and interactive tools, this witty and conversational guide helps leaders build better workplaces by asking more and advising less.

The 5 Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace: Empowering Organizations by Encouraging People by Gary Chapman is based on the #1 New York Times bestseller, The 5 Love Languages®, this book aims to improve workplace relationships by teaching the languages of appreciation. It provides tools to create a positive workplace, increase employee engagement, and reduce turnover. By understanding coworkers' preferred languages of appreciation, supervisors and colleagues can communicate authentic appreciation, fostering healthy work relationships and enhancing team performance. The book includes access to the online Motivating By Appreciation (MBA) Inventory for personalized application.

Bohemians by David Weir (1947) This traces the myth of Bohemia, originating in the early nineteenth century, as artists and writers moved away from aristocratic patronage. Weir explores the evolution of Bohemia through its fictional portrayals, such as in Henry Murger's Scenes of Bohemian Life, Puccini's opera La Bohème, and the musical Rent. He examines the history of bohemian communities in Paris, Munich, and New York, focusing on key figures like Gustave Courbet, Pablo Picasso, and Edith Piaf. Weir reflects on the legacy of Bohemia today as an exhausted but enduring tradition.

Gender History by Antoinette Burton introduces the field of gender history, exploring its origins, development, and impact. It examines how gender as a category of analysis has reshaped our understanding of historical narratives, questioning who counts as a historical subject and how gender influences power, culture, and identity. The book discusses the role of gender history in interpreting the histories of slavery, capitalism, migration, and empire, and highlights its influence on contemporary scholarship. Burton also addresses the political nature of gender history and its challenges to traditional historical narratives.

American Women's History by Susan Ware explores the diverse experiences of American women from pre-colonization to the present day. Emphasizing the influences of race, class, religion, geography, age, and sexual orientation, the book examines women's roles in early America, including settlement, slavery, and labor. It also highlights their contributions to movements such as temperance, abolition, and suffrage. Ware connects women's experiences to pivotal historical events like the Civil War, World Wars, and feminist movements, recognizing figures like Anne Bradstreet and Ida B. Wells. The book underscores the central role of gender and women's activism in U.S. history.

City Planning by Carol Abbott offers an international perspective on the evolution of city planning over the past century. It examines the tension between viewing cities as individual land parcels and as representations of community and identity, highlighting the political and ethical dimensions of planning. As cities have expanded, the need for larger-scale planning has emerged, though it remains a regional discipline. The book explores how cities can become more resilient to natural disasters and civil conflict, emphasizing the importance of data, technology, commerce, and efficient functioning, while stressing the necessity of human connection for a city's survival.

Urban Engineering for Sustainability by Sybil Derrible introduces the integrated, sustainable design of urban infrastructures. Drawing on civil, environmental, electrical, and mechanical engineering, as well as urban planning and computer science, this textbook views urban infrastructures as interconnected networks. It covers five key systems: electricity, water, transportation, buildings, and solid waste. The book includes practical examples, problem sets, and a hypothetical city to illustrate concepts. Ideal for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses, it also serves as a reference for practitioners and those preparing for engineering exams.

Criminology by Tim Newburn provides a comprehensive overview of the study of crime and criminal justice in contemporary society. This book examines how crime trends can be measured and used to shape preventative policies and responses to crime. Through an analysis of historical contexts and contemporary data, Newburn explores the causes of crime, the impact of drugs, the effectiveness of rehabilitation versus punishment, and the role of criminology in shaping crime control policies. The book offers insights into the limits and potential of criminology in the modern world.

Anarchism by Alex Prichard offers a fresh perspective on anarchism, challenging common misconceptions about chaos and violence. Instead, it presents anarchism as a lived practice with a rich historical legacy. Prichard explores how anarchist thought has shaped key concepts like freedom, participatory education, and federalism, and its relevance to contemporary issues such as climate change. By connecting anarchism to struggles against colonialism and imperialism, the book illustrates its global significance and its potential to inspire those seeking a better future. This Very Short Introduction is an essential read for understanding anarchism's impact on society and culture.

Borders by Alexander C. Diener (2012, revised edition) explores the significance of borders in global and domestic affairs. The book examines the impact of borders on migration, security, maritime sovereignty, and trade, highlighting recent developments such as Brexit, the 2015 European migration crisis, and the US-Mexico border wall. It also delves into the rise of nationalist sentiments, cybersecurity, and the proliferation of transborder organizations. This updated edition addresses key geopolitical events, including Russian cross-border incursions and regional conflicts in North Africa and Southwest Asia, offering a comprehensive overview of borders' evolving role in contemporary issues.

Civil Wars by Monica Duffy Toft examines the causes, nature, and outcomes of civil wars, the most common form of large-scale political violence today. The book explores factors like resource conflicts, political disputes, and identity clashes, highlighting how motives and actors shift during prolonged conflicts. With insights from international relations and comparative politics, it delves into why civil wars emerge, evolve, and end, considering historical narratives and human dimensions. Toft provides an accessible analysis of this complex topic, offering valuable perspectives on the conditions under which civil wars occur and their broader implications.

Democracy by Naomi Zack explores both ideal and real forms of government. It examines the evolution of democracy, from its ancient roots in Athens and Rome, which favored elites, to modern concepts of universal suffrage and equal rights. Key philosophical figures like Plato, Aristotle, and Rousseau critiqued democracy’s potential flaws, while thinkers like Bentham, Mill, and Marx pushed for broader societal democratization. The book also addresses major social movements, including the fight for women's rights, abolition, and labor unionization, and discusses the challenges democracy faces in the twenty-first century, including inclusion and informed electorates.

Elections by L. Sandy Maisel and Jennifer A. Yoder provides a comparative analysis of electoral systems across different democracies and non-democratic regimes. The book examines how elections work, from the types of systems used (e.g., single-member district plurality, proportional, and mixed systems) to the impacts on voter participation, representation, and government stability. It explores efforts to reform electoral systems and the consequences of these changes. Readers are encouraged to critically consider their own election systems and explore alternatives to better understand the dynamics of democracy and electoral practices worldwide.

American Political Parties and Elections by L. Sandy Maisel examines the U.S. electoral process and the role of political parties, focusing on its complexities and flaws. It addresses issues such as low voter turnout, the dominance of two major parties, and the disproportionate influence of campaign contributions and unregulated groups like 527 organizations. Maisel critiques the Electoral College's discrepancies, where the popular vote winner may lose, and explores the effects of polarization, changes in electoral coalitions, voter access challenges, and the influence of social media on campaigns. The third edition provides a critical perspective on these system-wide issues.

Diplomatic History by Joseph M. Siracusa examines the management of relations between nation-states through negotiation. This Very Short Introduction updates the previous edition, exploring key historical moments such as the American Revolution, the Great War, the Versailles Treaty, and George W. Bush's Iraq War. It highlights how diplomacy, shaped by skill, rashness, or caution, has influenced the fate of nations. Siracusa emphasizes the universal role of diplomacy in statecraft and its importance in achieving political success. Through case studies, it illustrates how changing methods reflect the demands of the times.

Globalization by Manfred B. Steger provides insights into the key aspects of globalization. It explains how globalization connects people worldwide, allowing ordinary individuals to become online celebrities and religious leaders to influence billions. The book covers the history of globalization and its major dimensions: economic, political, cultural, ideological, and ecological. It also addresses contemporary issues like climate change, pandemics, trade wars, and nuclear conflicts, evaluating whether globalization is ultimately beneficial or harmful.

Employment Law by David A. Cabrelli explores the vital role work plays in modern society, not only as a financial necessity but also as a place for personal development and social connection. This Very Short Introduction provides an overview of key employment rights and labor laws, addressing issues such as equal pay, discrimination, dismissal, and redundancy. It critically examines the assumptions underlying contemporary attitudes toward employment laws and considers the economic, political, and social justifications for these rights, offering valuable insights into the evolving landscape of employment law.

Islamic Law by Mashood A. Baderin is a book that offers a comprehensive introduction to Islamic law, exploring its foundations, sources, and development over time. It addresses key legal concepts within Islamic jurisprudence, examining the historical context, modern applications, and challenges faced by the legal system. The author emphasizes the importance of Shari'a law, its impact on Muslim societies, and its role in contemporary legal issues. Written by an expert in the field, this book provides valuable insights into the complexities and evolving nature of Islamic legal tradition, making it an essential resource for students and scholars alike.

Education by Gary Thomas explores the evolution of education from ancient Egypt to the present day. The book examines the impact of politics, philosophy, and social sciences on educational practices and controversies such as progressive versus formal teaching. Thomas also addresses the global shift toward charter, academy, and "free" schools, accelerated by the COVID-19 pandemic's push for online learning. In this updated edition, he discusses curriculum changes, the slow progress on race, gender, and social inequality, and the potential future of education in a rapidly changing world.

MLA Handbook (9th Edition) by Modern Language Association of America: The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the official guide to MLA style, widely used for academic and professional writing. It emphasizes source evaluation and digital literacy, providing templates for citing diverse sources like books, social media, and images. Key updates include new chapters on grammar, inclusive language, and formatting, along with expanded examples for works-cited entries and in-text citations. This essential resource serves writers in classrooms and professional settings, offering clear guidance on avoiding plagiarism, creating bibliographies, and using MLA format effectively.

Film Music by Kathryn Kalinak 1952 offers a comprehensive exploration of the rich and emotional world of film music. This delves into the history and evolution of film scores, from early cinema accompaniments to modern soundtracks. Kalinak explains the practical aspects of composing film music, alongside the theories that explain its emotional and narrative power. The updated second edition includes insights on global film music, with a focus on underrepresented voices, including women and minority composers from Africa, Asia, South Asia, and Latin America.

Country Music by Richard Carlin offers a compelling overview of country music’s influence on American culture. Tracing its roots from the working class to mainstream appeal, Carlin highlights key artists, songs, and social trends. The book examines how country music reflects themes like rural vs. urban, tradition vs. innovation, and gender and racial dynamics. Notable examples include Tammy Wynette’s “Stand By Your Man” and Jimmie Rodgers’ “T for Texas,” illustrating the music's cultural impact. This concise introduction explores country music’s legacy and its role in shaping American popular music and identity.

Contemporary Art by Julian Stallabrass provides an insightful overview of the rapidly evolving art world. Stallabrass explores the globalisation of contemporary art since the 1990s, highlighting the rise of new regions like China and the shift away from traditional Euro-American dominance. He examines the merging of art with fashion and luxury markets, where artists have become brands in their own right. The book also addresses the changing role of art criticism and the growing influence of big business and the super-rich in shaping the art world, particularly since the financial crisis.

Art History by Dana Arnold is a concise introduction to the field of art history, exploring the history and development of visual arts such as painting and sculpture. In this Very Short Introduction, Arnold delves into key issues, debates, and artefacts, distinguishing art history from other academic disciplines. She examines the rise of social histories of art, including Feminist and Queer Art History, and explores how we engage with art through writing, presentation, and interpretation. The second edition adds a new chapter on global art histories, challenging the traditional Western focus and highlighting non-Western perspectives. Arnold also discusses the interplay between art and history, offering a broader understanding of how art can convey different narratives.

British Architecture by Dana Arnold presents an engaging overview of the architecture of the British Isles, from medieval times to the present day. Rather than a chronological survey, Arnold offers a thematic exploration of key aspects of British architecture, emphasizing its cultural and artistic significance. The book discusses how architecture reflects social trends, projects national and regional identities, and influences patterns of living and social interaction. Arnold also examines how Britain's architectural legacy continues to shape modern design and offers insights into how new generations reinterpret and redefine British architectural traditions.

Dictionaries by Lynda Mugglestone explores the role of dictionaries in shaping language, highlighting their selective and cultural nature. Mugglestone examines how dictionaries document language change, treating both past and present developments, and reveals the challenges of defining words. She discusses the human influence behind dictionary creation, illustrating how they reflect the social and cultural assumptions of their time. The book also delves into the impact of modern online resources like Urban Dictionary and Wiktionary, showing how debates around communication and language continue to evolve. A thought-provoking look at the cultural significance of dictionaries.

Classical Literature by William Allan (1970-) William Allan explores the enduring influence of classical literature, examining why these works continue to shape Western literary concepts. Drawing from both Greek and Latin traditions, this guide covers a wide array of genres, from epic poetry to dramatic reworks by contemporary poets and playwrights. Ideal for general readers and students at A-Level or university, this text provides an accessible and insightful introduction to the masterpieces of the ancient world, highlighting their variety, sophistication, and lasting impact on literature.

Classics by Mary Beard introduces readers to the profound influence of the Classics on modern culture, politics, medicine, architecture, language, and literature. Through an exploration of the Apollo Temple frieze at the British Museum, Beard and John Henderson encourage a rethinking of the original significance of these classical influences. This accessible guide challenges readers to reconsider the Classics' role in shaping contemporary thought, examining its enduring impact in both ancient times and the modern world. Ideal for both general readers and students, this Very Short Introduction emphasizes the ongoing relevance of the subject.

This dictionary was created for students in grades 3-6. An age-appropriate word list and kid-friendly definitions make it a favorite of teachers, students, and parents. Over 37,000 definitions for words kids use every day Definitions written in clear, easy-to-understand language Perfect for building vocabulary and reading skills Created in cooperation with the editors of Merriam-Webster, America's leading provider of language information.

The Little Seagull Handbook is the #1 brief handbook that students say improves their writing. This edition includes new advice for conducting online research, new student model essays, and a new chapter on writing summary/response essays. With intuitive organization, color-coding, and jargon-free instruction, The Little Seagull Handbook is a practical reference tool that helps students master common types of writing and enhances their academic success.

They Say/I Say demystifies academic writing and teaches students how to engage with others' views. Extensively revised, this edition includes a new chapter on Researching Conversations, new exercises, expanded support for reading, and an expanded chapter on Revising. By focusing on rhetorical moves across disciplines, They Say/I Say helps students master argumentative writing with accessible language and practical examples applicable throughout their college career.

Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus for Students is a comprehensive reference tool for students. This third edition includes 37,000 definitions and 122,000 synonyms, antonyms, and related words, all tailored to the curricula for grades 3 through 6. The book also features a 48-page, full-color world atlas created by the editors of Encyclopedia Britannica. Fully revised and expanded, this edition helps enrich vocabulary and supports studies of world events, making it an invaluable resource for young learners.

This is the only encyclopedia and social history of swearing and foul language in the English-speaking world. It covers the various social dynamics that generate swearing, foul language, and insults in the entire range of the English language. While the emphasis is on American and British English, the different major global varieties, such as Australian, Canadian, South African, and Caribbean English are also covered. A-Z entries cover the full range of swearing and foul language in English, including fascinating details on the history and origins of each term and the social context in which it found expression. Categories include blasphemy, obscenity, profanity, the categorization of women and races, and modal varieties, such as the ritual insults of Renaissance "flyting" and modern "sounding" or "playing the dozens." Entries cover the historical dimension of the language, from Anglo-Saxon heroic oaths and the surprising power of medieval profanity, to the strict censorship of the Renaissance and the vibrant, modern language of the streets. Social factors, such as stereotyping, xenophobia, and the dynamics of ethnic slurs, as well as age and gender differences in swearing are also addressed, along with the major taboo words and the complex and changing nature of religious, sexual, and racial taboos.

Dostoevsky by Deborah A. Martinsen explores the life and works of Fyodor Dostoevsky, renowned for his exploration of ethics, religion, and philosophy. In this Very Short Introduction, Martinsen examines Dostoevsky's tumultuous life, from political imprisonment and Siberian exile to his gambling addiction and literary success. The book analyzes major works like Crime and Punishment, The Brothers Karamazov, and Notes from Underground, highlighting key themes such as freedom, shame, faith, and social justice. Martinsen demonstrates the enduring relevance of Dostoevsky's novels in addressing moral and existential questions in today's world.

Japanese Literature by Alan Tansman is a concise guide explores the rich history of Japanese literature, spanning nearly 1,500 years. Alan Tansman examines how poetry, prose, and modern genres reflect Japan’s culture, politics, and identity. The book covers influential works and their global impact, from the Heian period to contemporary literature. Ideal for newcomers and seasoned readers, it provides a clear, engaging overview.

Dante by Peter Hainsworth and David Robey takes a unique approach to examining Dante's work, focusing on the themes that run through his writings, such as autobiography, God, and the universe's order. The authors explore Dante's dynamic blend of argument, analysis, and poetic imagination, highlighting his concerns with political and intellectual issues of his time, especially in The Divine Comedy. They provide insight into Dante's world, blending medieval and modern perspectives, and guiding readers to engage with the complex problems Dante presents in his work, often leaving them to resolve.

Ancient Science by Liba Taub, explores the evolution of science and medicine in ancient Greece and Rome from the 8th century BC to the 6th century AD. Taub highlights the contributions of early natural philosophers like Thales, Pythagoras, Plato, Aristotle, and Ptolemy, focusing on their interdisciplinary approaches to understanding nature. She challenges misconceptions about classical science, emphasizing the empirical work and integration of knowledge from Egypt, Babylon, and India. The book demonstrates how ancient science laid foundational ideas that influenced later scientific thought, covering cosmology, epistemology, ethics, and more.

How to Be Good at Science, Technology, and Engineering by Robert Dinwiddie makes science, technology, and engineering accessible to children. It covers a wide range of topics from atoms and microchips to tractors and jets, using eye-catching illustrations to explain complex concepts. The book includes hands-on projects and experiments, making learning interactive and fun. Ideal for young readers aged 9-12, it supports STEM education by breaking down difficult topics into clear, concise explanations. Perfect for homework help or sparking curiosity, this guide transforms the way kids see and understand the world around them.

STEM, STEAM, Make, Dream by Christopher Emdin explores how STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) can transform the lives of all young people. It emphasizes making STEM more accessible and inclusive, addressing how it has historically marginalized children. The book advocates for the integration of the arts and culture in STEM education, highlighting hands-on creation (making) as crucial for engagement. Through an experiential approach, Emdin encourages dreaming of an inclusive future and offers practical strategies for educators and policymakers to foster equity, creativity, and curiosity. It features insights from notable figures like Neil deGrasse Tyson and GZA.

The Art of Doing Science and Engineering: Learning to Learn by Richard W. Hamming explores the principles of scientific and engineering thinking. Originally adapted from a course Hamming taught at the US Naval Postgraduate School, this book emphasizes the importance of learning how to learn. With insights into problem-solving, creativity, and the scientific method, Hamming's work is a valuable resource for students and professionals alike. This edition includes a new foreword by Bret Victor and over 70 redrawn graphs and charts, enhancing its accessibility and relevance

ChatGPT, AI, and the Future of Writing compiled by Avery Elizabeth Hurt examines the impact of AI, specifically ChatGPT, on writing. Since its launch in 2022, the technology has sparked debate. Supporters believe AI can enhance productivity and writing skills, while critics worry it might hinder creativity, reduce self-expression, and lead to job losses in writing professions. The book presents diverse perspectives on the role of AI in writing, exploring its current influence and potential future implications for both creative and professional writing. The ongoing debate highlights both the benefits and challenges posed by AI in this field.

ChatGPT, MD by Dr. Robert Pearl and ChatGPT explores the transformative potential of generative AI in medicine. The book envisions a future where doctors, patients, and AI collaborate to shift control of healthcare away from corporate interests. It highlights AI’s ability to reduce medical errors, improve diagnoses, and ease the strain on healthcare professionals. The book also addresses concerns such as technological bias, patient privacy, and job displacement. It offers a vision of democratized medical expertise, providing patients with the tools and knowledge once exclusive to doctors, while acknowledging the challenges ahead.

Algebra by Peter M. Higgins marks the beginning of modern mathematics, transitioning from arithmetic to solving problems with unknown quantities. As a cornerstone of mathematics, algebra underpins both social and physical sciences. This Very Short Introduction explains algebra from the basics, guiding readers through ten logical chapters. Higgins provides a step-by-step approach, revisiting school-level mathematics and progressively delving deeper into the subject with theory and examples. This book is ideal for those eager to develop a solid understanding of algebra.

Cosmology by Sten Odenwald combines specialist information with an entertaining style expertly written by the director of the Space Math project at NASA. Includes chapters on the composition of the universe, relativity, the standard model, dark matter, galaxies, cosmogenesis among others. Features mind maps, historical overviews and explanatory diagrams. Expertly written by the director of the Space Math project at NASA, the lively text combines specialist information with an entertaining style. With many documentaries on the subject, including the critically-acclaimed Cosmos (2014), the history of the universe and the science behind it remains a perennially popular subject.

Fluid Mechanics by Eric Lauga Fluid mechanics is a key branch of physics that explores the behavior of fluids in motion and at rest. This interdisciplinary field intersects with chemistry, biology, mathematics, and engineering. In this Very Short Introduction, Lauga introduces the fundamental physical concepts of fluid mechanics using everyday examples, such as dripping taps and swimming ducks. The book demonstrates the wide-ranging applications of fluid motion, from natural phenomena to industrial processes, and highlights potential future developments in the field.

Climate Change by Mark Maslin explores the science, history, and politics of climate change. Drawing on the latest IPCC reports, the book examines the potential catastrophic impacts of climate change. It highlights the rapid global awareness of the issue, seen in support for figures like Greta Thunberg and movements such as Extinction Rebellion. Maslin discusses the need to reassess modern society and explores solutions across geopolitical, economic, technological, and social spheres. The book argues for new approaches to address the climate crisis, emphasizing the urgency of action in tackling this global challenge.

Biochemistry by Mark Lorch is a concise introduction to the study of biochemistry, which explores the fundamental chemistry behind all living organisms, from bacteria to humans. It examines the molecular reactions that power cells and the macromolecules (such as DNA, proteins, and carbohydrates) that form the structures and machinery necessary for these reactions. The book also delves into the practical applications of biochemistry, including the development of drugs and therapies like penicillin and aspirin. Lorch highlights key historical figures in the field and explores the connections between biochemistry, biotechnology, and synthetic biology.

Dinosaurs by David Norman offers a concise exploration of the fascinating world of dinosaurs, focusing on the challenges of studying creatures that lived 65 million years ago. This book, part of the Very Short Introductions series, delves into the history of dinosaur discoveries, the evolution of our understanding, and the technological breakthroughs that have enriched research. Norman discusses key questions about dinosaur biology, including their potential warm-blooded nature, and examines how fossil evidence informs us about their behaviors and natural history. A perfect introduction to dinosaurs, ideal for readers curious about these ancient creatures.

Darwin by Jonathan Howard offers a concise analysis of Charles Darwin's groundbreaking contributions to biology. Published in 1859, Darwin's The Origin of Species caused a scientific uproar, challenging views on human ancestry and evolution. Despite ongoing debates and skepticism about his theory, Howard reaffirms the enduring significance of Darwin’s work in shaping modern biology. This work presents Darwin's major insights and arguments in an accessible format, making it an essential read for both Darwinians and general readers interested in popular science.

Biodiversity Conservation by David W. Macdonald is part of the Very Short Introductions series and explores the urgent issue of biodiversity loss. The book explains how current extinction rates, driven by human activity, are significantly higher than natural background rates, with a quarter of mammalian species at risk. Macdonald highlights biodiversity’s critical role in maintaining natural cycles and supporting human life. He discusses the evolutionary, ecological, and behavioral processes underpinning biodiversity, the threats it faces, and potential solutions. This concise yet profound introduction emphasizes the global importance of biodiversity conservation for the future of humanity and the planet.

Biogeography explores the geographic variation in all characteristics of life, from genetic and morphological differences to the diversity of entire communities. From early hunters and gatherers to the pioneering work of Charles Darwin and Alfred Russel Wallace, scientists have searched for patterns in life that are critical for understanding the natural world. This book delves into the historical development of biogeography, its core principles, and tools. As Mark Lomolino illustrates, understanding where species occur, how they vary, and their distribution is crucial for developing effective conservation strategies.

Invasive Species: by Julie Lockwood and Dustin J. Welbourne explores the impact of invasive species on global biodiversity. This book defines invasive species, examines their ecological, social, and economic effects, and discusses policy and management strategies to control their spread. Part of the Very Short Introductions series, it provides a concise overview of how invasive species fit within the broader context of environmental change, making it an essential read for understanding the challenges of global biodiversity in the modern world.

Genes by Jonathan Slack explores the concept of genes, their discovery, and their role in evolution and development. It explains genetic variation, how DNA was identified as the hereditary material, and how mutations can lead to disease. The book also discusses the use of DNA variants in tracing human ancestry and forensic science. Updated with new sections on CRISPR, DNA profiling, and ancient DNA, it provides a concise guide to understanding genes and their impact on biology and society.

Coral Reefs by Charles Sheppard explores the beauty, diversity, and importance of coral reefs. These ecosystems provide food, protection from storms, and support both marine and human life across the globe, from the Indo-Pacific to the Caribbean. However, coral reefs are increasingly threatened by over-exploitation, pollution, and climate change. Sheppard explains the complex structure and evolution of reefs, their symbiotic relationships, and their crucial role for coastal communities. The latest research on coral symbiosis is highlighted, along with the urgent need for conservation to preserve these vital ecosystems in the face of escalating ocean heatwaves and climate disruption.

Fire by Andrew C. Scott explores the fundamentals of fire, both natural and controlled by humans. It examines ignition, combustion, and fuel, while addressing the roles of wildfires and human intervention in fire management. Scott discusses how fire has shaped ecosystems for over 400 million years and its impact on the environment, human life, and property. The book also covers the challenges of urban fires and emerging prevention methods. Finally, Scott considers the future of wildfires in the context of climate change and its potential effects on a warming world.

Amphibians by T.S. Kemp explores the evolution, biology, and unique adaptations of amphibians. It highlights their distinctive moist skin, tadpole phase, and behaviors such as courtship and egg care. The book also discusses amphibians' importance to humans as food, medicine, pets, and research subjects. With nearly half of amphibian species at risk due to human-induced threats like habitat loss and pollution, Kemp stresses the urgent need for conservation efforts to protect these vital interphase-dwelling creatures.

The Oxford Handbook of the History of Ethics by Keiichiro Ikeda, Thomas M. L. Nentwig, and Peter J. Stalmaszczyk presents a comprehensive exploration of the history of ethical thought, spanning ancient to modern times. The book is a valuable resource for scholars and students interested in the development of moral philosophy. It covers key ethical traditions, philosophers, and debates from a historical perspective, offering in-depth analyses and discussions. The volume includes contributions from leading experts in the field, providing insights into the evolution of ethical ideas and their impact on contemporary moral issues.

Bacteria by Sebastian G. B. Amyes explores the vital role of bacteria in life on Earth. Bacteria, the oldest and most prolific organisms, inhabit diverse environments from ocean depths to boiling springs. Beyond their role as agents of disease, bacteria are essential for ecological processes like recycling elements and supporting human health. This updated edition discusses synthetic bacteria's ethical implications, antibiotic resistance technologies, and bacteria's influence on human evolution. Part of Oxford University Press’s Very Short Introductions series, this book offers a concise, accessible overview of bacteria’s origins, functions, and impact on life and science.

Emergency Medical Services: Clinical Practice and Systems Oversight by David Cone, Jane H. Brice, and Theodore R. Delbridge provides a comprehensive foundation for EMS medical directors. This two-volume set covers essential topics such as airway management, medical emergencies, and EMS systems. It includes practical tools for managing local EMS systems and understanding their role within the broader emergency care framework. With contributions from leading experts, this book is an invaluable resource for EMS professionals preparing for the NAEMSP National EMS Medical Directors Course and Practicum.

Emergency Medical Services: Clinical Practice and Systems Oversight by David Cone, Jane H. Brice, and Theodore R. Delbridge provides a comprehensive foundation for EMS medical directors. This two-volume set covers essential topics such as airway management, medical emergencies, and EMS systems. It includes practical tools for managing local EMS systems and understanding their role within the broader emergency care framework. With contributions from leading experts, this book is an invaluable resource for EMS professionals preparing for the NAEMSP National EMS Medical Directors Course and Practicum.

Infectious Diseases by Marta Wayne and Benjamin Bolker explores the origins, transmission, and impact of infectious diseases through the lenses of ecology and evolution. It addresses how new diseases emerge, old diseases evolve, and how ecological and socioeconomic changes affect disease spread. The authors discuss the management of outbreaks like influenza, HIV/AIDS, cholera, and COVID-19, providing examples to illustrate why major diseases continue to threaten global populations.

Over 1,000 quick, easy, great tasting healthy recipes for the whole family, from appetizers & entrees through desserts & drinks. Most recipes have fewer than 10 ingredients & take less than 30 minutes to prepare. New chapters include weekday & holiday menus, with schedules of do-ahead steps to make preparation easier.

The Program by Jessie Pavelka offers a 21-day plan for powerful results through simple changes. Known from The Biggest Loser, Pavelka shares his top tips, techniques, and workouts. The book is structured around four pillars: EAT, SWEAT, THINK, and CONNECT. It includes over 60 recipes, 100 illustrated workouts, mindful practices, and advice on building a support network. Pavelka's approach, based on years of experience and coaching, helps readers lose weight, get healthy, and enjoy life.

30-Minute Get Real Meals by Rachael Ray offers creative, hassle-free recipes ready in less than 30 minutes. This book features over 150 healthy dishes, including pasta dinners, Thai and Mexican lettuce wraps, and unique desserts like Nutty Creamsicle Pie. Designed for those who want to eat well without extreme diets, Ray's recipes use simple ingredients and straightforward instructions. 30-Minute Get Real Meals helps you satisfy cravings and maintain a healthy lifestyle with delicious, easy-to-make meals.

Handbook of Writing for Engineers by Joan Van Emden helps engineers, from students to senior managers, develop a clear and readable style for expressing technical knowledge. It includes worked examples of different types of communication, advising on word choice, structuring information, and presentation. The book covers material common to various technical disciplines, making it a valuable resource for improving written communication in engineering contexts.

The Oxford Handbook of Engineering and Technology in the Classical World by John Peter Oleson explores the technological framework of Greek and Roman cultures from 800 B.C. to A.D. 500. This comprehensive volume highlights the accomplishments of ancient societies and addresses remaining research challenges. Covering a wide range of topics, it provides insights into the engineering and technological advancements that shaped daily life in the Mediterranean world and Northern Europe. The book stimulates further progress in the history of ancient technology, making it an essential resource for scholars and enthusiasts alike.

Providing unique, accessible lessons on engineering, this title in the bestselling 101 Things I Learned series is a perfect resource for students, recent graduates, general readers, and even seasoned professionals. An experienced civil engineer presents the physics and fundamentals underlying the many fields of engineering. Far from a dry, nuts-and-bolts exposition, 101 Things I Learned in Engineering School uses real-world examples to show how the engineer's way of thinking can illuminate questions from the simple to the profound- Why shouldn't soldiers march across a bridge? Why do buildings want to float and cars want to fly? What is the difference between thinking systemically and thinking systematically? This informative resource will appeal to students, general readers, and even experienced engineers, who will discover within many provocative insights into familiar principles.

The Perfectionists: How Precision Engineers Created the Modern World by Simon Winchester explores the transformative role of precision engineering from the Industrial Age to the Digital Age. This engaging history traces the rise of precision tools, machines, and innovations that revolutionized manufacturing and technology—from eighteenth-century England's standards of measurement to today’s advanced breakthroughs like microchips and the Hadron Collider. Highlighting pioneers such as John Wilkinson and Joseph Whitworth, Winchester examines the societal impacts of precision while questioning its coexistence with artistry and tradition. Both a homage to technological progress and a cautionary tale, this book investigates how precision shapes modern life and future possibilities.

Civil Engineering by David Muir Wood explores the pivotal role of civil engineering in shaping modern life. From transportation systems to essential structures like buildings, bridges, and tunnels, Muir Wood highlights the social, environmental, and technological challenges engineers face. The book profiles notable figures such as Isambard Kingdom Brunel and Sir Joseph Bazalgette, showcasing their contributions to the field. It also addresses future hurdles, including managing water and energy supplies, and the profession's growing environmental awareness. This Very Short Introduction offers a concise yet comprehensive look at the history, achievements, and future of civil engineering.

Engineering in Plain Sight: An Illustrated Field Guide to the Constructed Environment by Grady Hillhouse offers accessible explanations of the constructed world around us. Created by the mind behind the popular YouTube channel Practical Engineering, the book is like 50 new episodes packed into one. It extends the field guide genre to human-made structures, making them approachable for non-engineers. With colorful illustrations, it transforms how readers view infrastructure, turning it into an engaging and joyful experience. Ideal for road trips, it covers the electrical grid, roadways, railways, bridges, tunnels, waterways, and more, inspiring curiosity and interest in the built environment.

The Unwritten Laws of Engineering By King, W. J. (Professor of Engineering): This 75th-anniversary edition of the 1944 classic offers timeless professional advice for engineers. Divided into three areas—essential lessons for beginners, principles for engineering executives, and personal considerations—it serves as a modernized "code" for professional effectiveness. Updated examples and revised content make it relevant for today's engineering challenges. A must-read for aspiring engineers or seasoned professionals seeking to enhance their skills and career growth, the book maintains its practical and accessible style.

Basic Engineering Mathematics by John Bird is an established textbook that simplifies mathematical theories with practical engineering examples. Now in its seventh edition, this book helps students succeed in exams by relating theory to practice. It covers a wide range of topics, making it ideal for introductory engineering courses. Supported by a companion website with essential formulae, multiple choice tests, and full solutions for over 1,600 questions, Basic Engineering Mathematics is a comprehensive resource for both students and lecturers.

Artificial Intelligence by Margaret A. Boden explores the pervasive applications of AI in various aspects of life, from homes and offices to art galleries and the Internet. Boden examines AI's impact on fields like biology, psychology, and linguistics, shedding new light on memory, learning, and language. She also delves into the philosophical challenges AI presents, questioning whether machines could ever truly be intelligent, creative, or conscious. This Very Short Introduction highlights how AI has deepened our understanding of human and animal minds.

In The Fire Service, J. A. Rhodes explores the rich history and traditions of the American Fire Service. The book answers common questions, such as why fire engines are red, the significance of the chief's five 'bugles,' and the meaning behind fire hydrants being called 'fire plugs.' Rhodes delves into the origins of iconic symbols like the Maltese Cross, fire helmets, and the Star of Life, while also providing a timeline of major fires and firefighter deaths. Written in short, accessible chapters, this book is an essential read for anyone interested in the fire service's roots and traditions.

Crucible of Fire: Nineteenth-Century Urban Fires and the Making of the Modern Fire Service by Bruce Hensler explores the evolution of the modern fire service through the lens of historic urban fires like the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. It examines how these disasters led to significant changes in building construction, city planning, water distribution, fire insurance, and firefighting techniques. Author Bruce Hensler, a veteran firefighter, highlights how the lessons learned from these fires shaped today's fire protection efforts and transformed volunteerism in firefighting. The book provides valuable insights for firefighters, civic leaders, and citizens on preventing and managing urban fires.

A Degree in a Book: Electrical and Mechanical Engineering by David Baker is a perfect introduction for students and laypeople alike, providing you with all the concepts you need to know to understand the fundamental issues. Filled with helpful diagrams, photographs, further reading, and easily digestible features on the development of electrical and mechanical engineering, this book makes getting to grips with the subject as easy as possible. It includes the development of machines and materials, forces and how they are manipulated, gearing, and principles of movement and reliability.

Machinery's Handbook: Toolbox is the ultimate reference for manufacturing and mechanical industries. This 32nd edition includes updated information on 3D printing, dimensioning, fasteners, and metalworking. It provides essential data for engineers, designers, drafters, metalworkers, toolmakers, machinists, educators, and students. With comprehensive coverage of critical topics, Machinery's Handbook remains an indispensable resource for professionals and hobbyists alike, offering practical guidance and technical details needed for a wide range of applications.

Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers by Ali M. Sadegh and William M. Worek provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. This 12th edition includes accurate data, calculations, and explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential reference for engineers, designers, drafters, metalworkers, toolmakers, machinists, educators, and students. Marks' Standard Handbook remains an indispensable resource for professionals and hobbyists alike, offering practical guidance and technical details needed for various applications.

Spare Parts by Joshua Davis is the inspiring true story of four undocumented Mexican American students who overcame tremendous odds to compete in the 2004 Marine Advanced Technology Education Robotics Competition at UC Santa Barbara. Despite attending an underfunded high school and having limited resources, the teenagers built an underwater robot from scavenged parts and triumphed over elite teams, including one from MIT. Their victory sparked a story that became central to the DREAMers movement, leading to college graduations, deportations, and service in Afghanistan. A finalist for the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize, this New York Times bestseller is a testament to perseverance and talent.

Written with first year undergraduate engineering students in mind, this textbook, now in its third edition, explains the fundamentals of mechanical engineering in the area of thermodynamics, mechanics, theory of machines, strength of materials and fluid dynamics. This revised edition includes a new chapter on "Fluid Dynamics". Key features: Presents an introduction to the basic mechanical engineering topics required by all engineering students. Includes a series of objective type question (true and false, fill in the blanks and multiple choice questions) with explanatory answers to help students in preparing for competitive examinations. Provides a large number of solved problems culled from the latest university and competitive examination papers to help in understanding theory.

Electrical Engineering - Step by Step Basics, Components & Circuits Explained for Beginners by Johannes Wild offers a simple and understandable introduction to electrical engineering and electronics. Written by an engineer (M.Eng.), it covers essential concepts such as current, voltage, charge, and power. It explains the difference between direct and alternating current, and how electric motors work. The book also delves into important electronic components like resistors, diodes, transistors, and capacitors. Ideal for beginners, it provides practical insights and mathematical equations to help readers analyze circuits and understand the principles of electrical engineering. Perfect for anyone looking to develop a basic understanding of the field.

A Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering: This extensively revised dictionary offers 5,000+ A-Z entries covering key concepts in electronics and electrical science, including circuits, power, systems, and signal processing. Enhanced by equations, 400 diagrams, and 16 appendices, it provides essential mathematical tables, symbols, constants, and technical reference tools. Applications like image processing and telecommunications are also covered. A companion website offers 50+ useful web links. This comprehensive and jargon-free resource is ideal for electronics and electrical engineering students, offering the latest quick-reference knowledge in the field.

Basic Electronics for Scientists and Engineers by Dennis L. Eggleston is an ideal textbook for a one-semester course in electronics. It covers general circuit laws, resistor circuits, passive circuits, semiconductor-based analog circuits, and basic digital circuits. The book balances thorough analysis with practical applications, making it suitable for self-study. With minimal mathematics and numerous exercises, it is accessible to students from various backgrounds. Basic Electronics for Scientists and Engineers is a valuable resource for understanding and applying electronic circuit techniques.

In The Staff Engineer's Path, Tanya Reilly explores an alternative career trajectory for engineers who prefer technical leadership without transitioning into management. She outlines how engineers can thrive in senior roles by focusing on three key pillars: strategic thinking, project success, and defining high standards for technical work. The book provides practical advice on leading without authority, making informed technical decisions, and improving the skills of those around you. Reilly emphasizes the importance of mastering time management, setting clear goals, and remaining a subject matter expert while driving organizational success.

Python in a Nutshell, 4th Edition by Alex Martelli, Anna Ravenscroft, and Steve Holden is a comprehensive guide to Python provides an in-depth overview of the language's core features and libraries, covering Python 3.11 and later versions. Ideal for experienced developers, it emphasizes Python's versatility for diverse programming needs, from web development to data analysis. The book includes practical examples, covering topics like concurrency, networking, and extensibility, making it a vital resource for mastering Python's ecosystem. Whether enhancing your skills or transitioning to Python, this reference book offers concise and actionable insights.

Recommended For: Developers and programmers seeking an authoritative reference for advanced Python programming.

The field of engineering which focuses on the development of spacecraft and aircraft is known as aerospace engineering. This field is closely related to the fields of aeronautical engineering and astronautical engineering. There are a number of areas which are studied under aerospace engineering such as radar cross-section, astrodynamics, avionics and aeroelasticity. Radar-cross-section measures the detectability of objects by radars. The practical problems regarding the motion of spacecraft are handled by astrodynamics through the use of ballistics and celestial mechanics. Avionics deals with the designing and programming of the computer systems in a spacecraft. Aeroelasticity studies the interaction between aerodynamic, elastic and inertial forces. It takes place when an elastic body is exposed to fluid flow. This book is a valuable compilation of topics, ranging from the basic to the most complex advancements in the field of aerospace engineering. It presents the complex subject of aerospace engineering in the most comprehensible and easy to understand language. This book will serve as a valuable source of reference for graduate and postgraduate students.

The LEGO® Engineer combines the fun of LEGO® building with the principles of engineering. Created by expert LEGO® builder Jeff Friesen, it explores how major engineering feats like skyscrapers, rockets, and bullet trains work. The book includes step-by-step instructions to build these structures with LEGO® bricks, making engineering concepts accessible and enjoyable. Readers will learn about diesel and electric engines, container ship design, and bridge construction, among other topics. Perfect for LEGO® enthusiasts and those interested in engineering, this guide offers a hands-on approach to understanding the built world.

Cook Yourself Thin is a #1 New York Times bestseller that offers a healthy, delicious way to lose weight without gimmicks. With 80 easy recipes, it teaches readers how to cut calories without compromising taste. This book provides skinny alternatives to favorite foods like chocolate cake and mac 'n' cheese, making it simple to cook healthy, low-fat meals that satisfy cravings. Cook Yourself Thin is not a fad diet but a practical guide to improving health and losing weight with fun, accessible recipes you'll want to make again and again.

Emeril's TV Dinners offers over 1,000 quick, easy, and delicious healthy recipes for the whole family, from appetizers and entrees to desserts and drinks. Most recipes use fewer than 10 ingredients and take less than 30 minutes to prepare. New chapters include weekday and holiday menus with schedules for do-ahead steps, making meal preparation easier and more efficient.

Emeril's Delmonico: A Restaurant with a Past by Emeril Lagasse explores the rich culinary history of Delmonico Restaurant and Bar in New Orleans. First opened in 1895 and revitalized by Lagasse in 1995, the restaurant combines Creole classics with innovative dishes. This book features over 130 recipes, including favorites like St. Paul's Seafood Gumbo and Shrimp Remoulade, alongside new creations. Illustrated with contemporary and vintage photographs, Emeril's Delmonico offers a lively portrait of New Orleans cuisine and Lagasse's culinary expertise.

Emeril's Kicked-Up Sandwiches: Stacked with Flavor by Emeril Lagasse offers over 100 simple, flavorful recipes for the ultimate sandwiches. From classic favorites like the Reuben to unique creations like Grilled Peanut Butter, Banana, and Honey, this book caters to every palate and skill level. Lagasse's dependable recipes ensure excellent results, making it easy to create delicious sandwiches for any meal. Emeril's Kicked-Up Sandwiches is a must-have for anyone looking to elevate their sandwich game with mouthwatering, accessible recipes.

Rachael Ray 2, 4, 6, 8: Great Meals for Couples or Crowds by Rachael Ray offers quick and easy recipes for any occasion. This book features over 1,000 healthy recipes, from appetizers to desserts, with most requiring fewer than 10 ingredients and taking less than 30 minutes to prepare. New chapters include weekday and holiday menus with schedules for do-ahead steps, making meal preparation simpler and more efficient. Ray's approach ensures that cooking remains fun and stress-free, whether you're cooking for two or a crowd.

Liquid Raw by Lisa Montgomery offers over 125 recipes for juices, smoothies, soups, and other raw beverages. Part of The Complete Book of Raw Food Series, this book provides a variety of delicious and healthy raw food recipes that are easy to prepare. It includes a guide to the health benefits of a raw diet, tips for finding the perfect juicer and blender, and an introduction to juicing. Liquid Raw is perfect for both beginners and experienced raw food enthusiasts looking to add new and exciting recipes to their diet.

Aerial Warfare by Frank Ledwidge offers a concise yet comprehensive overview of the history and evolution of aerial warfare. In this Very Short Introduction, Ledwidge explores key battles, crises, and controversies where air power has been pivotal, from the First and Second World Wars to lesser-known theatres in Africa, South America, and Asia. The book delves into technological advancements and the changing roles of air forces, while raising critical questions about the effectiveness of bombing, the possibility of winning wars from the air, and the future of manned versus unmanned air power.