Research Guides: ENG 111-Parker--Assignment 3: Books and eBooks

Use the library catalog to search for books on your subject, or place holds on the books listed below:

Wake Tech Library Catalog (opens in new window)

Search for books at ALL Wake Tech library locations. You can also request books from community colleges across the state.

Social Issues in America: an Encyclopedia by James Ciment
ISBN: 9780765680617
Publication Date: 2006
Entries cover the full range of hotly contested social issues - including economic, scientific, environmental, criminal, legal, security, health, and media topics.
Environmental Crime and Social Conflict by Avi Brisman (Editor); Nigel South (Editor); Rob White (Editor)
ISBN: 9781472422200
Publication Date: 2015
This impressive collection of original essays explores the relationship between social conflict and the environment - a topic that has received little attention within criminology.
African American Women's Health and Social Issues by Catherine Fisher Collins (Editor)
ISBN: 9780275980825
Publication Date: 2006
Written by a team of experts that includes doctors, nurses, social workers, psychologists, and chemists, this handbook focuses on the diseases that pose the greatest threat to African American women today. Topics include African American women and heart disease, sickle cell, breast cancer, diabetes, HIV and AIDS, as well as mental illness.
In the Midst of Plenty by Marybeth Shinn; Jill Khadduri
ISBN: 9781405181259
Publication Date: 2020
Foreword by Nan Roman, President and CEO of the National Alliance to End Homelessness This book explains how to end the U.S. homelessness crisis by bringing together the best scholarship on the subject and sharing solutions that both local communities and national policy-makers can apply now.
Food Insecurity by Louise I. Gerdes (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737755701
Publication Date: 2012
Readers explore topics related to concerns about food and its availability around the globe. A variety of essays and articles are presented, each of which adopts a differing viewpoint.
Gun Violence by Ronald D. Lankford (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737747973
Publication Date: 2009
Accounts include perspectives on the impact of gun violence on society, the political debate about gun ownership, and second amendment rights.
Cell Phones and Driving by Stefan Kiesbye (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737751451
Publication Date: 2010
In this timely anthology readers are presented with a collection of diversified voices on the topic of cell phones and driving. Essays from USA Today, CNN, and the University of Utah, among other individual perspectives, offer a comprehensive look at issues such as inattention blindness, cell phones as a safety precaution, the benefits and drawbacks of hands-free devices, and cell phone use within the trucking industry.

Wake Tech students have access to thousands of eBooks. Try these databases or the titles below:

Ebook Central (opens in new window)
- Over 35,000 eBooks available to read and download.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (opens in new window)
- This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the eBook

Social Injustice and Public Health by Barry S. Levy (Editor); Victor W. Sidel (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199939220
Publication Date: 2013
This second edition of Social Injustice and Public Health is a comprehensive, up-to-date, evidence-based resource on the relationship of social injustice to many aspects of public health.
Social Theory by John Scott
ISBN: 9781848605503
Publication Date: 2006
This is a comprehensive, critical review of social theory that places leading contributions in their larger context. Written predominantly for students, the scope and range of the subjects and authors dealt with results in one of the most comprehensive introductions to social theory published to date.
More Than a Glitch by Meredith Broussard
ISBN: 9780262373067
Publication Date: 2023
When technology reinforces inequality, it's not just a glitch--it's a signal that we need to redesign our systems to create a more equitable world. The word "glitch" implies an incidental error, as easy to patch up as it is to identify. But what if racism, sexism, and ableism aren't just bugs in mostly functional machinery--what if they're coded into the system itself?
Conflicted Care by Hyeyoung Oh Nelson
ISBN: 9781503611474
Publication Date: 2022
Drawing on a deep ethnography of physicians in the Internal Medicine Service unit, Nelson offers a sharp assessment of current policies aimed at alleviating medical costs and explains why they are ineffective. She concludes by offering novel policy and practice recommendations for health care practitioners, policy makers, and healthcare institutions.
A Closer Look at Homelessness in the United States by Connor Congreve (Editor)
ISBN: 9781536181210
Publication Date: 2020
Over half a million people go homeless every night in the United States. Homelessness almost always involves people facing desperate situations and extreme hardship.
The Social Issue in Contemporary Society by Agata Stachowicz-Stanusch; Lorenzo Mercurio
ISBN: 9781641135580
Publication Date: 2019
It is widely observed that societies are changing, and new social issues are raising. The relationship between actors in the global environment and in the local as well, is changing because of financial crisis, new technological revolution, climate change, richness reallocation and concentration.