ENG 111-Parker--Assignment 3

Project 3: Rogerian Argument

As a genre of writing and communication, argumentation requires us to take a position on a debatable issue and offer contributions to the ongoing conversations surrounding that debatable issue. There are several different styles of argumentation, but each one generally asks the individuals making the argument to stake out: 1) their position, 2) the evidence that supports their position, and 3) their response(s) to the opposing position.

For this course, we will focus specifically on the Rogerian Argument. Rogerian arguments are a form of argumentative reasoning that seeks to establish a middle ground between opposing viewpoints. Such arguments ask writers to understand the opposing side and contexts in which the opposing side is correct, to offer their position and the contexts in which their position is correct, and to ultimately establish a middle ground that compromises on the two positions. Because of its emphasis on compromise, the Rogerian argument does have its disadvantages; however, we will use this form in our course because it still helps to develop skills related to dialectics, understanding the complexities of multiple, conflicting viewpoints, and conflict resolution.

For Project 3: Rogerian Argument 

You will select and research a topic from the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database available via the Wake Tech Library Databases. You will then write a Rogerian argument style essay on the selected topic that completes the following:

1. Synthesizes your research.
2. Faithfully represents the arguments from each perspective.
3. Offers a reasonable compromise that can help to resolve the conflict between the perspectives.

There are four primary goals for this essay:

1. Find and identify a topic using the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database.
   • The topic you select is completely up to you.
   • However, be sure to select a topic that you can and are willing to discuss with the end goal of compromise.
     • For example, if you are a staunch Vegan/Vegetarian and do not believe that there are reasonable justifications for diets that include meat, then please pass on writing about such a subject.
   • Please pick a topic that you believe you will be open to reading about and understanding all sides of the issue.
2. Conduct research through the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database to find sources from each perspective concerning your topic.
   • You are required to integrate 3-4 sources for this project.
3. Read and synthesize the findings from your sources to determine the following:
   • Your position and the contexts in which your position is correct,
   • The opposing position and the contexts in which the opposing position is correct, and
   •  A potential area of compromise among the positions.
4. Write a Rogerian argument essay that organizes your findings based on generic conventions.
   •  Please read this Guide from the Purdue Online Writing Lab for a clear structure on the Rogerian Argumentative Form (opens in a new tab)

Course Outcomes

Project 3 will ask you to apply the following course outcomes:

1. Identify an appropriate topic about which to write or devise an appropriate approach to an assigned topic.
2. Demonstrate writing as a recursive process.
3. Demonstrate writing and inquiry in context using different rhetorical strategies to reflect, analyze, explain, and persuade in a variety of genres and formats.
4. Students will reflect upon and explain their writing strategies.
5. Compose texts incorporating rhetorically effective and conventional use of language: clear expression, coherent ideas, purposeful word choice, complete development, and logical organization.
6. Compose standard academic essays that develop approved topics, include substantive thesis statements, and consist of introductory, body, and concluding paragraphs.
7. Use standard written English that includes a minimum of spelling errors, sentence fragments, comma splices, fused sentences, and agreement errors. 
8. Locate, evaluate, and incorporate relevant sources with proper documentation and using the standards prescribed by MLA.
9. Demonstrate the critical use and examination of printed, digital, and visual materials
10. Collaborate actively in a writing community.

Audience

Your audience for this essay will consist of your peers and a general, academic audience (opens in a new window). As a genre, Argumentative Essays—including the Rogerian argument—ask writers to read a collection of sources so that they can come to an informed conclusion on which position they agree with, synthesize the ideas and arguments from those sources, and present these ideas to readers in an organized and coherent manner.

In short, the goal of Project 3 is to learn more about a topic you are interested in, to understand the different perspectives present, and to write in a way that appropriately responds to these perspectives while also staking out a compromise among your position and the opposition.

When writing your essay, you should assume that your peers will have some understanding of the topic, but you also want to remember that you are looking at specific conversations taking place concerning a specific issue. Therefore, you'll want to write in a way that will clearly explain pertinent information and examples to your audience.

Assignment Guidelines

The minimum requirements for this assignment are as follows:

1. 1,500 words minimum.
2. MLA Formatted [click here for guidelines and a sample page] (opens in a new tab).
3. Submit as a Word Document (.doc or .docx file) via the "Attach File" option in Blackboard.
4. Name your file: First Name Last Name-Project Three-FINAL | Example: RichardParkerProjectThree-FINAL
5. MLA Documentation Style for In-Text Citations and Works Cited Page (opens in a new tab).
6. At least 3-4 sources from library database research.
   • Please note that the research sources you use for Project 3 MUST come from a library database.

Essay Requirements

Your assignment is to write a Rogerian argument essay that clarifies the opposing side and contexts in which the opposing side is correct, your position and the contexts in which your position is correct, and an ultimate middle ground that compromises on the two positions. To do this, you must include:

1.  An introduction that addresses the topic to be discussed and includes a thesis that highlights what solution would work best for all involved perspectives.
2.  A strong, developed consideration of the opposing position.
   1.  You should demonstrate a clear understanding of the opposition’s viewpoints/goals/ideas in this section (use research as support here!).
3. A consideration of the context for the opposing position that demonstrates the situations in which such a viewpoint is valid.
4. A strong, developed consideration of your position.
   1.  You should demonstrate a clear understanding of your position’s viewpoints/goals/ideas in this section (use research as support here!).
5.  A consideration of the context for your position that demonstrates the situations in which such a viewpoint is valid.
6. A “benefits” paragraph (or two) that appeals to all potential readers by finding a productive middle ground that offers a reasonable compromise between the two positions.
7.  A conclusion that readdresses your thesis considering the evidence and explanations provided throughout your essay.

You should use the Rogerian argument form to effectively complete Project Three. We'll spend time in class discussing argument-based writing and the Rogerian argument form, and there are also plenty of excellent guides on the subject. For example, see Purdue University's Guide to Rogerian Arguments (opens in a new window). However, as a brief reminder, please note that the general approach for an academic essay will include:

• A clear, concise, and defined thesis statement at the end of your introduction paragraph.
• Clear and logical transitions between the essay sections.
• Body paragraphs with supporting evidence.
• Evidential support / Source integrations (factual, logical, statistical, anecdotal, etc.) via direct quotes.
• A bit of creativity!
• A conclusion that readdresses your thesis considering the evidence and explanations provided throughout your essay.

Policies

Your essay will be due Friday, December 1st by 11:59pm. Please note that you will be granted a 24-hour window to submit this essay late with no penalty.

Papers may also be submitted up to three days (72 hours) after this 24-hour window, but the assignment will be considered late for the purposes of the grade contract. After the three day (72 hour) late submission window, the assignment will be locked, and no further submissions will be accepted.

Grading Guidelines

The full requirements for this assignment can be reviewed in the Project Three rubric. Please note that the following areas are what will be assessed:

1. Introduction and Conclusion
2. Thesis
3. Content and Development
4. Organization
5. Source Integration
6. Conventions