Research Guides: Western Campus Library Services: ESL and ABE

Your Library Staff

Your Library Staff

Katy Hoffler

Campus Librarian
919-335-1401

Jackie Kilberg
Library Technical Assistant
919-866-5721

Ask A Librarian

Wake County Public Library Libby App

eBooks & Audiobooks through Wake County Public Libraries
Do you want to access ebooks and audiobooks through your computer or other device? The Wake County Public Library uses LIBBY to provide these services to Wake County residents. This video introduces you to Libby and explains how to download the app to different devices.
more...less...
Many of the popular Who is/Who was books are available as ebooks and/or audiobooks on Libby!
Libby
Libby is a free app where you can enjoy ebooks, digital audiobooks, and magazines from your public library.

Collection Highlights

Ukrainian - English Bilingual Visual Dictionary (Dictionaries' Collection) by DK
Call Number: PG 3891 .U37 2024
ISBN: 9780593844106
Publication Date: 2024-12-10
English the American Way: a Fun Guide to English Language (Language Resources Collection) by Sheila Murtha; Jane O'Connor
Call Number: PE 1128 .M778 2019
ISBN: 9780738612362
Publication Date: 2018-09-24
At the River and Other Stories for Adult Emergent Readers (ESL Level 1) by Shelley Hale Lee
Call Number: PE 1128 .L44 2016
ISBN: 9781938757242
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Oxford Picture Dictionary Reading Library: a New World at the Library (ESL Level 2) by M. J. Cosson; Jayme Adelson-Goldstein
Call Number: PE 1127 .C5 C67 2009
ISBN: 9780194740302
Publication Date: 2008-09-15
DK Super Readers Level 3 How Do We Communicate? (ESL Level 3) by DK
Call Number: P 91.2 .R66 2023
ISBN: 9780744073232
Publication Date: 2023-06-06
Who Was George Washington? (ESL Level 4) by Who HQ; True Kelley (Illustrator); Roberta Edwards
Call Number: E 312.66 .E39 2009
ISBN: 9780448448923
Publication Date: 2009-01-08
Wonders of the World (ESL Level 5) by DK
Call Number: N 5333 .J33 2022
ISBN: 9780744062571
Publication Date: 2022-12-13
America Redux: Visual Stories from Our Dynamic History (ESL Level 6) by Ariel Aberg-Riger (Illustrator)
Call Number: E 178.3 .A156 2023
ISBN: 9780063057531
Publication Date: 2023-05-02
Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson; Donna Diamond (Illustrator) (ABE Collection)
Call Number: PZ 7 .P273 BR 2017
ISBN: 9780690013597
Publication Date: 2017-05-02

ESL and ABE Collection

ESL Collection - Level 1 - Level 6.
(opens in new window)

ABE Collection (opens in new window)

Dictionaries (opens in new window)

Learning Resources (opens in new window)

Tutoring for ESL and ABE Students

Tutoring for ESL and ABE students at the Western Wake Campus will resume in August 2025 at the beginning of the fall term. During the summer term, the TLC Online Writing Center is providing ESL/ABE Speaking Practice starting May 19th.

An ESL/ABE student needs to select the ESL/ABE Speaking Practice 50 minutes option (see picture) to set up an one-on-one appointment with a tutor.

Databases

LearningExpress Library/PrepSTEP (opens in new window)
Suite of highly-acclaimed eLearning solutions which provide interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books, flashcards and articles for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, career development and more.
Transparent Language Online (opens in new window)
Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner. Transparent Language Online combines robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps for a complete language-learning experience.

Western Campus Library Services: ESL and ABE