Research Guides: History 132-Harris: Tertiary Sources

Use the library catalog to search for books on your subject, or place holds on the books listed below:

Wake Tech Library Catalog (opens in new window)

Search for books at ALL Wake Tech library locations. You can also request books from community colleges across the state.

Encyclopedia of American Indian History [4 Volumes] by Bruce E. Johansen (Editor); Barry M. Pritzker (Editor)
ISBN: 9781851098170
Publication Date: 2007 to present
This new four-volume encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource available on the history of Native Americans, providing a lively, authoritative survey ranging from human origins to present-day controversies. From the origins of Native American cultures through the years of colonialism and non-Native expansion to the present, Encyclopedia of American Indian History brings the story of Native Americans to life like no other previous reference on the subject.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Civil War by William L. Barney
ISBN: 9780199782017
Publication Date: 2011
A gold mine for the historian as well as the Civil War buff, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Civil War offers a concise, comprehensive overview of the major personalities and pivotal events of the war that redefined the American nation.
Shaping of America by Richard Clay Hanes; Sharon M. Hanes; Kelly Rudd; Lawrence W. Baker
ISBN: 9781414401812
Publication Date: 2005 to present
At the successful conclusion of the Revolutionary War, America could look back with pride on the accomplishments of the preceding three decades and look forward with excitement and trepidation to the challenges of shaping its new government.
American Indians and the Law by N. Bruce Duthu; Colin G. Calloway (Editor)
ISBN: 9780670018574
Publication Date: 2008
The history and politics of American Indians unique constitutional status from a renowned scholar Few Americans know that Indian tribes have a legal status unique among America's distinct racial and ethnic groups: They are also sovereign governments that engage in governmental relations with Congress.
The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas by Bruce G. Trigger (Editor); Wilcomb E. Washburn (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521573924
Publication Date: 1996 to present
This book provides the first comprehensive history of the Native Peoples of North America from their arrival in the western hemisphere to the present. It describes how Native Peoples have dealt with the environmental diversity of North America and have responded to the different European colonial regimes and national governments.

Tertiary sources consist of information which is a distillation and collection of primary and secondary sources.

Almanacs;
Bibliographies (also considered secondary);
Chronologies;
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (also considered secondary);
Directories;
Fact books;
Guidebooks;
Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources;
Manuals;
Textbooks (may also be secondary).