Research Guides: History 132-Harris: Secondary Sources

Secondary sources are often found in databases. Check out the links on the right to gain access to Wake Tech's databases.

If you are at home, you'll have to input your user name and password to use the databases. The user name and password is the same as your Blackboard account!

The following video explains boolean searching, or how to use the common operators "AND," "OR" and "NOT" to limit your searches within library databases.

Cushion, K. (2011, July 7). Boolean Searching Basics. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

If you can't access the video, copy and paste this link into your browser: http://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

Transcript for Boolean Searching Basics (Word document)

The following is a list of databases that will be helpful when locating secondary sources. Remember, databases like Boolean search logic. To get the best results, brush up on your Boolean search basics in the video on this page and apply what you learn to your search.

Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.
JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
NC LIVE (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
NC LIVE is a consortium of North Carolina libraries, providing digital content and services to public and academic libraries statewide. NC LIVE covers a wide variety of topics including, but not limited to, history, health, literature, nursing, science and technology.