Links to Primary Sources
Use the links on the right to find online, North Carolina centered, primary sources.
North Carolina Specific Primary Sources
Appalachian State University Digital Collections (opens in a new window)
"Appalachian State University Digital Collections consists of rare and historic materials and are made available online through the efforts of the Belk Library and Information Commons and the departments of Special Collections, Technology Services, and Bibliographic Services. The materials digitized include sound recordings, oral histories, civil war letters, and images focusing on the Appalachian region, Appalachian State University, children’s literature, art, and theater."
Behind the Veil at Duke University Library (opens in a new window)
This collection is a selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
Civil Rights Greensboro (opens in a new window)
Civil Rights Greensboro provides access to archival resources documenting the modern civil rights era in Greensboro, North Carolina, from the 1940s to the early 1980s. During this formative period, Greensboro was an epicenter of activity, continuing a tradition that traces its roots back to the 19th century when members of the area's large Quaker population provided stops on the Underground Railroad.
Digital NC (opens in a new window)
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online. Collections include newspapers across the state, photographs, city directories, yearbooks and more.
Documenting the American South (opens in new window)
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
East Carolina University's Digital Collections (opens in a new window)
Thousands of images, texts, and audio/video from ECU's diverse collections and beyond. Highlights include the African American History Collection, the Country Doctor Museum Collection and the North Carolina History and Fiction Collection.
J. Murrey Atkins Library Special Digital Collections at UNC Charlotte (opens in a new window)
The Special Digital Collections at UNC Charlotte. Notable collections include the New South Voices-- more than 700 transcripts of interviews, narratives, and conversations documenting life in the Charlotte, North Carolina region in the twentieth century, including the experiences and language of recent immigrants to the area. As well as The Bryant McMurray motorsports photographs collection contains images of motorsports races, personalities, and events shot between 1969 and 2016.
NC ECHO (opens in new window)
This database provides digital collections materials covering cultural heritage institutions in North Carolina. These include historic photos, documents, books, family histories, maps, etc. Notably, users can search by a specific North Carolina county.
North Carolina Digital Collections from the State Archives and State Library of NC (opens in a new window)
The North Carolina Digital Collections contain over 90,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina. The Collections are free and full-text searchable, and bring together content from the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
Western Carolina University Digital Archives (opens in a new window)
The Hunter Library at Western Carolina University has a regionally oriented, historically significant collections of broad cultural and research interest. Examples of the collections include Cherokee traditions, the Civil War collection and the Great Smoky Mountains Collection.
Women Veterans Historical Project (opens in new window)
This project from UNCG's Archives documents the contributions of women in the military and related service organizations since World War I. The WVHP includes a wide range of source material including photographs, letters, diaries, scrapbooks, oral histories, military patches and insignia, uniforms, and posters, as well as published works.