Research Guides: Psychology Research Guide: Books and eBooks

Use the library catalog to search for books on your subject, or place holds on the books listed below:

Wake Tech Library Catalog (opens in new window)

Search for books at ALL Wake Tech library locations. You can also request books from community colleges across the state.

Psychology for Dummies by Adam Cash
ISBN: 9781119700296
Publication Date: 2020
In a friendly, jargon-free style, clinical psychologist and teacher Adam Cash uses practical examples to delve deep into the maze of the human mind: from the basic hardware, software, and "wetware" of our brains to the mysteries of consciousness and the murkier reaches of abnormal behavior.
Psychology, Fifth Edition by Joni E. Johnston
ISBN: 9781615645039
Publication Date: 2014
From behaviorism to social psychology to cognitive psychology, readers will learn what makes all of us tick and why we are who we are.
A Degree in a Book: Psychology by Alan Porter
ISBN: 9781788883368
Publication Date: 2019
The Degree in a Book series condenses the essentials of a university course into an easily digestible introduction to the subject. Filled with information boxes, feature spreads, suggestions for further reading and helpful diagrams, it is an excellent way to learn.
Student Handbook to Psychology by Lynn M. Shelley; Bernard C. Beins
ISBN: 9780816082827
Publication Date: 2012
People undergo vast changes in a lifespan. Developmental Psychology shows how we change as we gradually move from infancy into childhood and, ultimately, through adulthood and old age.
Student Handbook to Psychology by Jeffrey D. Holmes; Sheila K. Singh; Bernard C. Beins
ISBN: 9780816082834
Publication Date: 2012
Social Psychology illustrates how psychologists have produced a startling array of knowledge about how people act and react in social situations. Social behaviours are affected by thought and emotion, by our cultural heritage, by the groups with which we affiliate, and by our expectations of what is likely to happen when we deal with others.

Wake Tech students have access to thousands of eBooks. Try these databases or the titles below:

Ebook Central (opens in new window)
- Over 35,000 eBooks available to read and download.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (opens in new window)
- This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the eBook

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by Jacqueline Longe (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028683867
Publication Date: 2021
"Provides a survey of topics covering the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information"--
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by David Matsumoto (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521854702
Publication Date: 2009
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus.
Psychology by BarCharts, Inc.
ISBN: 9781423219620
Publication Date: 2012
Best-selling essentials of psychology written and developed to support students in their first college psych course and beyond. In 6 laminated pages this succinct coverage is filled with the answers you need right now for studying and testing, also offering a big picture overview of the subject as a whole.
Handbook of Gender Research in Psychology by Joan C. Chrisler (Editor); Donald R. McCreary (Editor)
ISBN: 9781441914644
Publication Date: 2012
The Development of Gender Studies in Psychology Studies of sex differences are as old as the field of psychology, and they have been conducted in every subset of the discipline. Social psychological studies of person perception show that sex is especially salient in social groups. It is the first thing people notice about others, and it is one of the things we remember best.