Articles of Interest
Differential Association of HIV Funding With HIV Mortality by Race/Ethnicity, United States, 1999-2017
Federal funds have been spent to reduce the disproportionate effects of HIV/AIDS on racial/ethnic minority groups in the United States. We investigated the association between federal domestic HIV funding and age-adjusted HIV death rates by race/ethnicity in the United States during 1999-2017.
A history of US engagement in the HIV/AIDS response
Since PEPFAR's launch in 2003, the US Government has invested more than US$85 billion in the global response to HIV/AIDS. In late September, 2021, US President Joe Biden tapped John Nkengasong to lead the US President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR). If approved for the role as Ambassador-at-Large and Coordinator of US Government Activities to Combat HIV/AIDS Globally, Nkengasong will inherit a programme at a point of inflection.
Intersectional Identities and HIV: Race and Ethnicity Drive Patterns of Sexual Mixing
Large disparities exist in HIV across racial and ethnic populations—with Black and Latino populations disproportionately
afected. This study utilizes a large cohort of young men who have sex with men (YMSM) to examine how race and ethnicity drive sexual partner selection, and how those with intersecting identities (Latinos who identify as White or Black) difer
from Latinos without a specifc racial identifcation (Latinos who identify as “Other”). Data come from YMSM (N=895)
who reported on sexual partners (N=3244).
Monitoring Intersectional Stigma: A Key Strategy to Ending the HIV Epidemic in the United States
Barriers to HIV prevention and treatment in the United States persist. Although the Endingthe HIV Epidemic (EHE) initiative holds promise, the success of the program may be stymied by inadequate frameworks and tools for monitoring intersectional stigma.
World AIDS Day 2022: A bittersweet commemoration of the global HIV/AIDS response
World AIDS Day has been taking place on the 1st of December every year since 1988. On this day, we remember the people we have lost, reflect on how far we have come and rally together to strengthen our HIV/AIDS response.
Films and Videos
HIV: Kill or Cure, Series 3
On World AIDS Day 2003, WHO and UNAIDS released a detailed and concrete plan to reach the 3 by 5 target of providing antiretroviral treatment to three million people living with AIDS in developing countries and those in transition by the end of 2005. It was a vital step toward the ultimate goal of providing universal access to AIDS treatment to all those who need it. This program travels to Zambia and Papua New Guinea to explore the anti-HIV fight in those countries, where poverty and lack of education amplify the crisis. Zambia-born Agetha Lloyd, an HIV therapist, describes her WHO-backed campaign to distribute antiretrovirals into remote and hard-hit areas of Papua New Guinea.
HIV.gov FYI - World AIDS Day 2023 with ONAP's Harold Phillips
In this edition of HIV.gov FYI, we spoke with Harold Phillips, the director of the White House Office of National AIDS Policy (ONAP), about #WorldAIDSDay. The 2023 theme is World AIDS Day 35: Remember and Commit. Harold reflected on key milestones in the efforts to end the HIV epidemic and the friends he lost and inspired him. He also talked about US efforts to end the HIV epidemic such as expanding PrEP and fighting HIV stigma. On World AIDS Day we encourage you to know your HIV status by getting a test. You can find HIV testing locations and self-testing services at https://locator.hiv.gov.
Get your skates on… it’s almost World AIDS Day!
We’re overjoyed to present our incredible World AIDS Day 2023 animation. Full of different ways that you too can #RockTheRibbon to support people living with HIV, the animation is a spirited celebration of community.
You can get involved by ordering red ribbons today to give to friends, family and colleagues in exchange for donations to National AIDS Trust. To get yours, and for other ways to get involved, visit worldaidsday.org.
Winnie Byanyima: "Communities light the way"
UNAIDS Executive Director World AIDS Day message.
"Communities are not in the way, they light the way," she said.
Ending HIV in America
Almost 40 years after the discovery of HIV, could we be on the verge of ending the AIDS epidemic in America? How did scientists and the public health community tackle one of the most elusive deadly viruses to ever infect humans? Can innovative drugs bring new infections to zero? This is the story of scientific achievement and public health work that still needs to be done to end HIV in America. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
AIDS Memorial Quilt
This is the story of a community art project that changed the world’s perception of HIV and AIDs.
HIV Pioneers by
A moving collection of firsthand accounts of the HIV epidemic. Tremendous strides have been made in the prevention and treatment of HIV since the disease first appeared in the 1980s. But because many of the people who studied and battled the virus in those early days are now gone, firsthand accounts are at risk of being lost. In HIV Pioneers, Wendee M. Wechsberg collects 29 "first stories" from the outset of the AIDS epidemic. These moving personal narratives and critical historical essays not only shed light on the experiences of global health pioneers, prominent scientists, and HIV survivors, but also preserve valuable lessons for managing the risk and impact of future epidemics. With unprecedented access to many key actors in the fight against AIDS and HIV, Wechsberg brings to life the harrowing reality of those early days of the epidemic. The book captures the experiences of those still working diligently and innovatively in the field, elevating the voices of doctors, scientists, and government bureaucrats alongside those of survivors and their loved ones. Focusing on the impact that the epidemic had on careers, pieces also show how governments responded to HIV, how research agendas were developed, and how AIDS service agencies and case management evolved. Illuminating the multiple facets of the HIV epidemic, both in the United States and across the globe, HIV Pioneers is a touching and inspirational look into the ongoing fight against HIV. Contributors: Quarraisha Abdool Karim, Salim S. Abdool Karim, Lynda Arnold, Anne Jeanene Bengoa, Robert E. Booth, Barry S. Brown, Thomas Coates, Francine Cournos, James W. Curran, Don C. Des Jarlais, Jeffrey D. Fisher, William A. Fisher, Samuel R. Friedman, Robert C. Gallo, Mary Guinan, Gibbie Harris, Warren W. Hewitt Jr., Susan M. Kegeles, Rayford Kytle, Bishop Stacey S. Latimer, Robert Love, Duane C. McBride, Clyde B. McCoy, Carmen Morris, Willo Pequegnat, Mary Jane Rotheram-Borus, Jeffrey Samet, David Serwadda, Lorraine Sherr, James L. Sorensen, Jack B. Stein, Charles van der Horst, Wendee M. Wechsberg, Wayne Wiebel, William A. Zule
Call Number: RC 606.54 .H58 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-02
Taking Turns by
In 1994, at the height of the AIDS epidemic in the United States, MK Czerwiec took her first nursing job, at Illinois Masonic Medical Center in Chicago, as part of the caregiving staff of HIV/AIDS Care Unit 371. Taking Turns pulls back the curtain on life in the ward. A shining example of excellence in the treatment and care of patients, Unit 371 was a community for thousands of patients and families affected by HIV and AIDS and the people who cared for them. This graphic novel combines Czerwiec's memories with the oral histories of patients, family members, and staff. It depicts life and death in the ward, the ways the unit affected and informed those who passed through it, and how many look back on their time there today. Czerwiec joined Unit 371 at a pivotal time in the history of AIDS: deaths from the syndrome in the Midwest peaked in 1995 and then dropped drastically in the following years, with the release of antiretroviral protease inhibitors. This positive turn of events led to a decline in patient populations and, ultimately, to the closure of Unit 371. Czerwiec's restrained, inviting drawing style and carefully considered narrative examine individual, institutional, and community responses to the AIDS epidemic--as well as the role that art can play in the grieving process. Deeply personal yet made up of many voices, this history of daily life in a unique AIDS care unit is an open, honest look at suffering, grief, and hope among a community of medical professionals and patients at the heart of the epidemic.
Call Number: RC 606.6 .C97 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-15
Living with HIV by
In its updated and expanded second edition, this helpful guide offers a wealth of information for people living with HIV and for people caring for HIV-positive loved ones. All aspects of HIV/AIDS are discussed, including opportunistic and associated infections, dental care, exercise and nutrition, substance use and abuse and emotional treatment. New information will help the newly diagnosed adjust to their illness and long-term survivors to improve their quality of life. Up-to-date discussion of the latest medications covers the growing practice of using HIV drugs as preventatives. Essential Internet resources are provided that help patients live a longer, healthier life.
Call Number: RA 643.8 .C53 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Don't Call Us Dead by
Finalist for the National Book Award for Poetry Winner of the Forward Prize for Best Collection "[Smith's] poems are enriched to the point of volatility, but they pay out, often, in sudden joy."--The New Yorker Award-winning poet Danez Smith is a groundbreaking force, celebrated for deft lyrics, urgent subjects, and performative power.Don't Call Us Dead opens with a heartrending sequence that imagines an afterlife for black men shot by police, a place where suspicion, violence, and grief are forgotten and replaced with the safety, love, and longevity they deserved here on earth. Smith turns then to desire, mortality--the dangers experienced in skin and body and blood--and a diagnosis of HIV positive. "Some of us are killed / in pieces," Smith writes, "some of us all at once."Don't Call Us Dead is an astonishing and ambitious collection, one that confronts, praises, and rebukes America--"Dear White America"--where every day is too often a funeral and not often enough a miracle.
Call Number: PS 3619 .M5748 A6 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Viral Cultures : Activist Archiving in the Age of AIDS by
Delves deep into the archives that keep the history and work of AIDS activism alive Serving as a vital supplement to the existing scholarship on AIDS activism of the 1980s and 1990s, ViralCultures is the first book to critically examine the archives that have helped preserve and create the legacy of those radical activities. Marika Cifor charts the efforts activists, archivists, and curators have made to document the work of AIDS activism in the United States and the infrastructure developed to maintain it, safeguarding the material for future generations to remember these social movements and to revitalize the epidemic's past in order to remake the present and future of AIDS. Drawing on large institutional archives such as the New York Public Library, as well as those developed by small, community-based organizations, this work of archival ethnography details how contemporary activists, artists, and curators use these records to build on the cultural legacy of AIDS activism to challenge the conditions of injustice that continue to undergird current AIDS crises. Cifor analyzes the various power structures through which these archives are mediated, demonstrating how ideology shapes the nature of archival material and how it is accessed and used. Positioning vital nostalgia as both a critical faculty and a generative practice, this book explores the act of saving this activist past and reanimating it in the digital age. While many books, popular films, and major exhibitions have contributed to a necessary awareness of HIV and AIDS activism, Viral Cultures provides a crucial missing link by highlighting the powerful role of archives in making those cultural moments possible.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2022-06-07
When Dogs Heal by
The best medicine may not always be found at a pharmacy or in a doctor's office. Sometimes it comes in the form of a four-legged friend. Three well-known leaders in their fields--award-winning dog photographer Jesse Freidin, adolescent HIV+ specialist Dr. Robert Garofalo, and LGBTQ advocate and journalist Zach Stafford--offer a refreshing, beautiful, and unique portrait of HIV infused with a deep message of hope. Each extraordinary profile shows the power of the incredible bonds between humans and their canine companions, whether that means combating loneliness and stigma, discovering the importance of unconditional love, overcoming addiction, or simply having a best friend in a time of need. When Dogs Heal shares the stories of a diverse set of people who are thriving and celebrating life thanks to the compassion and unconditional love of their dogs. A portion of the proceeds from this book benefits Fred Says, an organization dedicated to financially supporting HIV+ teen health care.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2021-03-02
New Insights into HIV/AIDS for Students and Healthcare Professionals by
Since the first case of HIV was diagnosed in 1981, several efforts have gone into its prevention and control. However, it remains a leading scourge today, with no cure despite the international attention and publicity it receives. It is one of the few diseases specifically given attention in the Millennium Development Goals (MDG) and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). There has been inadequate effort by academia in developing countries towards contributing to in-depth knowledge of HIV, as well as stimulating the interest of students in the topic. As the search for a cure continues, this book is timely, discussing the changing epidemiology of HIV. The contributors are not only academicians, but also seasoned programmers who are working in the realm of HIV care.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2019
Positive Images by
A tidal wave of panic surrounded homosexuality and AIDS in the 1980s and early 1990s, the period commonly called 'The AIDS Crisis'. With the advent of antiretroviral drugs in the mid '90s, however, the meaning of an HIV diagnosis radically changed. These game-changing drugs now enable many people living with HIV to lead a healthy, regular life, but how has this dramatic shift impacted the representation of gay men and HIV in popular culture? Positive Images is the first detailed examination of how the relationship between gay men and HIV has transformed in the past two decades. From Queer as Folk to Chemsex, The Line of Beauty to The Normal Heart, Dion Kagan examines literature, film, TV, documentaries and news coverage from across the English-speaking world to unearth the socio-cultural foundations underpinning this 'post-crisis' period. His analyses provide acute insights into the fraught legacies of the AIDS Crisis and its continued presence in the modern queer consciousness.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2018-04-05