Articles of Interest
I Wanted to Ask the Trees, a poem by NC Poet Laureate Jaki Shelton Green
JAKI SHELTON GREEN, North Carolina Poet Laureate, teaches documentary poetry at Duke University's Center for Documentary Studies. Publications include Dead on Arrival, Masks, Dead on Arrival and New Poems, Conjure Blues, singing a tree into dance, breath of the song, Feeding the Fight, and i want to undie you. She has been named a 2019 Academy of American Poets Laureate Fellow.
Three Lives Revolutionized through Spoken Word Poetry
Kahn despised poetry for the longest time. Even as a high school English language arts (ELA) teacher, he taught the bland, obligatory poetry unit in which students looked for poetic devices. They complained and fought back. It was a disaster. In 2003, he returned to the Chicago area with the epiphany that he could no longer operate as a traditional ELA teacher, and drafted a proposal to become the school's spoken word educator. While he was away, a researcher from Harvard University came to our school to study what was then called the "achievement gap," and in interviews with Black students, his name was frequently mentioned as someone who had encouraged and motivated them to succeed. With that knowledge, and the conviction that he could do this programming elsewhere, he held firm in his rationale to receive release periods for all five classes to implement his plan.
Front and Center: Hip-Hop and Spoken Word Poetry in Academic Libraries
This feature describes the efforts of the Oviatt Library at California State University, Northridge to offer programming presenting hip-hop and spoken word poetry. These events, begun in 2016, feature genres relevant to the university's diverse and global enrollment. Though not traditional library presentations, they recognize the wide appeal of hip-hop and the importance of oral traditions to some cultures while providing a platform for the participants to express their diverse views and experiences.
From Slam to Def Poetry Jam: Spoken Word Poetry and its Counterpublics
Poetry slams-raucous poetry competitions where poets perform their own compositions and judges selected from the audience score them from 0.0-10.0-are practices rooted in the public sphere. These local performance poetry competitions, which originated in the mid-1980s in white working-class Chicago bars as the brainchild of ex-construction worker Marc Smith, have spawned national and global competitions. Now, over twenty-five years since the birth of slam, the National Poetry Slam (NPS) annually hosts teams from nearly eighty cities across the U.S. and Canada. As slam entered the twenty-first century, its poets started to appear on larger and more public stages, including documentary and feature films, cable television, Broadway, the White House, and the Opening Ceremonies of the 2010 Winter Olympics. T
Resistencia by Julia Alvarez; Mark Eisner (Editor)
"To read these poems is to be reminded again and again of our true allegiance to each other." --from the introduction by Julia Alvarez With a powerful and poignant introduction from Julia Alvarez, Resistencia: Poems of Protest and Revolution is an extraordinary collection, rooted in a strong tradition of protest poetry and voiced by icons of the movement and some of the most exciting writers today. The poets of Resistencia explore feminist, queer, Indigenous, and ecological themes alongside historically prominent protests against imperialism, dictatorships, and economic inequality. Within this momentous collection, poets representing every Latin American country grapple with identity, place, and belonging, resisting easy definitions to render a nuanced and complex portrait of language in rebellion. Included in English translation alongside their original language, the fifty-four poems in Resistencia are a testament to the art of translation as much as the act of resistance. An all-star team of translators, including former US Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera along with young, emerging talent, have made many of the poems available for the first time to an English-speaking audience. Urgent, timely, and absolutely essential, these poems inspire us all to embrace our most fearless selves and unite against all forms of tyranny and oppression.
Call Number: PN 6110 .P83 R47 2020
Publication Date: 2020-09-15
Home Body by Rupi Kaur
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of milk and honey and the sun and her flowers comes her greatly anticipated third collection of poetry. rupi kaur constantly embraces growth, and in home body, she walks readers through a reflective and intimate journey visiting the past, the present, and the potential of the self. home body is a collection of raw, honest conversations with oneself - reminding readers to fill up on love, acceptance, community, family, and embrace change. illustrated by the author, themes of nature and nurture, light and dark, rest here. i dive into the well of my body and end up in another world everything i need already exists in me there's no need to look anywhere else - home
Call Number: PR 9199.4 .K377 H664 2020
Publication Date: 2020-11-17
If They Come for Us by Fatimah Asghar
"A debut poetry collection showcasing both a fierce and tender new voice."--Booklist "Elegant and playful . . . The poet invents new forms and updates classic ones."--Elle "[Fatimah] Asghar interrogates divisions along lines of nationality, age, and gender, illuminating the forces by which identity is fixed or flexible."--The New Yorker NAMED ONE OF THE TOP TEN BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY * FINALIST FOR THE LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD an aunt teaches me how to tell an edible flower from a poisonous one. just in case, I hear her say, just in case. From a co-creator of the Emmy-nominated web series Brown Girls comes an imaginative, soulful debut poetry that collection captures the experiences of being a young Pakistani Muslim woman in contemporary America. Orphaned as a child, Fatimah Asghar grapples with coming of age and navigating questions of sexuality and race without the guidance of a mother or father. These poems at once bear anguish, joy, vulnerability, and compassion, while also exploring the many facets of violence: how it persists within us, how it is inherited across generations, and how it manifests itself in our relationships. In experimental forms and language both lyrical and raw, Asghar seamlessly braids together marginalized people's histories with her own understanding of identity, place, and belonging. Praise for If They Come for Us "In forms both traditional . . . and unorthodox . . . Asghar interrogates divisions along lines of nationality, age, and gender, illuminating the forces by which identity is fixed or flexible. Most vivid and revelatory are pieces such as 'Boy,' whose perspicacious turns and irreverent idiom conjure the rich, jagged textures of a childhood shadowed by loss."--The New Yorker "[Asghar's] debut poetry collection cemented her status as one of the city's greatest present-day poets. . . . A stunning work of art that tackles place, race, sexuality and violence. These poems--both personal and historical, both celebratory and aggrieved--are unquestionably powerful in a way that would doubtless make both Gwendolyn Brooks and Harriet Monroe proud."--Chicago Review of Books "Taut lines, vivid language, and searing images range cover to cover. . . . Inventive, sad, gripping, and beautiful."--Library Journal (starred review)
Call Number: PS 3601 .S48 A6 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
Soft Science by Franny Choi
Paris Review Staff Pick A Book Riot Must-Read Poetry Collection Soft Science explores queer, Asian American femininity. A series of Turing Test-inspired poems grounds its exploration of questions not just of identity, but of consciousness--how to be tender and feeling and still survive a violent world filled with artificial intelligence and automation. We are dropped straight into the tangled intersections of technology, violence, erasure, agency, gender, and loneliness. "Choi creates an exhilarating matrix of poetry, science, and technology." --Publishers Weekly "Franny Choi combines technology and poetry to stunning effect." -BUSTLE "...these beautiful, fractal-like poems are meditations on identity and autonomy and offer consciousness-expanding forays into topics like violence and gender, love and isolation." -NYLON
Call Number: PS 3603 .H653 A6 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong
One of the most celebrated poetry books of the year: The New Yorker, The Best Books of Poetry of 2016 New York Times, Critics Pick Boston Globe, Best Books listing NPR, Best Books listing Miami Herald, Best LGBTQ Books San Francisco Chronicle, Top 100 Books of the Year Library Journal, Best Books of 2016 Michiko Kakutani inThe New York Times writes: "The poems in Mr. Vuong''s new collection,Night Sky With Exit Wounds...possess a tensile precision reminiscent of Emily Dickinson''s work, combined with a Gerard Manley Hopkins-like appreciation for the sound and rhythms of words. Mr. Vuong can create startling images (a black piano in a field, a wedding-cake couple preserved under glass, a shepherd stepping out of a Caravaggio painting) and make the silences and elisions in his verse speak as potently as his words...There is a powerful emotional undertow to these poems that springs from Mr. Vuong''s sincerity and candor, and from his ability to capture specific moments in time with both photographic clarity and a sense of the evanescence of all earthly things." "Reading Vuong is like watching a fish move: he manages the varied currents of English with muscled intuition. His poems are by turns graceful and wonderstruck. His lines are both long and short, his pose narrative and lyric, his diction formal and insouciant. From the outside, Vuong has fashioned a poetry of inclusion."--The New Yorker "The language is painfully, exquisitely exact, the scenes haunting and indelible.... Highly recommended."--Library Journal, starred review "Night Sky with Exit Wounds establishes Vuong as a fierce new talent to be reckoned with...This book is a masterpiece that captures, with elegance, the raw sorrows and joys of human existence."--Buzzfeed''s "Most Exciting New Books of 2016" "This original, sprightly wordsmith of tumbling pulsing phrases pushes poetry to a new level...A stunning introduction to a young poet who writes with both assurance and vulnerability. Visceral, tender and lyrical, fleet and agile, these poems unflinchingly face the legacies of violence and cultural displacement but they also assume a position of wonder before the world."--2016 Whiting Award citation "Night Sky with Exit Wounds is the kind of book that soon becomes worn with love. You will want to crease every page to come back to it, to underline every other line because each word resonates with power."--LitHub "Vuong''s powerful voice explores passion, violence, history, identity--all with a tremendous humanity."--Slate "In his impressive debut collection, Vuong writes beauty into--and culls from--individual, familial, and historical traumas. Vuong exists as both observer and observed throughout the book as he explores deeply personal themes such as poverty, depression, queer sexuality, domestic abuse, and the various forms of violence inflicted on his family during the Vietnam War. Poems float and strike in equal measure as the poet strives to transform pain into clarity."--Publishers Weekly Torso of Air Suppose you do change your life. & the body is more than a portion of night--sealed with bruises. Suppose you woke & found your shadow replaced by a black wolf. The boy, beautiful & gone. So you take the knife to the wall instead. You carve & carve until a coin of light appears & you get to look in, at last, on happiness. The eye staring back from the other side-- waiting. Born in Saigon, Vietnam,Ocean Vuongattended Brooklyn College. He is the author of two chapbooks as well as a full-length collection,Night Sky with Exit Wounds. A Ruth Lilly Fellow and winner of the Whiting Award, Ocean Vuong lives in New York City.
Call Number: PS 3622 .U96 A6 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Killing Poetry: Blackness and the Making of Slam and Spoken Word Communities by Javon Johnson
In recent decades, poetry slams and the spoken word artists who compete in them have sparked a resurgent fascination with the world of poetry. However, there is little critical dialogue that fully engages with the cultural complexities present in slam and spoken word poetry communities, as well as their ramifications. In Killing Poetry, renowned slam poet, Javon Johnson unpacks some of the complicated issues that comprise performance poetry spaces. He argues that the truly radical potential in slam and spoken word communities lies not just in proving literary worth, speaking back to power, or even in altering power structures, but instead in imagining and working towards altogether different social relationships. His illuminating ethnography provides a critical history of the slam, contextualizes contemporary black poets in larger black literary traditions, and does away with the notion that poetry slams are inherently radically democratic and utopic. Killing Poetry-at times autobiographical, poetic, and journalistic-analyzes the masculine posturing in the Southern California community in particular, the sexual assault in the national community, and the ways in which related social media inadvertently replicate many of the same white supremacist, patriarchal, and mainstream logics so many spoken word poets seem to be working against. Throughout, Johnson examines the promises and problems within slam and spoken word, while illustrating how community is made and remade in hopes of eventually creating the radical spaces so many of these poets strive to achieve.
Publication Date: 2017-06-30
You Deserve Flowers by Francis
ABOUT THE BOOK: "you deserve flowers" is a colorful collection of poetry and hand-drawn illustrations that explore themes of sudden loss, slow healing, and the discovery of self-worth -- inviting readers to plant themselves, to grow, and to bloom as they spend time gently loving their own quiet details. /brABOUT THE AUTHOR: Danny is a recovery professional, farmer, theologian, and educator based in the mountains of Western North Carolina. This is his first book of poetry.
Publication Date: 2020-10-14
Engaging Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Youth through Performance Poetry by Pablo Ramirez
The author said as a former English teacher now working with preservice teachers in Arizona, he has faced many challenges in supporting the language and literacy development of secondary culturally linguistically diverse youth. He is candid with preservice teachers about how the implementation of a standardized curriculum in many secondary schools may make it difficult to engage youth in literacy. Culturally responsive teaching focuses on teaching through students' strengths. This teaching philosophy acknowledges strengths such as students' cultural heritage and lived experiences as key factors necessary for learning. As part of culturally responsive teaching, critical literacy is essential in guiding instruction in urban classroom settings. Critical literacy fosters an awareness of issues associated with equity and social justice in literacy contexts. Many of the students who found reading and writing challenging were excited about this process because they had a lot to say and, more specifically, they felt their stories needed to be shared through performance.
Publication Date: 2014