Articles - PHI 240 - Allen - Research Guides at Wake Technical Community College

Research Help

What is NC LIVE?

NC LIVE (opens in new window) is a collection of databases and resources for use in all types of libraries from public to university. In NC LIVE, you will find many different resources encompassing a variety of subjects from auto repair to graduate level resources.

NC LIVE has more than 100 databases/resources that contain:

ebooks;
full text journals, magazines, newspapers (including the Wall Street Journal);
videos (including PBS Videos online);
images and maps;
and interactive tests and tools.

Subject-Specific Databases

These databases were selected as many provide information related to your assignment.

ABI/INFORM Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Business Market Research Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic, and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots.
Consumer Reports (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Popular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.
NC LIVE Business Portal (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Business portal that links to resources on investing, small business, marketing data, company information, and more.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Formerly ReferenceUSA. Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Off-Campus Access to the Library Databases

To access library databases from off-campus, use your Wake Tech Blackboard username and password.

What's a Library Database? Video

The following video answers the question:
"What's a library database?"

RMIT University. (2012, August 13). What's a Library Database? Retrieved from https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

If that link doesn't work, use: https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

What's a library database? Video Transcript (Word document)

General Databases

The following are databases from NC LIVE. These databases have a general/multidisciplinary scope.

Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.
Gale Ebooks (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
SIRS Researcher (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database providing a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.