Databases and Journals for Articles - HUM 110 Davis - Artificial Intelligence and American Society - Research Guides at Wake Technical Community College

Search these databases by subject--

Computer Science Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science, and hardware.
Engineering Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
This database provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
Telecommunications Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the telecommunications industry and its technology. Includes over 140 titles with more than 115 available in full text.

O'Reilly for Higher Education (opens in new window)
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes critical tech and business ebooks, videos, learning paths, exclusive content and more along with a personalized experience. Login instructions below:

O'REILLY EDUCATION access instructions

Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration.
JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
SIRS Issues Researcher (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database providing a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.

Computer Science Journals and Magazines

Wired Magazine
Artificial intelligence articles from the popular magazine.
Classic Computer Magazine Archive
The Classic Computer Magazine Archive is a small crusade to make information from old computer magazines available on the Web.
Springer Open (opens in new window)
SpringerOpen includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science. It also includes open access books.

Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.

Boolean Search Basics

The following video explains boolean searching, or how to use the common operators "AND," "OR" and "NOT" to limit your searches within library databases.

Cushion, K. (2011, July 7). Boolean Searching Basics. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

If you can't access the video, copy and paste this link into your browser: http://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

Transcript for Boolean Searching Basics (Word document)