Emergency/Fire Management Services Research Guide

A freely available federal database of fire science-related literature

Freely available federal database.

Look for the links for fire tests/data, software/models, publications, and the Firedocdatabase.

Click on the links to other pages, such as chemical safety, emergency response and others.

The US Department of Transportation Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration’s collection of resources, events, and information, including the Hazardous Material Information Center, and a library for public documents related to the safe transport of hazardous materials.

Now includes FEMA; also has NIOSH, NFPA & ANSI equipment standards and WISER, Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders.

Look for the Emergency Response section. Also the ATSDR and NIOSH pages have lots of links on dealing with fires and chemical hazards.

20th edition. 2008 - 2017. Data on fires in the United States collected and published by the U.S. Fire Administration.

"The Chemical Hazards Response Information System (CHRIS) is designed to provide information needed for decision-making by responsible Coast Guard personnel during emergencies that occur during the water transport of hazardous chemicals."

(Part of the North Carolina Department of Insurance) Conducts electrical inspections for all new electrical installations in state-owned properties and inspects state-owned buildings for fire and life safety requirements. Contains information on and links to the Fire and Rescue Commission, Fire and Rescue Training Division, Research and Program Development Division, Ratings and Inspection Division, and Fire/Rescue Grants & Relief Funds.

Responsible for arson investigations.

An association of fire inspection, prevention and investigation professionals located throughout the State of North Carolina dedicated to the saving of life and property through fire prevention. (NC County Fire Marshal’s Association now contained within this organization.) Excellent and exhaustive resource. Contains links to and information on codes, training and education (including practice tests and instructional videos), grants, etc. Special section with links to fire-related newsletters.

Information on events, including conferences and training; access to Chief’s Quarterly; career postings; position papers.

Membership consists of personnel from the fire service, law enforcement, insurance, and legal fields. Promotes the profession of Fire/Arson Investigation throughout the State of North Carolina, and also provides professional training for the fire/arson investigative community.

Agency that creates/updates codes and standards for Fire Service operations; also provides resources for training and numerous publications.

Develops codes for building safety and fire prevention. A formal consolidation, in 2003, of BOCA (Building Officials and Code Administrators), ICBO (International Conference of Building Officials), and SBCCI (Southern Building Code Congress International).

Site includes links to publications online, data, and grants & training for Fire Service workers.