Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

NUR 212 (Evidence Based Practice): Tutorials and Help

Research guide for students in NUR 212.

What's a Library Database? Video

The following video answers the question:
"What's a library database?"

RMIT University. (2012, August 13). What's a Library Database? Retrieved from https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g     

If that link doesn't work, use: https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

Boolean Searching Basics Video

The following video explains boolean searching, or how to use the common operators "AND," "OR" and "NOT" to limit your searches within library databases.

Cushion, K. (2011, July 7). Boolean Searching Basics. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

If you can't access the video, copy and paste this link into your browser: http://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

What is . . . ?

  • a Scholarly Article?

A scholarly article (sometimes called a "journal article" or just an "article") is what a researcher writes when he/she wants to publish their research findings. For example, if a medical researcher conducts a study, they will write an article detailing how they conducted the study and what they found. They then submit their articles to a journal.a Journal?

A journal (sometimes called an "academic journal," a "scholarly journal," or a "peer-reviewed journal") is a publication that contains scholarly articles written by experts/researchers in a particular field or discipline. For example, researchers in the medical field will publish their findings in medical journals like the Journal of the American Medical Association, the British Medical Journal, or the New England Journal of Medicine

  • a Database?

A database (sometimes called an "academic database" or "research database") is an online collection of resources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, images, reports, and academic journals. Some databases focus on a specific topic, such as CINAHL (nursing and allied health). Other databases cover a variety of subjects, such as Science Direct (various sciences, including health and medicine). You can search databases using Boolean Searching.

  • Boolean Searching?

Boolean searching is a method of searching for online resources. You can't search the databases in the same way you search Google or other search engines. You must use keywords and phrases. In order to expand or limit your search, you can use the Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT, & NEAR. For more information on how to use Boolean Operators, see the Tutorials tab.

  • a Search Engine?

Search engines, such as Google and Bing, use your search terms to find websites that contain your search terms. While they're great at finding restaurant reviews and movie times, they aren't very helpful when it comes to college-level research. Why aren't they helpful? First, anyone can create a website that can then show up in a Google search. Therefore, you can't always trust the information you find online. Second, Google doesn't give you access to academic journals and databases. 

How to Read a Scholarly Article

The following video explains how to read a scholarly article.

Western University Libraries. (2012, April 26). How to Read a Scholarly Article. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/3SmOq6gENPM      

If the video is unavailable, visit: https://youtu.be/3SmOq6gENPM

ILC Center

Need help with writing and study skills?

  • One-on-one tutoring sessions by appointment
  • Walk-in appointments when available
  • Review sessions for small groups of students
  • Live online appointments and email services

All same day appointments must be made in person and cannot be made over the phone.

Appointments may be made in person or by calling a Writing and Study Skills Center: