Accounting and Finance Research Guide

Online list of resources compiled by the Business Reference Section to provide links to general, U.S., and international resources. Many resources listed on this site are citations only, not full text. Use citations to search the library catalog and databases to check for full text access.

The New York State Society of CPAs (NYSSCPA) General Committee on Public Relations prepared this glossary as an educational tool for journalists who report on and interpret financial information.

The Dictionary of Accounting covers more than 6,000 terms related to accounting.

Considered the most important site on the web. Includes accounting resources on the web, listings of accountants, accounting standards by FASB and GASB, international accounting information, etc.

A comprehensive online resource for professionals in accounting, financial services, human resources, insurance, and law. A "Resource Library" features tax and financial listings from state, federal, and international institutions, as well as selected full-text news articles. There is also a link to "Find an Accountant" that includes more than 100,000 U.S. accounting firms and is searchable by person's name, firm name, city, state, or industry focus. Try the "Career Center."

Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board's handbook of Generally Accepted Accounting Standards. (GAAP). This is arranged by chapter, and is generally browsable.

Personal income and population summary estimates, detailed county annual tables of income and employment, wage and salary summary estimates.

The American Accounting Association is the largest community of accountants in academia. Founded in 1916, we have a rich and reputable history built on leading-edge research and publications. Collectively, we shape the future of accounting through teaching, research and a powerful network, ensuring our position as thought leaders in accounting.

In 2017 the AICPA & CIMA came together to forge a powerful international alliance that promotes accounting and finance in every corner of the world. We serve 698,000 members, students and engaged professionals in 188 countries and territories. By providing exclusive guidance and specialized resources — including prestigious designations, certifications and credentials — we empower you to create an even brighter tomorrow, both for yourself and for the profession.

The core mission of the NSA is to help tax and accounting professionals become more successful. Accountants and tax practitioners can take advantage of member benefits and discounts that positively affect the bottom line of a small practice. NSA also increases the value of membership by remaining in constant contact with members through email newsletters, announcements, publications, social media, and surveys.