Research Guides: Wake Early College of Information and Biotechnologies (WECIB): Databases and Journals for Articles

What are research databases?

In a nutshell, a research database is an online collection of stuff. You'll find all sorts of things in a database, including ebooks, reports, newspaper articles, magazine articles, scholarly journal articles, images, videos, and audio clips.

Below are a few of the most popular databases among students.

LearningExpress Library/PrepSTEP (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Suite of highly-acclaimed eLearning solutions which provide interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books, flashcards and articles for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, career development and more.
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Bloom's Literature (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Bloom's Literature Reference Center examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Gale in Context: Biography (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A biography database which merges Gale’s authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Includes more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration.
Transparent Language Online (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner. Transparent Language Online combines robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps for a complete language-learning experience.

Logging Into the Databases

If you're on-campus and connected the the Wake Tech wifi, you won't need to login.

If you're off-campus, you'll be prompted to enter a username and password. Your username is the FIRST part of your Wake Tech email address (so everything BEFORE the @my.waketech.edu). And your password is the same password you use for your Wake Tech email, Blackboard, and WebAdvisor.

NOTE: New Early College students DO NOT yet have a Wake Tech email address and cannot access the databases off-campus.

Searching with Summon

Summon is what we call the large search box in the center of the library's website. It searches ALL of the library's resources. Think of it as the "Library's Google."

After you get your list of results, you can narrow them down using the menu on the left side of the screen.

Summon Search (opens in new window)
Summon searches all of the library's resources at one time.