Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

Archives - WTCC College Archives: Rules and Policies

Archives Policies

Collection materials found in the College Archives are irreplaceable and can be fragile.  Please follow all rules when conducting research in the archives.

Copying

1.      At this time we do not have a scanner or color copier available for public use.  During your research, please use the copy request form (see forms tab above) to request a reproduction of records.

2.       Archives may not be copied by any process unless the applicant agrees that no document or a substantial portion of a document will be published or reproduced without the subsequent express written permission of the writers or their legal representatives and WTCC. (Permission to copy will normally be granted upon receipt of such assurance, provided that copying complies with the "fair use" provisions of the Copyright Act.)

3.      For researchers who cannot come to the WTCC Archives or Northern Wake Campus Library, copies of documents may be petitioned by submitting a request to the campus librarian at any of the WTCC campuses or the Dean of Libraries. Reasonable expenses and service charges may be assessed to the applicant. The campus librarians or the Dean of Libraries reserves the right to refuse a request if it is judged that photocopying or scanning might damage the material, or if the request is so broad as to require unreasonable amounts of staff time.

4.      When appropriate, documents currently in print format may be deemed eligible for digitization and added to the electronic archive after a request is made to access the material remotely.

Website Use

1.      The images and text on the WTCC College Archives website are made available for study and research purposes only. They may not be reproduced in any form without express written permission of the creator of the original works or their legal representatives and WTCC.

2.      Researchers must obtain permission from the WTCC College Archives to publish, exhibit, or display items, or parts thereof, from the College Archives' collection website. For more information, please contact the College Archives staff at the Northern Wake Campus Library.

Publishing

1.      Permission to examine or copy archival materials does not convey the right to publish, display, perform, or broadcast (hereafter any or all of these activities are referred to as publish) the materials except for publication under the “fair use” provisions of the Copyright Act. Permission to publish may be secured by joint authorization of the WTCC President and the holder of the literary rights, his/her legal representative or assigns.

2.      Permission to publish will ordinarily be granted provided that: a research project is contemplated, it meets commonly accepted standards of scholarship, and written permission for the specific use is secured from the copyright holder.

3.      Where permission to publish is granted, the applicant agrees to a) indicate in the published work that the original is located in the Archives of WTCC and b) assume full and complete responsibility for any infringement of copyright or literary rights that may grow out of use or publication of the material.

Other Rules

1.      Wash and dry your hands before entering the archives.

2.      Please schedule a time in advance to use the archives with a member of Scott Northern Wake Campus library staff. We encourage visitors but may not be able to accommodate drop-ins.

3.      The archives are not permitted to leave the library without written consent from the Dean of Libraries.