French Language Research Guide

The book is filled with helpful instructions on correct pronunciation, grammar, syntax, and word usage. Each section includes a series of exercises that gives you extra practice in using new concepts and encourages you to construct personalized conversations. You'll learn how to strike up a conversation, offer opinions, and describe people, places, and things.

Broken into 50 short, manageable lessons with a focus on grammar and vocabulary, this workbook is your first step to learning the basics of the language. Engaging exercises across three-page units let you work at your own pace without becoming overwhelmed, as you learn the basics that first-year students are expected to know.

This established, unintimidating approach to speaking, reading, and writing a new language takes the mystery and menace out of the learning process, whether in class or at home. Hundreds of quiz and test questions, chapter-opening objectives, and specific recommendations for difficult subtopics and individual weaknesses help you learn basic grammar structures and verb tenses, pronunciation, essential vocabulary, and how to communicate with confidence.

Practice Makes Perfect: Complete French Grammar is the go-to guide for clear, precise explanations of all aspects of French grammar: from the present tense of regular verbs to direct object pronouns, from the differences between savoir and connaître to the use of pronouns y and en. This comprehensive guide will also give you plenty of practice in using your language skills.

This reference/workbook guides you through each grammatical issue using concise, easy-to-understand language, helping you understand the nuances of the language and keeping you focused on achieving your goal of fluency.

Practice Makes Perfect French Sentence Builder, Second Edition guides you through the process of putting the "parts" of French together correctly, from connecting words into clauses to writing original sentences to creating whole paragraphs. You'll get where you want in no time through Practice Makes Perfect's systematic, crystal-clear approach to building sentences.

Vibrant, realistic illustrations and unparalleled teaching support make the Oxford Picture Dictionary Program what every classroom needs to build students' vocabulary, reading, and critical thinking skills. Help your students picture their journey to success with the Oxford Picture Dictionary Third Edition - now enhanced with new topics to prepare learners for work, academic study, and citizenship.

Essential phrases to meet all your travel needs: How to get local recommendations, Easy-to-use pronunciation guides, and Expert tips to boost your confidence.

Beginning with Julius Caesar's conquest of Gaul in the first century BC, this study of French history comprises a cast of legendary characters--Charlemagne, Louis XIV, Napoleon, Joan of Arc and Marie Antionette, to name a few--as Norwich chronicles France's often violent, always fascinating history. From the French Revolution--after which neither France, nor the world, would be the same again--to the storming of the Bastille, from the Vichy regime and the Resistance to the end of the Second World War, A History of France is packed with heroes and villains, battles and rebellion, stories so enthralling that Norwich declared, "I can honestly say that I have never enjoyed writing a book more."

This book contains an explanatory treatment of the core areas of difficulty for the English-speaking learner of French. It deals with the key issues in tense formation and use and verbal structures and processes such as negation, passives, and subjunctives along with a highly exemplified treatment of pronouns and a section dealing with adjectives and other elements of grammar.

This book is an advanced student's grammar of French that integrates traditional grammar with knowledge and insights from modern linguistics. Maj-Britt Mosegaard Hansen takes a structural approach to French grammar: she provides clear descriptions of grammatical rules based explicitly on syntactic structure, and places descriptive emphasis on instances where the grammatical structures of French differ from those used in corresponding contexts in English.

A Linguistic Handbook of French for Translators and Language Students offers the reader an in-depth contrastive study of French and English based on recent theories of linguistics and discourse analysis. At the same time it is a practical manual for the advanced language student or the translator with dozens of exercises in analyzing and translating French along with detailed corrections.

Unforgettable French uses memory tricks to teach and reinforce major points of French grammar from the basics up to high school level, to learners of all ages. It may be used: by anyone who wishes to gain confidence in speaking French, as a revision aid, to consolidate the learner's grasp of grammatical points, to complement whatever French scheme you are using, and by French teachers at all levels, from elementary school through to adult.

Includes clear and concise descriptions of all the main grammatical phenomena of French, and their use, illustrated by numerous examples taken from contemporary French, and distinguishes the most common forms of usage, both formal and informal. This combination of reference grammar and manual of current usage will prove invaluable to students and teachers of French from intermediate through to advanced level.

A Reference Grammar of French is a lively, wide-ranging and original handbook on the structure of the French language. It includes new information on register, pronunciation, gender, number, foreign words (Latin, Arabic, English, Spanish, Italian), adjectives and past participles used as nouns, texting, word order, frequency of occurrence of words, and usage with all geographical names.

This advanced level course book teaches stylistic variations of modern French grammar using examples from films and interviews as well as other authentic texts. Written entirely in French, it focuses on the most difficult grammar points and their usage, rather than on their formation. Variations stylistiques includes an abundance of oral and written exercises that are practical, relevant, creative, and fun, encouraging students to use the grammar in meaningful contexts.

A systematic guide, the volume is a critical companion for university-level students learning to read and translate written French into English; for graduate scholars learning to do research in French or prepping for proficiency exams; and for any interested readers who want to improve their facility with the French language. In addition, A Short Course in Reading French exposes readers to a broad range of French texts from the humanities and social sciences, including writings by distinguished francophone authors from around the world.