Use the library catalog to search for books on your subject, and feel free to place holds on the books listed below!
Wake Tech Library Catalog
Search for books at the six Wake Tech library locations. You can also request books from community colleges across the state.
Sapiens by #1 New York Times Bestseller The Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg, now available as a beautifully packaged paperback From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity's creation and evolution--a #1 international bestseller--that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be "human." One hundred thousand years ago, at least six different species of humans inhabited Earth. Yet today there is only one--homo sapiens. What happened to the others? And what may happen to us? Most books about the history of humanity pursue either a historical or a biological approach, but Dr. Yuval Noah Harari breaks the mold with this highly original book that begins about 70,000 years ago with the appearance of modern cognition. From examining the role evolving humans have played in the global ecosystem to charting the rise of empires, Sapiens integrates history and science to reconsider accepted narratives, connect past developments with contemporary concerns, and examine specific events within the context of larger ideas. Dr. Harari also compels us to look ahead, because over the last few decades humans have begun to bend laws of natural selection that have governed life for the past four billion years. We are acquiring the ability to design not only the world around us, but also ourselves. Where is this leading us, and what do we want to become? Featuring 27 photographs, 6 maps, and 25 illustrations/diagrams, this provocative and insightful work is sure to spark debate and is essential reading for aficionados of Jared Diamond, James Gleick, Matt Ridley, Robert Wright, and Sharon Moalem.
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
The History Book by From the dawn of civilization to the lightning-paced culture of today, take a fascinating journey through the most significant events in history and the big ideas behind each one. Bring history to life as you explore the Law Code of Hammurabi, the Renaissance, the American Revolution, World War II, and much more. As part of DK's award-winning Big Ideas Simply Explained series, The History Book uses infographics and images to explain key ideas and themes. Biographies of key leaders, thinkers, and warriors, from Julius Caesar to Barack Obama, offer insight into their lives and further historical insight into these world-changing episodes. Perfect for an avid student or armchair historian, the clear explanations of ideologies behind events that have shaped our world into what it is today. The History Book makes the past 4,000 years of history accessible and provides enlightenment on the forces that shaped the world as we know it today, for students and history buffs alike.
Publication Date: 2016-07-05
History : the definitive visual guide : from the dawn of civilization to the present day by Homo sapiens have remained the same species, largely unchanged in genetic makeup and anatomy since the Cro-Magnon era. By contrast, the cultural, social, and technological changes since then have been nothing less than extraordinary. Telling our story, from prehistory to the present day, DK's History is a thought-provoking journey, revealing the common threads and forces that have shaped human history. Includes: Inventions, discoveries, and ideas that have shaped world history A look at human achievement through artifacts, painting, sculpture, and architecture An examination of humankind in context as part of the natural world Eyewitness accounts and biographies of key figures A comprehensive timeline chronicling the key events of the countries of the world
Publication Date: 2012-03-19
World History by With more than 10,000 years of history in the palm of your hand, Eyewitness Companion: World History is the ideal one-stop reference for anyone with an interest in historical events, personalities, societies, and cultures, from the first flowering of human civilization in prehistoric times to the present day.
Publication Date: 2010-01-18
Wake Tech students have access to thousands of ebooks. Try these!
ABC-CLIO E-book Collection (opens in new window)
History & literature ebooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
Ebook Central (opens in new window)
Over 35,000 ebooks available to read and download.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (opens in new window)
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the ebook.
RBdigital (opens in new window)
Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players.
World History : An Introduction
Provides readers with the knowledge and tools necessary to understand the global historical perspective and how it can be used to shed light on both our past and our present. Available via Ebook Central.
World History: The Basics
Introduces this fast-growing field and addresses key questions such as: What is world history? How do we study a subject with such a broad geographic and chronological range? Why has world history been controversial? Available via Ebook Central.