Research Guides: Ethics Research Guide: Books and eBooks

Use the library catalog to search for books on your subject, or place holds on the books listed below:

Wake Tech Library Catalog (opens in new window)

Search for books at ALL Wake Tech library locations. You can also request books from community colleges across the state.

Ethics DeMYSTiFieD by Micah Newman
ISBN: 9780071762755
Publication Date: 2011
This easy-to-use guide from the popular Demystified series makes learning about ethics simple by walking readers step-by-step through the fundamentals of the subject.
Great Traditions in Ethics by Theodore C. Denise; Nicholas White; Sheldon P. Peterfreund
ISBN: 9780495094982
Publication Date: 2007
New to ethical theory? No problem. GREAT TRADITIONS IN ETHICS-the standard historical anthology for introducing ethical theory-makes it easy to explore the many primary sources that contribute to the canon of ethical theory. Chapter introductions provide biographical, historical, and theoretical contexts, and classic reading selections are supplemented by comments that will help you understand the works.
Exploring Ethics by Steven M. Cahn (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195342000
Publication Date: 2008
Exploring Ethics: An Introductory Anthology is a remarkably accessible, concise, and engaging introduction to moral philosophy. Steven M. Cahn brings together a rich, balanced, and wide-ranging collection of forty classic and contemporary readings. Most importantly, he has carefully edited the articles so that they will be exceptionally clear and understandable to undergraduate students.
Ethics by MacKinnon
ISBN: 9780495506799
Publication Date: 2008
Recognized for its breadth of coverage, this book provides a superbly balanced introduction that effectively integrates ethical theory with today's most relevant moral issues. Illuminating overviews and a selection of readings from both traditional and contemporary sources make even complex philosophical concepts reader friendly.
Ethics by Noël Merino (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737772609
Publication Date: 2015
Ethics provide us with a moral center, and give us a sense of good and bad, but they are always in the eye of the beholder. This essential volume will help readers navigate through the endless debates about ethics. Divergent viewpoints are shared as each topic is discussed, proving readers with more than one intelligent opinion to consider.
The Fundamentals of Ethics by Russ Shafer-Landau
ISBN: 9780199997237
Publication Date: 2014
This text carefully reconstructs and analyzes dozens of arguments in depth, and introduces students to the essential ideas of moral philosophy. Offering more comprehensive coverage of the good life, normative ethics, and metaethics than any other text of its kind, this book also addresses issues that are often omitted from other texts, such as the doctrine of doing and allowing, the doctrine of double effect, and more.

Wake Tech students have access to thousands of eBooks. Try these databases or the titles below:

Ebook Central (opens in new window)
- Over 35,000 eBooks available to read and download.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (opens in new window)
- This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the eBook

Everyday Ethics by Charles T. Mathewes
ISBN: 9781626167070
Publication Date: 2019
What might we learn if the study of ethics focused less on hard cases and more on the practices of everyday life? In Everyday Ethics, Michael Lamb and Brian Williams gather some of the world's leading scholars and practitioners of moral theology (including some GUP authors) to explore that question in dialogue with anthropology and the social sciences.
Key Terms in Ethics by Oskari Kuusela
ISBN: 9781441131461
Publication Date: 2011
The book offers a comprehensive overview of the key terms, concepts, thinkers and major works in the history of this key area of philosophical thought. An indispensable compass for students coming to the subject for the first time and a very handy for more advanced undergraduate students as a reference tool.
An Introduction to Ethics by Brian Besong
ISBN: 9781498298896
Publication Date: 2018
In this Introduction to Ethics, Brian Besong presents a comprehensive and contemporary introduction to the practical wisdom handed down to us by Aristotle, St. Thomas Aquinas, and many others--a position now commonly called "natural law." Written as a beginner's guide, the book systematically explores a range of moral issues including moral knowledge, happiness, right and wrong action, and virtues, to name a few.
An Introduction to Ethics by John Deigh
ISBN: 9780521772464
Publication Date: 2010
This book examines the central questions of ethics through a study of theories of right and wrong that are found in the great ethical works of Western philosophy. It focuses on theories that continue to have a significant presence in the field. The core chapters cover egoism, the eudaimonism of Plato and Aristotle, act and rule utilitarianism, modern natural law theory, Kant's moral theory, and existentialist ethics.
This Is Ethics by Jussi Suikkanen
ISBN: 9781118479407
Publication Date: 2014
This is Ethics presents an accessible and engaging introduction to a variety of issues relating to contemporary moral philosophy. Covers a wide range of topics which are actively debated in contemporary moral philosophy. Addresses the nature of happiness, well-being, and the meaning of life, the role of moral principles in moral thinking, moral motivation, and moral responsibility.