Off-Campus Access to Library Databases
You can find all our online resources through our library website at
When you attempt to use any of our databases off campus, you will be asked to log in with a user name and password. Use your Wake Tech Key Account (that's the same as your Blackboard login) for this box.
Recommended Databases (These databases have been selected from NC LIVE as appropriate resources for your assignment).
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection (opens in a new window)
3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
Digital NC (opens in new window)
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
NCPedia (opens in a new window)
Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
HeritageQuest (opens in new window)
Provides a comprehensive array of American genealogical sources including primary sources, local and family histories, research guides, and census maps.
Sanborn Maps North Carolina (opens in new window)
Provides digital access to thousands of large-scale maps of American towns and cities, searchable by address and GPS coordinates.
History Study Center (opens in new window)
Contents include reference primary source documents, books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images, and video clips.
Relevant Web Resources
History Museum of Burke County (opens in new window)
The museum is dedicated to preserving and displaying our heritage for both current and future generations. Special exhibits and events are scheduled during the year and published in a quarterly newsletter and area media.
Picture Burke (opens in new window)
Selected Historical Photographs of Burke County North Carolina
Yancey County History Association (opens in new window)
The Yancey History Association’s mission is to preserve, protect and display our culture, history and heritage through archival collections, promotion of education, oral history, genealogical record and living history.
Southern Historical Collection- UNC Libraries (opens in new window)
The Southern Historical Collection is home to over 5,000 distinct archival collections. These are each comprised of unique primary documents, such as diaries, correspondence, photographs, maps, and oral histories. We offer robust documentation of all periods of Southern history since the late eighteenth century, particularly the Antebellum era through the Civil Rights Movement.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Documenting the American South (opens in new window)
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Our State Magazine Collection (opens in new window)
Search or browse Our State magazine, North Carolina's premier travel, food, and culture publication celebrating the best of life in the state. Every issue from 1933 to 2011 is online in the North Carolina Digital Collections, and articles and advertisements are full text searchable.