Approved Database Resources - ENG 112 - Martin- Essay #2 Research Source Guide - Research Guides at Wake Technical Community College

Social Issues Databases (These will contain Academic Journal articles, Newspaper and Magazine articles, as well as audio and video sources)

CQ Researcher Online (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration.
SIRS Researcher (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database providing a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.

JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

International Newsstream (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
New York Times (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Access to the New York Times from 1980 to the present.
US Newsstream (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires, and selected news magazines.
Wall Street Journal (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1984-present).

Gale Ebooks (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the ebook.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Over 35,000 ebooks available to read and download.

Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.