Databases and Journal Articles - ENG 110 - Stall - Research Guides at Wake Technical Community College

RMIT University. (2012, August 13). What's a Library Database? Retrieved from https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

If that link doesn't work, use: https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration.
Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.

These databases have a general/multidisciplinary scope.

Not sure what keywords to use in your search? Take a look at this guide (opens in new window) from the University of Texas.

ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
CQ Researcher (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the ebook.
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.