Research Guides: Addiction and Recovery Studies Research Guide: Databases and Journals for Articles

Search these databases by subject-

ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Stat!Ref (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical, nursing, dental, and allied health texts.
Health & Medical Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Healthcare Administration Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
Public Health Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the core literature in the field of public health.
Psychology Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
Sociology Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.

Search these specific titles by subject--

Journal of Health and Social Behavior
Journal of Health and Social Behavior (JHSB), published quarterly, is a medical sociology journal that publishes empirical and theoretical articles that apply sociological concepts and methods to the understanding of health and illness and the organization of medicine and health care.
Substance Use & Misuse
Substance Use & Misuse has provided a unique international multidisciplinary venue for the exchange of original research, theories, policy analyses, and unresolved issues concerning substance use and misuse.
International Journal of Mental Health and Addiction
The journal provides a forum for international debate on mental health and addiction-related issues, and helps make sense of the effects of mental health and addiction on individuals and societies. It reports on current information and developments in mental health and addiction-related research, policy, phenomenology, literature, and treatment.
Harm Reduction Journal
The Harm Reduction Journal is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes research and commentary on approaches diminishing the harm of stigmatization and criminalization of public health, human rights and social justice issues.