Databases from NC LIVE
These databases have a general/multidisciplinary scope.
Not sure what keywords to use in your search? Take a look at this guide (opens in new window) from the University of Texas.
Need help searching? Check out this EBSCOhost databases tutorial (opens in new window).
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
CQ Researcher Online (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the ebook.
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.
Websites for Sustainability
State Energy Office (opens in new window)
The Energy Section in the Division of Energy, Mineral and Land Resources is dedicated to ensuring a sustainable energy future for the citizens of North Carolina.
U.S. Department of Energy (opens in new window)
The Dept of Energy addresses energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions. You can find a lot of great information here such as statistics, information and policies for federal programs.
U.S. Energy Information Administration (opens in new window)
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Network (opens in new window)
Part of the Dept of Energy, this links to web sites and online documents. Topics include solar energy sustainable development, industry and utility technologies, wind energy, geothermal and hydroelectric power.
NC Energy Office Smart Grid Pages (opens in new window)
Smart Grid technologies quickly are emerging as critical components of the energy infrastructure in our nation. This site links you to sources dealing with Smart Grid here and in other states.