Boolean Search Basics 

The following video explains boolean searching, or how to use the common operators "AND," "OR" and "NOT" to limit your searches within library databases.

Cushion, K. (2011, July 7). Boolean Searching Basics. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

If you can't access the video, copy and paste this link into your browser: http://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

How to use Google Scholar

Instead of choosing UW Stout Library, make sure you search for "Wake Tech" from the library list.

UW Stout Library. (2017, June 20). Introduction to Using Google Scholar.  You can also view the video by visiting: https://youtu.be/VBcL92Z1Ok0

Evaluating Sources

The following video explains how to critically evaluate any resource by using the C.R.A.A.P. test.

Western University. (2012, January). Evaluating Sources. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyMT08mD7Ds&feature=youtu.be

If the above video doesn't work, copy and paste the following into your browser: https://youtu.be/EyMT08mD7Ds

How to Read a Scholarly Article

The following video explains how to read a scholarly article.

Western University Libraries. (2012, April 26). How to Read a Scholarly Article. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/3SmOq6gENPM      

If the video is unavailable, visit: https://youtu.be/3SmOq6gENPM

Citing Sources in MLA Style

The following video explains how to cite sources using the MLA 9th edition handbook.

Works Cited Page MLA 9th Edition: Creating References in MLA video tutorial 

If this link won't open-- copy and paste https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvZ043ByHso  into your browser

Additional resources from Smart Student (https://www.youtube.com/@smartstudent_official)--

https://www.mysmartstudent.com/harvard-resource-library-1 

Referencing Sources in APA Style

The following video explains how to cite sources using APA style, 7th edition.

APA Format 7th Edition: Reference Page Tutorial (Websites, Journals, Magazines, Newspaper Articles)

If the above video doesn't work, copy and paste the following link into your browser: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DWVOU9VZqyI&t=266s

Additional materials here--https://www.mysmartstudent.com/optin-apa-referencing

created by Smart Student--

⏩ https://www.mysmartstudent.com/registration-page-live-1

Wake Tech Database Tutorial

The following video provides an introduction to the library databases. It will instruct you on how to access them and get started with them.

If you can't access the video, copy and paste this link into your browser: https://youtu.be/jgjZZPkESIE (opens in new window)

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

The following video explains the peer review process.

North Carolina State University. (2014, May 1). Peer Review in 3 Minutes. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/rOCQZ7QnoN0   

If the embedded video doesn't work, you can copy and paste the following into your browser: https://youtu.be/rOCQZ7QnoN0

What's a Library Database?

RMIT University. (2012, August 13). What's a Library Database? Retrieved from https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g     

If that link doesn't work, use: https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

Experimental Design

The following video explains the process of experimental design.

Bypass Publishing. (2013, August 27). Research Methods: Experimental Design. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/qtLnBz6lbRQ     

If the above video doesn't work, you can access it via: https://youtu.be/qtLnBz6lbRQ

The Information Cycle

The following video explains the information cycle or the progression of media coverage of an event.

Portland State University Library. (2012, August 15). The Information Cycle. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yV7cFXAu8ak&feature=youtu.be

If the above video doesn't work, copy and paste the following into your browser: https://youtu.be/yV7cFXAu8ak

What's an Annotated Bibliography

The following video answers the question: "What's an annotated bibliography?"

Brock University Library. (2021, September 23). What’s an annotated bibliography? Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5yZkDm4GHQ

If the above video doesn't work, copy and paste the following link into your browser: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5yZkDm4GHQ

How to Search PsychINFO

The following video explains how to search the database, PsychINFO.

PsychInfo. (2013, March 19). Sample PsychInfo Search on Proquest. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/iTXWFVaTJm0     

If the video above doesn't play, visit: https://youtu.be/iTXWFVaTJm0?list=PL79EDF5C7AA14D90D

How to Search ProQuest Psychology Journals

The following video explains how to use the ProQuest Psychology Journals database.

Central Piedmont Community College. (2013, October 13). Proquest Psychology Journals Database Tutorial . Retrieved from https://youtu.be/kZ_4zWdvoXE     

If the video above doesn't play, copy and paste the following into your browser: https://youtu.be/kZ_4zWdvoXE to watch the video.

The Difference Between Scholarly and Popular Sources

The following video explains the difference between scholarly and popular materials.

University of Houston Libraries. (2020). What are popular and scholarly sources? Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gG6vi6wATTk

Using the E-Journal Portal

This video explains how to use the E-Journal Portal to find and browse specific publications.