Research Guides: ENG 111: Fleggas: Databases and Journals for Articles

Search these databases by subject--

ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration.
Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

The following video explains the peer review process.

North Carolina State University. (2014, May 1). Peer Review in 3 Minutes. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/rOCQZ7QnoN0

If the embedded video doesn't work, you can copy and paste the following into your browser: https://youtu.be/rOCQZ7QnoN0

Transcript for Peer Review in 3 Minutes (Word document)

What's a Library Database?

RMIT University. (2012, August 13). What's a Library Database? Retrieved from https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

If that link doesn't work, use: https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

What's a library database? Video Transcript (Word document)

Boolean Search Basics

The following video explains boolean searching, or how to use the common operators "AND," "OR" and "NOT" to limit your searches within library databases.

Cushion, K. (2011, July 7). Boolean Searching Basics. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

If you can't access the video, copy and paste this link into your browser: http://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

Transcript for Boolean Searching Basics (Word document)