Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

HUM 115 - Riley

What is NC LIVE?

NC LIVE (opens in new window) is a collection of databases and resources for use in all types of libraries from public to university. In NC LIVE, you will find many different resources encompassing a variety of subjects from auto repair to graduate level resources. 

NC LIVE has more than 100 databases/resources that contain:

  • ebooks;

  • full text journals, magazines, newspapers (including the Wall Street Journal);

  • videos (including PBS Videos online);

  • images and maps;

  • and interactive tests and tools.

Databases from NC LIVE

The following are databases from NC LIVE. These databases have a general/multidisciplinary scope. 

Not sure what keywords to use in your search? This guide from the University of Texas (opens in a new window) may give you some ideas.

Off-Campus Access to Library's Databases

To access library databases from off-campus, use your Wake Tech Blackboard username and password.

What's a Library Database? Video

The following video answers the question:
"What's a library database?"

RMIT University. (2012, August 13). What's a Library Database? Retrieved from https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g     

If that link doesn't work, use: https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

More Databases You Might Find Useful

Despite having a very large collection of materials in NC LIVE, there are some subjects here at Wake Tech that are not covered, such as social issues, science and history.  These databases here are selected and purchased for you by Wake Tech and should help you when NC LIVE doesn't have the answers.