Research Guides: Genre Highlights: Poetry

Poetry

Organs of Little Importance by Adrienne Chung
ISBN: 9780143137740

Publication Date: 2023

Taking its title from Darwin's On the Origin of Species, Adrienne Chung's debut collection asks why we cling so dearly to the vestigial parts of our psychologies - residues of first impressions, thought spirals to nowhere, memories that persist despite outliving their usefulness. The speaker in these poems tries to wear more color, indulges in Y2K nostalgia and falls in and out of love; a Jungian psychoanalyst has a field day with her dreams.
You Better Be Lightning by Andrea Gibson
ISBN: 9781943735990

Publication Date: 2021

You Better Be Lightning by Andrea Gibson is a queer, political, and feminist collection guided by self-reflection. The poems range from close examination of the deeply personal to the vastness of the world, exploring the expansiveness of the human experience from love to illness, from space to climate change, and so much more in between.

What is Poetry?

Poetry is "a form of literature distinguished from prose by the use of metre, rhythm, rhyme, sound (e.g. alliteration and assonance), and figurative language." Poetry can be written in many forms. For example, haikus, sonnets, ballads, etc.

Source: “Poetry.” The Macmillan Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., Market House Books Ltd, 2003. Credo Reference, https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6MTA3ODAzMw==?aid=114111.

Live Ones by Sadie McCarney
ISBN: 9780889776517

Publication Date: 2019

Sadie McCarney's first full-length poetry collection grapples with mourning, coming of age, and queer identity against the backdrop of rural and small-town Atlantic Canada. Ranging from pellet-gunned backyard butterflies to a chorus of encroaching ghosts, Live Ones celebrates the personal and idiosyncratic aspects of death, seeing them as intimately wedded to lives well-lived.
Time Is a Mother by Ocean Vuong
ISBN: 9780593300237

Publication Date: 2022

In this deeply intimate second poetry collection, Ocean Vuong searches for life among the aftershocks of personal and social loss, embodying the paradox of sitting in grief while being determined to survive beyond it.

How to Find Library Materials

Use the links below to search for items by title or subject.

Wake Tech Library Catalog
Search for books at all Wake Tech library locations. To place a hold, enter your Wake Tech ID number. The PIN is 1234. Students may need to type WA before their ID number.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection (opens in new window)
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the ebook.
ProQuest Ebook Central (opens in new window)
Over 35,000 ebooks available to read and download.

Library of Congress Classification System
A guide to Library of Congress sections and call numbers used at Wake Tech Libraries.