Research Guides: Building Automation Research Guide: Books and eBooks

Use the library catalog to search for books on your subject, or place holds on the books listed below:

Wake Tech Library Catalog (opens in new window)

Search for books at ALL Wake Tech library locations. You can also request books from community colleges across the state.

Electricity and Controls for HVAC-R by Stephen L. Herman; Bennie Sparkman; Ron Sparkman
ISBN: 9781133278207
Publication Date: 2013
Offering the most up-to-date coverage available, emphasizing the basics as it equips readers with the information needed to work effectively with all types of motors and control devices found in the heating and air-conditioning industry.
Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology by John Tomczyk; Eugene Silberstein; Bill Whitman; Bill Johnson
ISBN: 9781305578296
Publication Date: 2016
Develop the knowledge and skills you need to maintain and troubleshoot today's complex heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration systems with REFRIGERATION AND AIR CONDITIONING TECHNOLOGY, 8th Edition.
Audel HVAC Fundamentals, Volume 1 by James E. Brumbaugh
ISBN: 9780764542060
Publication Date: 2004
This first volume of Audel's HVAC Library gives you comprehensive information you need on the job. Whether you're installing, servicing, repairing, or troubleshooting an old or new heating system, you'll find what you're looking for, from wood and coal furnace maintenance to new calculations and the latest environmental technologies and regulations.
Audel HVAC Fundamentals, Volume 2 by James E. Brumbaugh
ISBN: 9780764542077
Publication Date: 2004
This fully revised guidebook covers everything you need to know to install, maintain, and repair the components that run, regulate, and fuel both old and new systems. From oil burners and steam line controls to the newest chip-based technology and environmental regulations, Volume 2 helps you keep the heat on.
DEWALT HVAC Code Reference by American Contractor's Exam Services
ISBN: 9781305667044
Publication Date: 2016
The DEWALT HVAC Code Reference uses the International Mechanical Code as the foundation for providing readers with the knowledge and skills needed to install or modify HVAC equipment successfully. With 75 pages of illustrated code requirements, violations, and installation concerns, this book covers everything from materials and duct construction to chimneys, vents, grease duct systems, and more.

Wake Tech students have access to thousands of eBooks. Try these databases or the titles below:

Ebook Central (opens in new window)
- Over 35,000 eBooks available to read and download.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (opens in new window)
- This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the eBook

Audel HVAC Fundamentals, Volume 3 by James E. Brumbaugh
ISBN: 9780764542084
Publication Date: 2004
This third volume of Audel's HVAC Library gives you a comprehensive, hands-on guide to installing, servicing, and repairing all basic air-conditioning systems in both new and older construction. You'll also find complete coverage of specialized heating units-radiators, radiant heating systems, stoves, fireplaces, heat pumps, and indoor/outdoor pool heaters, plus fans, exhaust systems, air filters, and more.
HVAC Fundamentals by Samuel C. Sugarman
ISBN: 9780881737523
Publication Date: 2015
Covering the full range of HVAC systems used in today's facilities, this hands-on reference provides all the details you'll need to fully understand how HVAC systems operate. Comprehensive in scope, the book separates out each of the major system components and controls for air, water, heating, ventilating and air conditioning, clearly illustrating how each system, subsystem, control or component contributes to providing the desired indoor environment.
BACnet: the Global Standard for Building Automation and Control Networks by H. Michael Newman
ISBN: 9781606502884
Publication Date: 2013
This book explains how BACnet works with all major control systems--including those made by Honeywell, Siemens, and Johnson Controls--to manage everything from heating to ventilation to lighting to fire control and alarm systems. BACnet is used today throughout the world for commercial and institutional buildings with complex mechanical and electrical systems.
Careers in Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) by Linda Bickerstaff
ISBN: 9781448894789
Publication Date: 2013
Those who enjoy working with their hands and solving problems can find a challenging position in the HVAC industry. Whether it is as an installer, mechanic, master technician, drafter, design engineer, or refrigeration maintenance technician, readers learn that if they choose to work in these jobs they will have salaries, compensation packages, and other benefits that are among the highest and best in the construction trades.