Databases for Sociology Studies
Off-campus users: In order to use the research databases, you will need to access them through the links on the library site, not by typing the web addresses (for example, nclive.org) directly into your browser; then you will be directed to a login page where you'll need to enter your key account login and password (same login used for accessing Blackboard, WebAdvisor, and my.waketech e-mail).
Sociology Database (opens in new window)
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Social Science Database (opens in new window)
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Psychology Database (opens in new window)
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
Arts & Humanities Database (opens in new window)
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theater, and Cultural Studies.
CQ Researcher Online (opens in new window)
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (opens in new window)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration.
SIRS Knowledge Source Package (opens in new window)
Articles, primary sources, websites, and graphics to support students with research, study, and homework.
Films on Demand
Use this database to search for films on Sociology!
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window)
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.
Boolean Search Techniques for Databases