Online Resources - General Instructor Training - PSEC - Research Guides at Wake Technical Community College

Electronic Books

ebrary Academic Complete (Opens in a new window)

Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
EBSCOHost e-Books (Opens in a new window)
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. Remember that you can use the dictionary and make notes using the information bar on the left hand side.
ebrary Public Library Complete (Opens in a new window)

Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

Open Library (opens in new window)

What is NC LIVE?

is a collection of databases and resources for use in all types of libraries from public to university. Consequently, you will find many different resources encompassing lots of subjects from auto repair to elementary school children's homework help to graduate level resources.

NC LIVE has databases/resources encompassing:

ebooks,
full text journals, magazines, newspapers (including the Wall Street Journal),
videos (including PBS Videos online!),
images and maps,
and interactive tests and tools.

Accessing NC LIVE resources

On Campus (two options):

Go directly to http://www.nclive.org to browse the available resources

Go to the Wake Tech Libraries’ site at library.waketech.edu, select “Virtual Library: Databases/ebooks" (from the vertical menu on the left) and select the databases you want to search (most useful to you will probably be Proquest Criminal Justice Periodicals)

Off Campus/After GIT:

Contact your local public library for their NC LIVE login information.

Go to http://www.nclive.org.

Select that institution from the drop-down menu and enter the password provided.

Other Electronic Resources

SIRS (Opens in a new window)
The Social Issues Researcher provides valuable information on current social issues, economics, business, politics, global issues, scientific developments, health, history, government, culture, the arts and humanities. Full-text articles, primary source documents, multimedia and Internet resources are selected from thousands of reputable domestic and international publications and respected organizations.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Opens in a new window)
Opposing Viewpoings in Context is the premier online resourcecovering today's hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climage change, health care to immigration.

Magazines, Journals, & Newspapers: General

ProQuest Central (Opens in a new window)
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works

JSTOR (Opens in a new window)
Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated (PDF files). JSTOR covers a vast area of disciplines, including literature, science, history, foreign languages, education, etc.

ProQuest Historical New York Times (Opens in a new window)
Access to the historical archives of the New York Times from 1851-2009.

ProQuest Newsstand (Opens in a new window)
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

Magazines & Journals: Subject-Specific

Criminal Justice Periodicals via ProQuest (Opens in a new window)

Provides access to magazines and journals specific to criminal justice issues and topics.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost (Opens in a new window)

PsycINFO, the American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.