This search box will search all six Wake Tech Community College libraries. If you wish to search only one library, select "Search other NC Community College libraries" and then select your home library.
Request Books on ESL and English Learning!
Wake Tech Library Catalog
Search for books at the six Wake Tech library locations. You can also request books from community colleges across the state.
English Made Easy by This is a fun and user-friendly way to learn English English Made Easy is a breakthrough in English language learning--imaginatively exploiting how pictures and text can work together to create understanding and help learners learn more productively. It gives beginner English learners easy access to the vocabulary, grammar and functions of English as it is actually used in a comprehensive range of social situations. Self-guided students and classroom learners alike will be delighted by the way they are helped to progress easily from one unit to the next, using a combination of pictures and text to discover for themselves how English works. The pictorial method used in this book is based on a thorough understanding of language structure and how language is successfully learned. The authors are experienced English language teachers with strong backgrounds in language analysis and language learning. English Made Easy, Volume 1 consists of a total of 20 units arranged in groups of five. The first four units presents language and provide learners the opportunities to practice as they learn. The first page of each unit has a list of all the words and phrases to be learned in that unit, together with pronunciation guide. At the end of each unit, an interesting story which uses the language that has just been learned is presented. The fifth unit in each group contains exercises designed to reinforce the language learned in the first four units.
Publication Date: 2006-05-15
English Verb Tenses by Get control over those difficult areas of English grammar Practice Makes Perfect: Advanced English Grammar for ESL Learners is focused on those grammar topics that might pose special problems for you, especially if English is not your first language. Because it targets advanced topics, you will quickly zero in on what holds you back from fluency. And like with all of the bestselling Practice Makes Perfect books, you can practice through exercises and reinforce your knowledge. The book includes: 775 exercises Expertise from Mark Lester, an ESL expert in grammar who founded the highly respected ESL department at the University of Hawaii. He authored the most popular college classroom grammar in the country Topics include: Noun plurals, Possessive nouns and personal pronouns, Articles and quantifiers, Adjectives, Verb forms and tenses, Talking about present time, Talking about past time, Talking about future time, Causative verbs, The passive, The structure of adjective clauses, Restrictive and nonrestrictive adjective clauses, Gerunds, Infinitives, Noun clauses
Publication Date: 2010-09-08
ESL Intermediate/Advanced Grammar by Designed for intermediate and advanced high school- and college-level non-native speakers of English who need to improve their ESL (English as a Second Language) grammar skills. ESL Intermediate/Advanced Grammar provides students with simple explanations of grammar, skill-building exercises, detailed answer keys, and test-taking techniques. It's the perfect companion for classroom use or self-guided studies in ESL. DETAILS - Grammar-oriented exercises with simple explanations that allow students to master concepts through extensive practice - Test-taking techniques featuring strategies for success on ESL tests - Comprehensive Glossary - Superb preparation for students taking the TOEFL (Test of English as Foreign Language)
Publication Date: 2006-07-17
How I Learned English by All over the world there are people struggling to master the quirks and challenges of English. In today's America, many millions of them are Latino--and in this eloquent collection, nearly 60 of the best known contribute fascinating, revealing, often touching essays on the very personal process each went through to achieve this common end. Their successes are inspiring. Their pieces, engaging and entertaining all, express the whole range of emotions that learning any new language entails. Congressman Jos#65533; Serrano, for example, describes learning English from Frank Sinatra records. Cuban-American author Oscar Hijuelos picked it up as a sick little boy in an American hospital bed. Many find it a daunting ordeal; for others English came easily. But from TV personality Cristina Saralegui to Hall of Fame baseball player Orlando Cepeda, every last one remembers what it felt like to do battle with bizarre idioms, irregular verbs, and all the other incomprehensible intricacies that tangle the tongue. And of course, every new English-speaker has a tale to tell: an immigrant yearning to assimilate and achieve, or a political exile suddenly far from home and alone, or a child who just wants to fit in. Their fears and triumphs will resonate with everyone who has shared this exasperating, exhilarating experience, whether last year or a lifetime ago. This wonderful, eclectic, inviting collection speaks to--and for--all of them, and goes directly to the heart of the national debate on language and immigration.
Publication Date: 2007-08-21
McGraw-Hill Education - Essential ESL Dictionary by Learn and understand thousands of new English words Clear, comprehensive, and easy to use, McGraw-Hill Education: Essential ESL Dictionary for Learners of English was developed to meet the needs of ESL students like you. Inside you will find more than 9,000 English terms, each with a simple definition so you willunderstand its meaning and usage. Every entry is accompanied by its phonetic translation, definition, and explanation. You'll find example sentences throughout that show English words in context. Hundreds of illustrations are also used throughout the dictionary, giving you visual reinforcement of word meanings. INCLUDES: 9,000+ American and British words, explained in easy-to-understand language Grammar and usage boxes to aid your understanding of key concepts A grammar summary that highlights parts of speech, idioms, sentence structures, and more A special section of illustrations--featuring thematic groups of words including animals, nature, electronics, music, the classroom, and more--to help you remember common terms A conversation guide that identifies important phrases for everyday situations such as meeting people, asking directions, going shopping, and more Whether you use it at work, in school, or at home, McGraw-Hill Education: Essential ESL Dictionary for Learners of English will become your trusted reference as you learn the language and build your English skills.
Publication Date: 2014-09-04
Writing Better English for ESL Learners by Write in English like a native speaker! Taking a developmental approach to improvingwriting skills, Writing Better English helps you increase your levels of proficiency in both grammar and vocabulary. Before tackling sentence structures, the book helps you reinforce those grammar elements you may have trouble with, like verb tenses and pronouns. You'll then expand your written communication abilities through comprehensive explanations, skill-building exercises, and practical writing activities.
Publication Date: 2009-05-20
English Made Easy Volume One : A New ESL Approach: Learning English Through Pictures
An ebook via Ebook Central. This is a fun and user–friendly way to learn English English Made Easy is a breakthrough in English language learning—imaginatively exploiting how pictures and text can work together to create understanding and help learners learn more productively. It gives beginner English learners easy access to the vocabulary, grammar and functions of English as it is actually used in a comprehensive range of social situations.
Learning English as a Foreign Language for Dummies
An ebook via Ebook Central. Do you know a bit of English, and want to improve without a teacher? Whether you're a student, a traveller, or you just want to learn basic English, this plain-speaking guide will help you pick up the essentials so you'll be understanding and speaking English in no time.
Easy English Vocabulary
An audiobook via RBdigital. Master all of the words and phrases you need to know to get by in everyday English conversations. Learn on the go with this audio-only course. No reading or writing necessary.