Print Collection, Select Titles
Small Time Operator by
Call Number: HD 62.5 .K344 2018
Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Small Time Operator is one of the most popular business start-up guides ever. In clear, easy-to-understand language, the author covers: -Getting permits and licenses -How to finance a business -Creating and using a business plan -Choosing and protecting a business name -Deciding whether to incorporate -Establishing a complete bookkeeping system -Hiring employees -Federal, state, and local taxes -Buying a business or franchise -Dealing with--and avoiding--the IRS -Doing business on the Internet -Handling insurance, contracts, pricing, trademarks, and patents In this new edition, the book will feature a section on surviving the Global Information Grid or GIG economy.
Burn the Business Plan by
Call Number: HB 615 .S367 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Business schools teach that the most important prerequisite for starting a business is a business plan. Nonsense, says Carl Schramm in Burn the Business Plan, who for a decade headed the most important foundation devoted to entrepreneurship in this country. Microsoft, Apple, Facebook, and Google are just a few of the companies that began without one. Schramm explains that the importance of a business plan is only one of the many misconceptions about starting a company. Another is the myth of the kid genius--that all entrepreneurs are young software prodigies. In fact, the average entrepreneur is thirty-nine years old and has worked in corporate America for at least a decade. Burn the Business Plan tells stories of successful entrepreneurs in a variety of fields. It shows how knowledge, passion, determination, and a willingness to experiment and innovate are vastly more important than financial skill. This is an important, motivating look at true success that dispels the myths and offers invaluable real-world advice on how to achieve your dreams.
Start Your Own Business by
Call Number: HD 62.5 .S7377 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
In 2017 34% of the workforce was considered part of the gig economy. This growing workforce of freelancers and side-giggers is also estimated to grow to 43% by 2020. That's 4 million freelancers, soon to be 7 million by 2020. Whether it's people looking to earn extra money, those tired of their 9-to-5, to entrepreneurs looking to grow their side hustle, Entrepreneur is uniquely qualified to guide a new generation of bold individuals looking to live their best lives and make it happen on their own terms. Whatever industry or jobs this new workforce takes,Start Your Own Business will guide them through the first three years of business. They'll gain the know-how of more than 30 years of collective advice from those who've come before them to: How to avoid analysis paralysis when launching a business Tips for testing ideas in the real-world before going to market with insights from Gary Vaynerchuk Decide between building, buying, or becoming a distributor What to consider when looking for funding from venture capitalists, loans, cash advances, etc. Whether or not a co-working space is a right move Tips on running successful Facebook and Google ads as part of a marketing campaign Use micro-influencers to successfully promote your brand on social media
Harvard Business Review entrepreneur's handbook : everything you need to launch and grow your by
Call Number: HD 62.5 .H37377 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-13
The one primer you need to develop your entrepreneurial skills. Whether you're imagining your new business to be the next big thing in Silicon Valley, a pivotal B2B provider, or an anchor in your local community, the HBR Entrepreneur's Handbook is your essential resource for getting your company off the ground. Starting an independent new business is rife with both opportunity and risk. And as an entrepreneur, you're the one in charge: your actions can make or break your business. You need to know the tried-and-true fundamentals--from writing a business plan to getting your first loan. You also need to know the latest thinking on how to create an irresistible pitch deck, mitigate risk through experimentation, and develop unique opportunities through business model innovation. The HBR Entrepreneur's Handbook addresses these challenges and more with practical advice and wisdom from Harvard Business Review's archive.
Basic Principles and Practice of Business Administration by
Call Number: HF 5351 .E22 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
The primary purpose of this book is to provide students and others with a concise, thoroughly up-to-date book which will enable them to obtain a sound knowledge of the basic principles and practice of business administration for examination and practical purposes. This book has been produced to make the learning of business administration simple as well as interesting, and intelligent study should equip the reader with a basic knowledge of business administration. This book is a review and study guide. It helps in preparing for exams, in doing homework, and remains a handy reference source at all times. It will thus save hours of study and preparation time. The book provides quick access to the important principles, definitions, strategies, and concepts in business administration. Materials needed for exams can be reviewed in summary form eliminating the need to read and re-read many pages of textbook and class notes.
Electronic Books, Select Titles
Write Your Business Plan by
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
More than 15 years ago, the staff at Entrepreneur Media introduced bestseller Start Your Own Business. Since its release, Start Your Own Business has sold more than 300,000 copies and has been called "the best startup book of all time.” At it again, the staff at Entrepreneur delivers a new dose of fundamental startup how-to, backed by 33+ years at the forefront of small business. Write Your Business Plan takes aspiring entrepreneurs past one of the hardest steps of startup second to committing to their business goal -- defining how to achieve it.
Disciplined Entrepreneurship by
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2013-07-31
24 Steps to Success! Disciplined Entrepreneurship will change the way you think about starting a company. Many believe that entrepreneurship cannot be taught, but great entrepreneurs aren't born with something special - they simply make great products. This book will show you how to create a successful startup through developing an innovative product. It breaks down the necessary processes into an integrated, comprehensive, and proven 24-step framework that any industrious person can learn and apply.
The Wiley Handbook of Entrepreneurship by
Call Number: E-BOOK
Publication Date: 2017-07-13
Written by leading scholars, The Wiley Handbook of Entrepreneurship provides a distinctive overview of methodological, theoretical and paradigm changes in the area of entrepreneurship research. It is divided into four parts covering history and theory, individual differences and creativity, organizational aspects of innovation including intrapreneurship, and macroeconomic aspects such as social entrepreneurship and entrepreneurship in developing countries. The result is a must-have resource for seasoned researchers and newcomers alike, as well as practitioners and advanced students of business, entrepreneurship, and social and organizational psychology.