Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

Faculty Research Tools: Online Resources

Finding information and organizing your research.

Online Resources @ Wake Tech Libraries

Through Wake Tech Libraries, you have access to over 90 databases that span a variety of subjects and content types. These databases are provided through Wake Tech database subscriptions and through NC LIVE. Within these databases you will find journal articles, news articles, magazine articles, ebooks, reports, audio clips, videos, and more. 

For a list of databases organized by subject, visit our webpage:

Wake Tech Research Databases

Find a Journal by Title

If you are looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, use E-Journal Portal (opens in new window). Type in the journal, magazine, or newspaper title in the search box or use the A-Z links to select a title.

Off-Campus Access to Library Databases

Find It All Search

or search the classic book catalog

NC LIVE

NC LIVE logo.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Open Access Resources

What is Open Access?  According to the Budapest Open Access Initiative, "journal articles should be disseminated as widely as possible, and these new journals will no longer invoke copyright to restrict access to and use of the material they publish. Instead they will use copyright and other tools to ensure permanent open access to all the articles they publish. Because price is a barrier to access, these new journals will not charge subscription or access fees, and will turn to other methods for covering their expenses." - Budapest Open Access Initiative, 2002


Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (opens in new window)

"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals." - DOAJ


The Chronicle of Higher Education, January 13, 2016