Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Formatting and Style Guides: Citing Sources
The Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides excellent formatting and style guides to help with creating accurate source citations.
Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide (opens in new window)
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide (opens in new window)
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition (opens in new window)
This section contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.
Publication Manuals and Handbooks in Our Print Collection
Wake Tech Libraries has copies of these publication manuals at each campus library.
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: LB 2369 .G53 M5 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Call Number: Z 253 .U69 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Available at Main Campus Library and Public Safety Education Campus Library.
Citation Features in Library Databases
Many library databases provide a feature that creates source citations in a variety of formats. (These citations should always be double-checked to ensure accuracy since they are computer generated.)
Example - ProQuest Central