Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

HSE 225 (Crisis Intervention): Searching for Articles

Information for students working on the Crisis Intervention Paper.

What's a Library Database? Video

The following video answers the question:
"What's a library database?"

RMIT University. (2012, August 13). What's a Library Database? Retrieved from https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g     

If that link doesn't work, use: https://youtu.be/KKIbnNLCh8g

Searching for Journal Articles

Searching for articles can take some time. But don't worry! You'll get the hang of it. 

Here are a couple of things to keep in mind when searching the databases for journal articles:

  • Before you start searching, create a list of search terms related to your topic. Use this list to create your search. As you find sources, add new keywords to your list. 
  • Use Boolean search operators to narrow down your search. If you do a search and get too many results, you can narrow your search down by using AND, OR, and NOT to combine search terms. For example, a search of the databases for the keyword rape will bring back thousands of results. However, searching with the terms rape AND "college campus" will return fewer results.
  • Check the "Full Text" box, if it's an option. This will ensure that you are only shown results that you have access to. 
  • Remember that each database is different. Each database contains different journals and journal articles. And each database may look different from the others.