Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wake Tech Community College


Blackboard Calendar Locations Student Email Moodle my.WakeTech WebAdvisor

HSE 225 (Crisis Intervention): Tutorials and Help

Information for students working on the Crisis Intervention Paper.

Boolean Searching Basics Video

The following video explains boolean searching, or how to use the common operators "AND," "OR" and "NOT" to limit your searches within library databases.

Cushion, K. (2011, July 7). Boolean Searching Basics. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

If you can't access the video, copy and paste this link into your browser: http://youtu.be/jMV7X3W_beg

How to Search Proquest Psychology Journals Video

The following video explains how to use the ProQuest Psychology Journals database.

Central Piedmont Community College. (2013, October 13). Proquest Psychology Journals Database Tutorial . Retrieved from https://youtu.be/kZ_4zWdvoXE     

If the video above doesn't play, copy and paste the following into your browser: https://youtu.be/kZ_4zWdvoXE to watch the video.

How to Search PsycInfo Video

The following video explains how to search the database, PsychINFO.

PsychInfo. (2013, March 19). Sample PsychInfo Search on Proquest. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/iTXWFVaTJm0     

If the video above doesn't play, visit: https://youtu.be/iTXWFVaTJm0?list=PL79EDF5C7AA14D90D

Database Searching Tutorials

Searching the research databases can be difficult at first. Here are some tutorials to help make it easier.

Off-Campus Access to the Library Databases

To access library databases from off-campus, use your Wake Tech Blackboard username and password.