Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended: General Databases for Your Research Paper
NC LIVE provides access to hundreds of databases on various topics. The databases listed below are recommended based on your general research assignment. Make sure you read the database descriptions to select one (or several) to use for your search! Depending on your career topic, you may need to select more subject-specific databases in addition to the multi-disciplinary (general) databases listed.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Other Subject-Specific Wake Tech Databases
Select additional databases to search based on your research topic.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Gale Ebooks (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.
Psychology Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, the American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Science Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
Education Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.