Books at Main Campus Library
2,000 International Identities by Leading Designers by
Call Number: NC 1002 .L63 G372 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
A searchable database of 9,000 logos by keyword is available by subscription on the popular website, logolounge.com, launched in 2002 by author Bill Gardner. Recent noteworthy projects that are claiming the public spotlight are profiled in this book, which covers identities created for various industries such as airlines, networks, dot-coms, banks, and fashion, as well as lesser-known boutique projects in which the designer's name is larger than the client's. The first portion of the book profiles 10 top designers and spotlights their biggest, newest campaigns. A handful of their smaller projects are also featured, including some that have never before been seen. The second half of the book contains almost 2,000 logos organized by client type.
Ads, Fads, and Consumer Culture by
Call Number: HF 5823 .B438 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-16
Now in its fourth edition, Ads, Fads, and Consumer Culture is an accessible, reader friendly book that explainshow advertising works and deals with advertising's impact on individuals and American culture. It also discusses advertising's relation to marketing, provides readers with two chapters that teach them how to analyzing print advertisements and television commercials. It offers a detailed analysis of a Fidji perfume print advertisement and the famous Macintosh 1984 television commercial. It provides a glossary of terms and an annotated bibliography.
Basics of Design by
Call Number: Z 246 .G676 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-13
This classic introduction to high-impact page design is now fully updated for a new generation of designers. Basics of Design: Layout and Typography for Beginners demystifies the design process with straightforward and complete explanations of the fundamental principles that create first-rate visual design. Readers learn essential design terminology and develop their knowledge and skills through visual examples and hands-on activities that reinforce page layout and typography concepts. Side-by-side critiques of before-and-after page layouts help readers understand how to apply design principles to their own efforts and point the way to excellence in design.
Forms, Folds, and Sizes by
Call Number: Z 244.3 .E83 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Forms, Folds & Sizes is the book that is always next to a designer's computer. Completely practical with only the most needed information, this book will provide designers with all the little details that can make or break a design such as how much space to leave in the gutter when designing barrel folds, how to layout a template for a box and the ratios of each part, metric conversion charts, standard envelope sizes in the USA, Europe, Canada and Asia, etc.
Inside the business of graphic design by
Call Number: NC 1001 .F56 2003
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Inside the Business of Graphic Design casts a precise and realistic light on the risks, requirements, and rewards of running a creative and successful design business. Six sections discuss the entire cycle of business ownership, including goal setting, finding the right management style, cooperating with employees, triggering growth, rethinking one's business in the face of major changes, and even whether to stay with the business or move on. Whether you dream of setting up a small studio, or whether you've been on your own for years, this provocative guide is an important source of success strategies for every graphics professional.
Maximum page design by
Call Number: Z 246 .F78 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-19
Turn those pesky constraints imposed by your client into challenges that you can overcome. Author John Foster teaches you how by showcasing an amazing array of projects by designers who have done just that. From annual reports and brochures to CD inserts and posters, these designers have overcome all obstacles and produced work that still exceeds expectations. With over 150 design solutions to browse, you'll be sure to find a project that gives you the inspiration you need. In Maximum Page Design, you will find a multitude of tips and tricks to: sidestep the horrors of "design-by-committee" get your design approved easily creatively incorporate feedback.
The Anatomy of Design by
Call Number: NC 998.4 .H44 2007
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
An iconic collection of design work presented in fresh and useful format. Designers are conceptual pack rats. They pack as much raw material in their brains as possible and then use that to build their own unique designs. The Anatomy of Design is what, in the butcher business, they call a "side of beef." The authors selected fifty examples of graphic design that will be dissected, piece by piece, tissue by tissue, revealing an array of influences and inspirations. These are not necessarily the most well-known or celebrated objects of graphic design, though many contain the genetic codes of some canonical works. Instead, these represent contemporary artifacts that are well conceived, finely crafted, and filled with hidden treasures. Some are overtly complex and their influences are somewhat easy to see with the naked eye. Others are so simple that it is hard to believe there is a storehouse of inspiration hidden underneath. The selections include all kinds of design work including posters, book and record covers, packages, catalog covers, and more. Each exhibit is selected based on its ubiquity, thematic import, and aesthetic significance, and every page is a means to show how great work is derived from various inspirational and physical sources, some well-known, some unknown. Each design is presented on a gate-fold showing the featured design and and other works that share the key influences with extended captions explaining the whys and wherefores.
Google Advertising by
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .B7643 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-12
Google has created numerous marketing and advertising products that are fast and easy to implement in your business today including Adsense, Adwords, and the Google APIs. This new book takes the confusion and mystery out of working with Google and its various advertising and marketing programs.
Word of Mouth Advertising Online and Off by
Call Number: HF 5827.95 .T46 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-12
Word-of-Mouth Marketing, WOMM as it is commonly known, is the least expensive form of advertising and often the most effective. People believe what their friends, neighbors, and online contacts say about you, your products, and services. And they remember it for a long, long time. Word-of-mouth promotion is highly valued. There is no more powerful form of marketing than an endorsement from one of your current customers. A satisfied customer's recommendation has much greater value than traditional advertising because it is coming from someone who is familiar with the quality of your work. The best part is that initiating this form of advertising costs little or no money.
Playing with Type by
Call Number: Z 246 .M373 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Playing with Type is a hands-on, playful approach to learning type application and principles. This engaging guide begins with an introduction to the philosophy of learning through the process of play. Along with a series of experimental design projects with an emphasis on type, the author provides designers with a "toolkit" of ideas and skills developed through the process of play. The awareness and sensitivity to type styles, forms, and type choices gained through these visual experiments will increase the designer's confidence in their personal and professional work.
Smithsonian Great Design by
Call Number: TS 171.6 .W55 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-02
Featuring DK's signature lush, visual style, Great Design provides a fascinating overview of the dynamic history of design from the 1860s onwards. It traces the development of modern design from all corners of the world, including product design, furniture, graphics, industrial design, and textiles. With more than 100 of the best designs explored and explained, from Bauhaus posters and bubble chairs to the Citroën DS and the iPad, Great Design is a stunning visual guide to the icons of modern design. Including profiles of influential designers, workshops, and movements, as well as highlighting the key characteristic elements, reading Great Design is like being taken on a tour of a design museum with a personal guide who points out what to look at, deciphers key points of style, and helps you understand what design is and how it works.
DVDs at Main Campus Library
Art & Copy by
Call Number: HF 5813 .U6 A78 2010
Publication Date: 2010