Books at North Campus Library
Call Number: HF 5831 .A34 2006
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Each title explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications.
Becoming a Graphic Designer by
Call Number: NC 1001 .H45 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
A revision to the bestselling visual guide to becoming a graphic designer Becoming a Graphic Designer, Fourth Edition provides a comprehensive survey of the graphic design market, including complete coverage of print and electronic media and the evolving digital design disciplines that offer today's most sought-after jobs.
Careers for Persuasive Types by
Call Number: HF 5381 .G56824 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-10
Put your power of persuasion to work! Do you consider yourself a good problem solver? Can you always see both sides of a dilemma? Are you the kind of person who enjoys leading a team? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you are a persuasive type--now all you need is an occupation that puts your unique talent to use. Careers for Persuasive Types & Others Who Won't Take No for an Answer provides all the information you need to get started on landing the job of your dreams, including inside information on everyday routines of selected jobs, working conditions within the field, and alternate sources to enhance your job search.
Graphic Design by
Call Number: NC 998 .K35 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-12
The creative impulse is an ancient and enduring feature of human expression. Art serves many purposes: to beautify, record, reflect, enlighten, and celebrate our existence. Eye on Art examines the rich and varied world of art. Major art movements, the artists who fueled them, and the works they created are all discussed in this series. Also covered are the essential tools of artists as well as efforts to preserve and restore artwork for future generations.
The Graphic Design Reference and Specification Book by
Call Number: Z 118.5 .E83 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
The Graphic Design Reference & Specification Book should always be next to a designer's computer. Completely practical with only the most needed information, this valuable book provides designers with all the little details that can make or break a design, such as how much space to leave in the gutter when designing barrel folds, how to layout a template for a box, and the ratios of each part, as well as metric conversion charts, standard envelope sizes in the USA, Europe, Canada and Asia, and much more. This hardworking handbook is compact and accessible and is a must-have for any graphic designer.
Great Jobs for Liberal Arts Majors by
Call Number: HF 5382.5 .U5 C252 2008
Publication Date: 2007-09-11
A liberal arts degree offers abundant job possibities! You've worked hard for that liberal arts degree. Now what? Sometimes the choice of careers can seem endless; the most difficult part of a job search is narrowing down your options. Great Jobs for Liberal Arts Majors will help you choose the right career out of the myriad possibilities at your disposal. It provides detailed profiles of careers in your field along with the basic skills necessary to begin a focused job search. You'll soon be on the fast track to landing a job that satisfies your personal, professional, and practical needs.
Field Guide: How to Be a Graphic Designer by
Call Number: NC 1001 .L33 2008
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
This is the first and most complete handbook for the aspiring graphic designer. Fully illustrated with both contemporary and historical references, this book provides up and coming designers with all the practical insight they need to make it in the world of graphic design. From how to be more creative and how to stay on top creatively to the ins and outs of running a design business to the challenges of working in-house, this book will help anyone interested in graphic design decide on the right path for their career and give them the tools to make it into the career they want. The book provides inspiration from the top designers in the world on how they do what they do so well and also provides a complete reference of all the top design schools worldwide.
Logo Creed by
Call Number: NC 1002 .L63 G365 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-05
Written by the founder of LogoLounge.com, this comprehensive handbook speaks to the magic of design and provides a glimpse into the designer's creed. Logo Creed puts designers directly in touch with strong mentors who speak candidly about the processes that lead to successful designs. Designers including David Airey, Bill Gardner, Von Gitschka, Paul Howalt, Jerry Kuyper, Brian Miller, Miles Newlyn, Sherwin Schwartzrock, Felix Sockwell, plus many more share their sketches, brainstorms, false starts and most successful techniques. Logo Creed shows you how to navigate the discovery process from research, reading the air for clues, and making the best use of budgets, to knowing what sort of mark to create. From there, you will move into development, where you will learn how to identify the most potent ideas, brainstorm effectively by yourself or with others, recognize the components of great logos, and understand how to distill ideas down to the very best solution. Finally, you will move into the delivery process, where you will learn to build brand DNA, craft presentations for specific situations and clients, tell the brand story, and keep your designs vital and alive even after they leave your hands. This book is highly beneficial for students, self-taught designers, and those who never stop learning.
Opportunities in Commercial Art and Graphic Design Careers by
Call Number: NC 1001.6 .G68 2004
Publication Date: 2003-09-18
The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . explores a vast range of professions. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest Training and education requirements for each career Salary statistics for different positions within each field Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more
Playing with Type by
Call Number: Z 246 .M373 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Playing with Type is a hands-on, playful approach to learning type application and principles. This engaging guide begins with an introduction to the philosophy of learning through the process of play. Along with a series of experimental design projects with an emphasis on type, the author provides designers with a "toolkit" of ideas and skills developed through the process of play. The awareness and sensitivity to type styles, forms, and type choices gained through these visual experiments will increase the designer's confidence in their personal and professional work.
Smithsonian Great Design by
Call Number: TS 171.6 .W55 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-02
Featuring DK's signature lush, visual style, Great Design provides a fascinating overview of the dynamic history of design from the 1860s onwards. It traces the development of modern design from all corners of the world, including product design, furniture, graphics, industrial design, and textiles. With more than 100 of the best designs explored and explained, from Bauhaus posters and bubble chairs to the Citroën DS and the iPad, Great Design is a stunning visual guide to the icons of modern design. Including profiles of influential designers, workshops, and movements, as well as highlighting the key characteristic elements, reading Great Design is like being taken on a tour of a design museum with a personal guide who points out what to look at, deciphers key points of style, and helps you understand what design is and how it works.
How to Start a Home-Based Graphic Design Business by
Call Number: HD 62.38 .S655 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-17
This book will include all the information you need to get started at home with your own graphic design business. To expand the focus of this subject matter, we plan on including information on designing blogs, apps, and the like to take this book a step
The Digital Creative's Survival Guide by
Call Number: HF 5828.4 .W93 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-31
Take control of your digital media career! When it comes to the web and mobile, only one thing is guaranteed, and that's change. If you're a creative working in this ever changing field and looking for answers, look no further. The Digital Creative's Survival Guide gives you the insider's edge you need to stay inspired, informed, and employed. This must-have reference is packed with practical advice on topics like managing studio politics, dealing with nightmare clients, using good digital project management practices, understanding design briefs and finding your niche in a constantly changing industry. Within these pages, you'll discover: Interviews with successful creatives from around the world. Deconstructions of digital design projects that worked. Practical career information and advice for staying marketable and "future-proof." And much more!
Creative Anarchy by
Call Number: Z 250 .B67 2014
Publication Date: 2015-01-28
Creatives are taught the rules of design by mentors and professors. We are told what to do and how to do it. "Follow the rules and color within the lines," they say. "Only use two fonts on a page and don't make your logo too complicated," they say. It's time for us to tell them to shove it. Creative Anarchy explains and explores both rule-following and rule-breaking design. It includes tips to throw design caution to the wind, designers' stories with galleries of work, and creative exercises to help push your designs to the next level. Creative Anarchy is about great design and awesome ideas. You'll find sections specifically devoted to designing logos, posters, websites, publications, advertising and more.
20th Century Design by
Publication Date: 2014-12-08
Tony Seddon spent 12 years living and working in London, first for a multidisciplinary design consultancy, then as the senior art editor for an illustrated book publisher. In 1999 he realized that the perennial contender for the "greatest city in the world" is a nifty place to visit but you wouldn't want to live there, so he relocated to a 600-year-old village on the south coast of England with terrific broadband connections and a pub with wi-fi. Tony now works as a freelance designer, art director, and writer. http://www.tonyseddon.com/
Street Art by
Publication Date: 2015-04-07
The essential visual guide to the global phenomenon of graffiti and street art. With over one thousand works and fifty street artists, Street Art provides an extensive sampling of the latest trends in the world of street art and graffiti. A visual catalogue with an illustrative selection of the avalanche of talent inundating today’s streets in major cities all over the world, including New York, Los Angeles, Tokyo, London, and Paris, Street Art includes sections on 3-D, wild style, tags, stencils, and stickers, giving a comprehensive overview of the different types of street art that are predominant in today’s urban landscape.
Advertising Design and Typography by
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
This comprehensive overview of advertising design strategies helps students and professionals understand how to create ads that cut through the clutter. Design principles such as unity, contrast, hierarchy, dominance, scale, abstraction, and type-image relationships are thoroughly discussed.
DVDs at North Campus Library
Art & Copy by
Call Number: HF 5813 .U6 A78 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Call Number: Z 246 .H45 2007
Publication Date: 2007