Research Guides: Anthropology Research Guide: Databases and Journals for Articles

Search these databases by subject--

Biological Science Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Science Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
SIRS Issues Researcher (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database providing a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.
Social Science Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Visible Body (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body

Search these specific titles by subject--

American Ethnologist (opens in new window)
This is an international journal concerned with social and cultural anthropology.
American Journal of Physical Anthropology (opens in new window)
This is the leading publication in physical anthropology. Research interests include bioarcheology, paleoanthropology, skeletal biology, genetics, human biology, and non-human primate behavior and ecology.
American Journal of Primatology (opens in new window)
This is a broad-scope primate journal. Research interests includes but are not limited to the behavioral ecology, conservation, evolutionary biology, and life history of nonhuman primates.
Anthropology & Medicine (opens in new window)
This journal publishes papers that examine medicine, health and illness in an anthropological context.
Anthropology in Action (opens in new window)
This is a peer-reviewed academic journal that covers anthropological subjects through commentaries, key articles, research reports, and book reviews. The editor-in-chief is Christine McCourt.
Anthropology Today (opens in new window)
This journal aims to provide a forum for the application of anthropological analysis to public and topical issues, while reflecting the breadth of interests within the discipline of anthropology.