Off-Campus Access to the Library Databases
To access library databases from off-campus, use your Wake Tech Blackboard username and password.
Some Useful Databases for NC State Government
These databases are subject-specific to United States Government Information.
CQ Researcher Online (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on various topics with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
DigitalNC (opens in new window)
This database provides statewide digital materials covering North Carolina. These materials are housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Government Printing Office - GPO (opens in new window)
It offers United States government information, including congressional records, judicial records, hearings, etc. There are also books, articles, reference materials, etc.
NCPedia (opens in new window)
This link is an online encyclopedia covering North Carolina.
North Carolina Driver's Manual (opens in new window)
This database provides information on how to obtain a NC driver's license.
North Carolina Education Directory (NC LIVE) (opens in new window)
This database provides contact information for all NC schools and personnel, educational organizations, and associations.
North Carolina General Assembly (opens in new window)
The NCGA provides links to information on the NC senate, representatives, bills, and more.
North Carolina State Government Publications Collection (opens in new window)
NC State Government Publications Collection provides North Carolina government information in different formats, including brochures, pamphlets, books, and other digital resources.
Military Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Articles from topics across all government and military branches including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
Political Science Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
Other General Databases
These are non subject-specific multidisciplinary databases and they provide materials covering all subject areas.
JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated (PDF files). JSTOR covers a vast area of disciplines, including literature, science, history, foreign languages, and education.
ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Criminal Justice Database (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Research articles from magazine and journals on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
US Newsstream (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires, and selected news magazines.
Research Library (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database containing business, political science, literature, and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
SIRS Researcher (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Articles, primary sources, websites, and graphics to support students with research, study, and homework.
Search for Videos
Films on Demand Video Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.