Research Guides: Library Survival Guide for Faculty & Staff: Electronic Resources

Research Databases

What is a Research Database?

Research Databases are online collections of academic journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, and so much more! They are great for research papers and projects.

Wake Tech subscribes to a number of research databases, including: ProQuest Central, Films on Demand, JSTOR, Sage Premier, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, and more.

Searching databases can be a tricky. If you need any help, just ask one of the librarians.

Online Library Databases

ProQuest Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
JSTOR (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Offers scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated (PDF files). JSTOR covers a vast area of disciplines, including literature, science, history, foreign languages, and education.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration.
Credo Reference (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a great place to start your research by using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources.

Ebook Collections

ABC-CLIO E-book Collection (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
History & literature ebooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks that you can read on your computer. This database allows you to use an online dictionary and create a citation for the ebook.
Ebook Central (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Over 35,000 ebooks available to read and download.
Gale Ebooks (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
R2 Digital Library (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library is a web-based database application that aggregates health sciences book content from leading publishers in a single platform.
Stat!Ref (opens in new window) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical, nursing, dental, and allied health texts.